We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updating required”
Review of FERGUS Pax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
FERGUS Pax
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Pleasant friendly helpful staff, room clean and spacious, food fresh and lots of choice. Not a hotel for the older young at heart generation. Noisy with stag and hen parties enjoying two and three day stays. The hotel and pool are in need of updating and the few sun beds are cracked or broken. The closed main pool has been condemned and will not reopen until the hotel closes at some point in the future for a total over haul that has been planned for the last eighteen months. Evening entertainment suitable for stag and hens only.

Room Tip: First floor with large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed between the 12th-16th of sep and it aint as bad as people say. Lets say you get what you pay for. the hotel was perfect for groups of lads and lasses on holiday or stag/hen do's
here's a run down on the resort:
TRANSFER:if you book a transfer through a company ie low cost holiday.... don't bother we waited 2 hrs on the bus before it goes then seemed to drive in circles around magaluf dropping off to different hotels. We passed the same pub 3 times which started to annoy both myself and a group sat next to us.
We later found out you could get a taxi for 35 euros and only took 20 mins!! between 4 of us seemed a bargain!
Here's a breakdown of the resort.
HOTEL: clean, fairly well kept, only 1 pool work was in action which was a shame and from reading a lot of reviews has been like that for a while. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
ROOM: cant fault it. decent size room, good beds, cleaned every day. Good size bathroom
BAR: Well a bit weird if you ask me, The pool bar was the main one during the day with a strict 1 drink per person policy, yet if you walked down to the food area you could serve yourself as much beer as you want? we was a group of 8 lads, so going up 1 by 1 was stupid and if you are a couple it was crazy! During the evening it goes to a 2 drink rule, which makes sense. I understand you get some idiots go silly on the booze couldn't common sense been enforced during the day and make it a 2 drink rule all day??
FOOD: Never see breakfast but lunch & dinner was ok. it filled a hole cheap and cheery and that's it They had a snack bar during the day which I avoided as it seemed like the food sat there all day and didn't seem to appetising.
LOCATION: Excellent, not too far from the strip yet far enough to avoid the crowds, best bet is to go via the beach, its quicker than the road and avoids the gangs of bar PA's dragging you in.
ENTERTAINMENT: We never stayed long for the night time stuff but something always seemed to be going on, be it shows, singing etc and the people seemed to enjoy it.
OVERVIEW: Its a decent BUDGET hotel and I think people should realise that when they book it. would I stay again, as a group of lads yes, as a couple... maybe not.

Room Tip: As for a Pool view as it overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Myself and a friend booked a last minute all-inclusive stay at the Marina Pax from the 10th September to the 17th September. After reading the reviews on here we didn’t know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the rooms, its staff and the food (I don't understand all the complaints about the food on here - there's so much choice and it was all very tastey). For what we paid we had a brilliant time; the hotel is located right next to the beach, and a short walk away to the strip. The rooms were basic but had all we needed with a great view of the sea. There was a good atmosphere, everyone was having a fun time, and we were sad to leave. I’m not sure if earlier in the season things were different here, but it was easy to get drinks at the bar and we were allowed two drinks each not one. There was a lot of choice and I can say from experience that the spirits weren’t watered down! If you stay here make sure you visit the Baracuda next door; the Marina is 5 star luxury compared to that hotel!! I’d definitely recommend staying at the Marina if you’re looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful in Magaluf – don’t be put off by the other reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the sea as it’s the quietest and has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

You get what you pay for!!!! 290 quid all inclusive in magaluf, you don't come expecting the ritz!!!!!! Found rooms n pool clean beer an food on tap, you couldn't ask for anything more on a stag do....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Granty426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went to the Marina pax hotel on a stag do from the 13 th to the 15 th it was brilliant lots of friendly people the staff was helpfull but the food was not all that good the rooms were clean and spacious really enjoyed my stay and will be going back . John Briffitt kent

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbriffitt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel from 12th - 15th sept and must say the place is great value for money. The staff were lovely, especially Mandela who always had a smile on his face. I was shocked when i first saw our room as i just expected a tiny double bedroom but instead the room was huge with 4 single beds in. Only being 2 of us we were happy with the space. The food was ok, i was worried about this when i first booked as i'm a fussy eater but the selection was great. The hotel was in a good spot and within walking distance to local shops, bars and the main strip. The atmosphere in the hotel was brilliant and entertainment was good too! We met a lot of lovely people and I would most definitely recommend this place for young party animals who want somewhere affordable and clean! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simps092094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Here is my daughter's experience of the Marina Pax. Upon arrival we were given a brief welcome to the Hotel. It was immediately evident that the hotel Receptionist did not speak much English. However, once we entered our room, on the 5th floor, we were pleasantly surprised at the sheer size, cleanliest and overall presentation of the room. Being at the end of the corridor was also a bonus, as noise was kept to a minimum (apart from our Scottish neighbours!).

The food has received more than one bad review, complaints of it being basic and repetitive are all but uncommon. We, however, found the hotel offered a variety of freshly cooked food which was constantly refilled and overall was enjoyable. It was anything but a la carte but for the regular party goer, it eased a hangover and was never anything too extravagant! I would though like to mention that during the day the coffee and juice machines were out of use and therefore a walk to the bar was necessary, something that wasn't ideal when you had a hot plate of food waiting to be eaten!

The hotel facilities were generally good, the bars were quick in service and the pool had plenty of sun loungers available. One complaint is that one of the pools, closest to the sea, had been cordoned off and was out of use. It was the largest of the hotel pools so during a busy period it would have been good to make use of it!
The location of the hotel was a 10 minute walk from the popular nightclub, BCM, and perhaps another 5 or 10 minutes away from the main strip. It felt further than it actually was and in hindsight I would have preferred a hotel slightly closer although the noise level would have definitely increased.

The beds were very comfortable and the room was kept clean and tidy by the hotel maids. The doors of the rooms, however, had no double lock or' do not disturb sign' so in the morning a maid would enter the room to clean even if the occupants were not yet awake which, most of the time, we were not! This was an inconvenience as on one of the days our room ended up not being cleaned due to the maid coming at an earlier time and not returning.

Our four night stay was very enjoyable and although we may not return to the Marina Pax, we will certainly be returning to Magaluf itself!!

Room Tip: higher floor away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol House Mallorca by Melia
0.6 mi away
Globales Honolulu
Globales Honolulu
#21 of 31 in Magaluf
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
HSM Don Juan
HSM Don Juan
#17 of 31 in Magaluf
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Teix
Hotel Teix
#30 of 31 in Magaluf
213 reviews
0 mi away
Alua Calvia Dreams
Alua Calvia Dreams
#18 of 31 in Magaluf
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FERGUS Pax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FERGUS Pax

Address: Avenida Del Notario Alemany, 34, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Pax)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £73 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FERGUS Pax 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your FERGUS Pax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Pax Magalluf
Hotel Marina Pax
FERGUS Pax Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing