We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent basic hotel.”
Review of HSM Don Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HSM Don Juan
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent basic hotel.”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 27th June - 4th July 2012 with my partner and two friends, all aged 18-21. We paid £450 each for an all inclusive package holiday which I think was a fair price for this hotel. The hotel décor is slightly dated and things like the paint jobs could be better but they're not decorating your house, you only have to look at it for a week or so. The hotel is extremely clean, our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels as often as you require them and sheets changed a few times. The maid was extremely helpful. The bulb went in the light in the bathroom one day when we were there. The maid noticed it wasn't working and rang down to reception immediately and someone was up within two hours to change it. We did not have to do anything to rectify the situation.
The selection of drinks at the bar was fantastic and the service amazing. All bar staff were happy and polite and the longest I waited to be served all week was less than five minutes. The food was what you'd expect to receive from most Spanish hotels. There was a wide variety of food every night. Even though not everything is to everyone's tastes there was always salad and chips as a back up. One review stated the food was horrible because it was "all Spanish". It is not "all Spanish" and I don't understand what other food you'd expect from Spain. If you want to eat pasties all week go to Cornwall.
The hotel is a five minute walk from BCM and BCM square, with several pubs in between. The strip is about a ten minute walk away. If you don't fancy the short walk after a night out a taxi is 3 euros. The hotel is an ideal location because even though it's only a five minute walk into the pubs and clubs, when you want to chill out it's far enough out of it that's it's quite peaceful.
The only issue I did have was we paid a 20 euro deposit for the hotel safe which you'd expect however, when we booked out we were only given 5 euros back. When we questioned this we were told you paid the 15 euros and only had 5 back as a deposit which we were not informed of. The woman in reception wasn't extremely helpful with this either. This is the only issue I had with the hotel overall though.
The air conditioning was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank outofdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Customer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    174
    130
    82
    62
See reviews for
62
133
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times, it is the best 3 star hotel in Magaluf, it is in a quiet area of the resort, with plenty of car parking, the rooms have air conditioning which keeps them cool at night. The rooms are clean and the maid comes in daily to change the towels and make the beds, all the staff are great and always want to help with any questions you ask them, we class them as friends. The resturant now has a show cooking area which is great, you can order eggs and omlettes for breakfast and get them cooked to your reqirements, different meats are cooked in the evening just as you want them. We are going back in September and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01 seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timandterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Customer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed in HSM Don Juan Hotel in Magalluf in the end of May in half-board. Rooms were clean, beds were ok, bathroom was clean. Pool area was not packed so always had a lounge to use. Staff were friendly and helpful enough. Both breakfast and dinner was okay, meat, pasta, fresh food, fresh fruits, etc.... The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the beach and the strip. If you are looking for a budget holiday and you spend most of your time out from your room this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littled85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Cutomer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Overall the whole holiday was good.
Hotel was nice, rooms were spacious.
Cleaner came in everyday.
The pool bar man in the day called Charlie was horrible, I had a few instances. I don't recommend all inclusive if your a fussy eater, I ate out everyday as there was some very dodgy concoctions. It's only a 5-10 minute walk from the strip, bcm square and the beach!! Good entertainment. Only problem is you can only get one drink per person per time so if your in a big group you all have to go up separately but overall it was nice and I probably would go again but only self catering and not all inclusive!! OH and NEVER EVER BOOK WITH WWW.HOLIDAYGEMS.CO.UK

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenjaydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Customer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you like our rooms so well and that you liked our good location. We apologize if the quality of the food was not what you expected. We will inform the person who is in charge about it.

See you next time in HSM Saint Michel!

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

when i booked this hotel i didnt have high expectations, i had read some bad reviews but wanted a cheap holiday for my hen do.. We got to the hotel at 3am to be told we wasnt staying there. they moved us to another hotel 5 mins away but got told we had to go back to the don juan for our all inclusive. so we had to go for a 10 min round trip for a free drink? and only got given 1 at a time! but after out first lunch an don juan we realised we wouldnt be going back for food as is was awful. we wasnt allowed to us any facilities in this othere hotel had to go back to the other. also the pool area is to small!! as they over booked a small hotel but had others coming in from all over! never again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Customer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Arrived to be told hotel was fully booked and we had to stay next door, then when arriving next door was told we only there for the evening, we were then told if we agreed to this we would be upgraded to all inclusive for the whole of our stay. We found hotel staff friendly and helpful, food was basic but edible and we always found something we liked. Aldrich the entertainment manager was very friendly and worked hard to keep everyone entertained as well as his assistant. He involved everyone and was polite. He kept us entertained for the whole of our stay and was a very nice lad. Enjoyed our stay, location was 5mins away from nightlife if you wanted it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Customer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and specially our entertainment team. We hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at the Don Juan in September. When we arrived at 11pm we were told that the rooms were flooded and we were going to have to stay at the hotel next door. The next day we got into the hotel and we were put in rooms in different parts of the hotel so were obviously had not been flooded unless the whole hotel was flooded. The hotel staff were very rude. The bar man would only give one drink per person even if you were getting a drink for two people and the other person was sitting 2 meters away he would make both of you come up and order separately. The food was awful it was ok the first time round but the left over from the day before would be recooked and given the next day. The rooms were not good either the air conditioning did not work for half the time we were there and the bathroom door would lock itself and you couldn't get in after complaining about this they just gave just gave me a straightened paperclip and said nothing I said what do you want me to do to this and she said put it in the whole of the door and wiggle it around which didn't work and had to get the cleaner to help who didn't speak any english but when we showed her the paperclip she seems to know what to do. Overall this is one of the worse hotels i've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisball92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Cutomer Service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Good afternoon,

We are really sorry to hear that our hotel was not like you have expected. However, since Septembre the hotel has improved significantly. For exemple, now, a concept of show cooking is born where the fish, the meat, vegetables, etc. are freshly cooked and done to your liking. Thank you for your comments.

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 28 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#9 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Don Juan

Property: HSM Don Juan
Address: Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Don Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel, HSM Don Juan, now offers high quality facilities and service after its refurbishment in 2008. The highlight of the hotel is its ideal location in the lively city of Magalluf. During your stay with us you can enjoy all the attractions that the resort to offer, or you can relax and spend your days by the hotel's swimming pool. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: HSM Don Juan is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts in Mallorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts a blue flag, thanks to its high quality year after year. The hotel is only 400 m away from the beach and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive cities on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide variety of fun the city has to offer! There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for those who love golf! In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football field, rugby field, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 15 km away, the airport 22 km. There is a public bus service to the capital; the bus stop is only 100 m away from the hotel entrance. ROOMS: The hotel offers newly refurbished double and single rooms that present a modern and up-to-date look. All of the rooms include a bathroom, heating and air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), parquet floor, satellite TV and a balcony! There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of hot and cold dishes, as well as a wide variety of fruit and desserts. The restaurant offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking, as well. All food is served in thematic buffet style. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious terrace with a swimming pool for adults with a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool is available. Inside of the facilities at HSM Don Juan there are cozy common areas, a game room, as well as an indoor bar! CHILDREN: At HSM Don Juan there is a mini club for children during the summer months and swimming area for children. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and Mastercard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis, French bowls in the complex. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your HSM Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Juan
Don Juan Magalluf
HSM Don Juan Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing