We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant apartments for a party weekend in Magaluf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartments for a party weekend in Magaluf”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We've just returned after a 3 night stay in the Sotovento Apartments with a group of friends. We got a taxi from the Airport and between four of us, it cost 40 Euros (inc tip). Check in was prompt (and there was 12 of us!) We had to sign a 'contract' and leave an 80 Euro deposit which was returned on check out (providing everything was alright..we did have a few glasses/chairs in other rooms which meant we had to retrieve them before we got our deposit back)
The hotel is very modern and clean as were our bedrooms. There was a twin bedroom and then the sofas turned into two sofa beds in the main room where there was a kitchenette and table. The balcony was large and overlooked the pool.
The hotel served cheap breakfasts and there was music/bar open by the pool each day. We opted for the beach though (the music was a little much for our sensitive hangovers!ha!)
The hotel was a short walk down a steep hill to the beach (death trap for those in high heels!ha!) and a short walk to the main strip.
On check out we were unable to keep hold of our rooms (there were signs up to say there was an option to keep hold of the room until 6pm for 30 Euro) as the hotel was fully booked with it being a weekend, but they did have a luggage room which we were able to store our bags in until we had to leave for our flight.
If i was to return to Magaluf with a group of friends, i would definately stay here again.
I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who doesn't want to be amongst party goers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vick_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Vick,

Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review of your stay at Sotavento, we really appreciate you sharing your experience of our property with other potential guests.

We are really pleased that you had a great stay with us at Sotavento and very much hope that we can welcome you back to Sotavento in the near future.

Thanks again for the great comments, much appreciated.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    149
    37
    22
    13
See reviews for
15
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just come back from 4 days for a friend's 40th with the ladies. Apartments very clean and tidy - any requests and the hotel staff were very helpful. Very friendly staff - DJ Grant included everyone into the fun and lots of party games. Last night it was raining heavily so stayed in the hotel and a whole party atmosphere was created. Supermarket provided for everything we needed - very cheap to drink. Absolutely fantastic team member Barry, "Bad Baz" - always keeping us topped up with drinks, food and entertainment throughout and all done with a smile.
This is definitely a party hotel without the noise from the main strip - situated at the top of the hill so out of the way of too much rowdiness, so allows for a good night's rest after a heavy night. Taxi's on the strip could be hailed down and only had 1minute taxi trip up the hill to the hotel - so just minimum fee needed. Would highly recommend to all adult parties.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Christina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sotavento. We are really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We have passed on your comments to all of our team, particularly Grant and Barry! Your feedback is greatly appreciated by all of our team and its great to know we are doing a good job!

I hope that we see you back at Sotavento some time in the future and thanks once again for taking time out to leave such a positive review.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

stayed for friends 40th.....This hotel is amazing, lovely clean rooms... All staff are friendly and pool waiters and DJ are fab! Food is great. Shops are close and a short walk to the beach or strip. If you want a weekend away with the girls (or boys) this is def the place to be!

thank you all so much, I will def be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Hi Natalie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Sotavento on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you had a fantastic break at our property and I have passed your comments onto all members of our team.

We hope to see you back at Sotavento some time in the future.

Thanks again for the review.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Just come back from 3 nights stay for my friends 40th birthday. The rooms were very clean and the staff were always helpful and attentive. I would stay again for future group parties as it is geared up for this type of holiday/weekend stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotavento A, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi,

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us at Sotavento Apartments, we really value the commnets of all our guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with other potential visitors.

We are so pleased that you had a good weekend with us and we have passed your comments onto all our team who value your feedback.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you back at Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Have just returned after spending a few days celebrating my friend's birthday with the ladies. Wow, what a weekend, the apartments were clean and tidy and had everything you needed. The staff were fun and helpful and nothing was too much. Food was great. Certainly a place to go to have fun all day and night and great value for money. Thank you a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotavento A, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi,

Thank you for the review and your fantastic comments, we are so pleased you had a great time with us for your friends birthday celebrations.

We have passed on your comments to our team who really value the feedback of our guests.

Thanks again for the review we really do appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other potential guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Thursday to Sunday for a girls weekend at the end of April. Gorgeous apartments with very friendly staff, clean rooms, pool and bar areas. Lively atmosphere during the day and loads of laughs with the DJ and bar staff around the pool (my tummy still hurts from laughing). It's close enough to the bars in Magaluf but far enough away so you cant hear the noise. The only down side was people coming back to their rooms at 6am, drunk and chatting BUT that's to be expected, just take your ear plugs!
Trust me, this is the BEST place to stay for a stag, hen or birthday party!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotavento A, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at Sotavento, we really appreciate your feedback and it is important to us to know the thoughts of our guests.

We are really pleased that you and your friends had a fantastic time with us and hope to see you back at Sotavento very soon. We do apologise for any noise that was made in the hotel late at night. Our night time reception team try to control this and all guests are asked when they check in to respect other guests who maybe sleeping when they return from Magaluf's bars & clubs etc.

Thanks again for the fantastic feedback and we hope to see you back at Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Sotavento last weekend for a hen party! Fantastic pool staff, catered to every request we had, really friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very neat and tidy comfy enough for a few nights. The only complaint I would have is about the night reception staff, quite rude at times and when we rang to complain about noise we were nearly told off for disturbing him. Overall fab hotel, lovey staff (most of them) a real party atmosphere, perfect for stags and hens! Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRed1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotavento A, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us at Sotavento, we are really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you do come to stay with us in the future. I am sorry that you found our night reception team rude, I can assure you that this would not be there intention and in fact we have had many positive commnents on Tripadvisor and directly about the quality of service they provide. Sometimes it can be the language difference that can make some comments seem rude and out of context and we apologise if this came across on the telephone late at night.

Thanks again for the fantastic feedback and we do hope to see you again at Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Property: Sotavento Apartments
Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing