We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brill”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HSM Don Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HSM Don Juan
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
UK
1 review
“Brill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Having read the terrible reviews on this hotel lets just say I was very apprehensive about staying here. We arrived on the Sunday afternoon and was welcomed by the friendly reception staff who immediatley allocated us our room. Upon arrival I purcahsed a safety deposit box which is situated in the room, the reveiws had stated that there were so many thefts in this hotel even the safety boxes were broken in to (Apparantly!!!).

The hotel wasn't particulary quiet but what do u expect u r in Magaluf!!! There was a full English Breakfast every morning which was gorgeous. The tea wasn't brilliant but it was edible.

The beach was a fair walk compared to other Hotels but we didn't mind because it allowed me and my mate 2 have a look in the shops on the way down.

Overall I would 100% stay at this hotel again, its a clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkPartyanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    171
    130
    82
    62
See reviews for
62
131
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

As we went in a very off-peak time, end of March, I can maybe understand much of the poor reviews due to these being from people who travelled in the peak summer times

When we went, the hotel was predominantly host to pensioners on their breaks, so the atmosphere was very calm. The staff were lovely and the place was nice and clean, full stop.
As for the FOOD.... very happy! I don't get the bad reviews as I thought the variety of foods was brilliant, rices, potatoes, many types of meats, salads, it was just choices galore! I'm not a fussy eater at all but that doesnt mean I think everything i eat is nice, but honestly, the food here was very tasty. and for the boring uncultured people out there, there is always chips for you...

location was great, not far from the beach and the main strip etc
Wouldnt know what it would be like for noise in the summer.

Nice pool view and probably the nicest hotel bathroom i have been in, in a long time.

No complaints and for 20euro a head per night INCLUDING half board food... it would be a crime to complain.

Enjoy. x

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

When first got there though it looked abit dissapointing from the outside, hoped things would be better on the inside. when got int o reception area had to wait 30 mins to check in as they claimed no rooms to be ready. had to pay 20 euros for a safety deposit box. room wernt too bad just saw it as a place to crash when got in from partying. there was alot of noise in the hotel at all times. one night there were 4 rooms near by broken into and had valubles stolen. we were half board am 1st couple of days lived on chips bread and melon. food was vile!!! me and my friend payed 430 for 10 days, most definalty wasnt worth what we payed!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessfayecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

Isle of Man
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

I would just like to start by clearing a few things up. 1st the hotel was basic as you would expect but clean. 2nd there was not a huge selection of food but was edible, just may not have been to everyones taste but it was so cheap to stay you could have eaten out. 3rd amazing pool area caught sun all day long. 4th there was entertainment albeit not very good but still something else to do which is free.5th walls are paper thin but so are most hotels grab a ccouple of hours by the pool the following day. I stayed here with a friend and for what we paid it was brilliant, expect basic and you will be thrilled with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iomboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

i booked this because it was central and cheap.but what i mistake me and my friend made.when we arrived we walked past a room with crime scene tape around the entrance to a room.later found out a british girl died in there of a drugs overdose.we got the keys to our room which was on the ground floor but balcony door didnt lock so for safety asked to change rooms,which we did to the 6th floor.room were ok clean and tidy.the second day i was there i noticed id had money all of my spends taken from my locked case,i know always get a safety deposit box.im convinced it was an inside job as there was no sign of forced entry.only money was taken no bank cards prob because theyre easier to trace.as you can imagine this put a real dampner on my holiday.luckily i had a bank card and a few travellers cheques to use,but we didnt feel safe in the room after that.i did report it to reception but not much sympathy or help there.i also heard from other brits that theyd also been robbed.in order to claim insurance i had to get a police report form in palma nova i had to say on the form i had the money taken in a bag snatch,as you can only claim if the money is in a safety deposit box or on your person.the police were handing out the forms like confetti its obviously a common problem over there.i also found magaluf lively which i like but found it quite alarming.with drunks lying in the roads and being sick everywhere i also saw quite a number of brawls.dont think i shall be returning there in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank delly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

I went with one other girl friend, just me and her a bit scary at first, as there is a lot of guys around!! (probably best to go with a group of girls in the future) We met a group of lads in our hotel and spen most of the holiday with them which was great!! The hotel wasnt the best but we didnt expect much as we did get it pretty cheap. (we stayed for 2 weeks and it cost about £400 all together) We was halfboard so got breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was nice and we both enjoyed it, but dinner was disgusting!! we ended up eating out every night. There was a shop close by to our hotel so we got drinks and food like big bags of crisps for us to snack on for lunch, or we would go out for lunch ( The happy inn (think thats what its called) is well recomended) The strip was amazing lots of clubs and lots of good deals on drinks!!! BCM is well recomended 30 euros to get in but well worth it!! (you also get free things). The local pub which was near the hotel is great, its English and makes you feel at home :) The hotel pool was rubbish to small and you was lucky to get a sunbed and when you did they were so close together to others it wasnt very comfortable. The food at the hotel for lunch was extremly expensive too. Activities can be done during the day when arranged with reps and they are great!!
Overall good holiday but if i was to go again i wouldnt stay in the same hotel, but the night life was fantastic!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rachele101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Went to magaluf as have been told it is party central.....and it definatly lives up to it's reputation!!!! Hotel was not very nice,but din;t realy expect much as we only paid £450.00 half board for 10 days,which i think is a bargain for peak season (we went and the end of july) the food was absolutley vile,i'm not pickey with food and when i go to cheap places abroad and im all-inclusive or half board i just eat the chips and try to find something to go with them!!! If i find somehting else it's a bonus,but this was impossible to do with this hotel,EVERYTHING was horrible looking/tasting! To make matters worse you have to buy your own drinks,which are not cheap at all! Room was very basic but to be fair,if your going to magaluf you are hardley looking for an outstanding hotel so i'm not going to go on too much,overall i prob would stay here again,it was close enough to walk into the town but far away to not have to hear everyone getting in!!

  • Liked — Nightlife
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charlote B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 27 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#10 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#7 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Don Juan

Property: HSM Don Juan
Address: Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Don Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel, HSM Don Juan, now offers high quality facilities and service after its refurbishment in 2008. The highlight of the hotel is its ideal location in the lively city of Magalluf. During your stay with us you can enjoy all the attractions that the resort to offer, or you can relax and spend your days by the hotel's swimming pool. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: HSM Don Juan is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts in Mallorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts a blue flag, thanks to its high quality year after year. The hotel is only 400 m away from the beach and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive cities on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide variety of fun the city has to offer! There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for those who love golf! In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football field, rugby field, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 15 km away, the airport 22 km. There is a public bus service to the capital; the bus stop is only 100 m away from the hotel entrance. ROOMS: The hotel offers newly refurbished double and single rooms that present a modern and up-to-date look. All of the rooms include a bathroom, heating and air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), parquet floor, satellite TV and a balcony! There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of hot and cold dishes, as well as a wide variety of fruit and desserts. The restaurant offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking, as well. All food is served in thematic buffet style. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious terrace with a swimming pool for adults with a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool is available. Inside of the facilities at HSM Don Juan there are cozy common areas, a game room, as well as an indoor bar! CHILDREN: At HSM Don Juan there is a mini club for children during the summer months and swimming area for children. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and Mastercard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis, French bowls in the complex. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HSM Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Juan
Don Juan Magalluf
HSM Don Juan Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing