We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Three friends, one of which was I, booked a plush hol at the Sotavento Apartments in early June for ten days. Situated at the top of a naughty hill who's gradient defeated my friend, they overlook Magaluf and are perfectly located if you plan to make an assault on the strip. We were in room 314 (dubbed The Palace), on the second floor, which luckily had the biggest balcony and the best view of the pool. The rooms were clean when we arrived, although the maids didn't do such a thorough job when they visited every day or two during our stay. You'll need to bring your own toilet roll though, we ran out at one stage due to a lack of this knowledge.

You WILL be woken up every day without fail at 12 by the bah heid of a poolside DJ who will murder every summer hit DEAD.

The food available at Sotavento is nice enough. We didn't really eat there often but I had a couple of pleasant fajitas around the pool whilst nursing a hangover. The poolside bar kept us topped up with Kopparbergs during the day, but it's a lot cheaper making the 2 minute walk down to one of the supermarkets (€10ish for a litre of Jager).

The place has a great atmosphere, despite our ginger rep 'The Germ', his scarred pot-belly and his explicit overuse of the word "literally". On arrival the reps will try and sell you a package of activities. My advice would be to negotiate with them and opt out of a few of the trips. We did that (because we couldn't be bothered with the Pirates show or the water park)(and also because we're wily Scotsmen), and we ended up paying less than half of what others that arrived with us did. The booze cruise is an absolute must.

After 12 at night, they get a bit touchy about noise though, and we got a letter on our third day telling us that they "do not tolerate guests disturbing to other guests" and warned us we would be booted out if we were noisy again. The nightwatchman Horatio, voiced by Xerxes, goes insane if you shout too much and will pursue perpetually until he catches the offender. We managed to befriend him eventually after a couple of eventful nights and he's ok really.

Shafters note - they don't have a problem with you bringing others back to the hotel so long as you come in and leave quietly!!

I would unreservedly recommend the Sotavento to anyone looking for a party holiday. It ticks every box for me and I would return without hesitation.

One final piece of advice I will impart is to try and blag your way into the Swedish club on the beachfront. We managed it on account of our unrelenting good looks and have have never seen specimens like it in our lives. Heed this warning, they carry the clap, and they aren't afraid to share it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zinemidine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review, we do value appreciate you taking your time to share your opinions of Sotavento with other potential guests.

We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and thanks for the recommendation.

I am sorry that you had a problem with lack of toilet roll in your apartment, if this ever happens again during your stay at Sotavento, please report to reception as we can get "new supplies" to you immediately. We have had some great feedback this season about our poolside Dj´s who usually do not start playing until aaround 12.30 each day so I am sorry if the noise from the pool affected you. I would recommend that for any future visits you request a room at the back of the hotel, you miss the great pool views, but it is quieter.

You are correct, our nightime reception team do make sure that people are as quiet as possilbe when returning from bars/clubs late at night. As you can understand some people , even in Magaluf do sometimes have an early night and out of consideration to all our guests we need all guests to keep noise to a minimum late at night. Out of respect to other guests we therefore do make sure that all noise is kept to a minimum during the evening. However I am pleased you managed to "befriend" the team during your stay!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a great review and we really do hope that you will visit us again some time soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Last weekend was my 4th time at Sotavento and once again my friends and I had a fantastic time, the appartments are beautifully appointed, spacious and spotless, the staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble, the atmosphere is brilliant, there's a fantastic pool area, bar and even a gym for the gym fanatics. my friends and I spent all day by by pool it was so good we didnt even venture to the beach in the time we were there. The DJ kept us entertained with all the best music including our many requests and the games by the pool were hilarious, we will definatly booking again for next year carnt wait already :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at Sotavento and we are really pleased that you had a great stay (again) with us. We really value the opinions of our guests and it is great to know that after 4 visits you will be coming back to see us again!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience of Soavento with other potential visitors and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just got back from another amazing weekend at Sotavento with the girlies..Its 5 years since my first visit to this hotel, I would reccomend it to anyone, always spotlessly clean, the rooms are clean modern and spacious,The pool area is second to none, Fantastic atmosphere with DJ playing some great music.The staff are all friendly and very helpful,(Ricardo,Enrique,Peter, Stuart, DJ Grant Etc) Thanks again guys cant wait to visit again in Sept!! xx ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review at our Tripadvisor page, we really do appreciate your feedback and its great for you to to share your thoughts with other potential guests.

I am so pleased that you continue to enjoy your time at Sotavento and we really do value you coming back each year.

I have passed your comments onto all the team, they do appreciate feedback for a job well done, particularly from our guests.

Thanks once again for your review and of course your continuing custom at Sotavento.

We look forward to seeing you and the girls later this summer.

All the best.

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Went here for my surprise hen do, Staff cant do enough to make your stay comfortable and fun filled!!! Food very cheap and tasty, apartments very clean and the pool area cleaned every morning. Seen 2 guys in testing the water in the pool as well.
Very surprised at how clean the place was, the guys in the restaurant and pool area couldnt do enough for you and were always available to help and serve you. The DJ was good craic, there is music at the pool all day every day. I would recommend this place to anyone and although my partner is staying sumwhere else for his stag do i have told him to go to this place to sunbath in our pool and use the bar and restaurant. Will defo be be back to this if I am planning another holiday to magaluff!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are close to the bar so close to the music no sleeping during the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinseyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi Linsey,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at Sotavento, we really appreciate your feedback.

I am so pleased that you had a fantastic hen party with us, we do try to be very different from other hotels/apartments in Magaluf in terms of quality of accommodation, entertainment and the overall service you receive from all of our team. I pleased that you were so impressed by every aspect of this service. Please tell your partner that he is very welcome to come and see us at Sotavento when he is visiting Magaluf, if he need, I am sure he will love it as much as you did!

I hope we get to see you back at Sotavento some time soon...maybe an annual girls trip away!

Thanks again for the review and good luck with your wedding this summer.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

place was amazing!! everything was clean and tidy....staff were so friendly and fantastic all day everyday! no matter what you needed they were around to help :) had a fantastic time and would defo reccomend this place to any1 and will defo b back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at Sotavento, we really do appreciate you sharing your thoughts about Sotavento with other potential guests.

I am so pleased you found all of our team offering great service to you throughout your stay. At Sotavento we really do try to be very different from other hotel/apartments in Magaluf, not only in the quality of our accommodation and entertainment, but also in the standards of customer service offered by all of our team. I am glad you experienced the "Sotavento Difference"

Thank you once again for the fantastic feedback, we very much hope to see you and your friends back at Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I was really impressed at the quality and cleanliness of the apartments and its rooms especally as it mainly caters for stag and hens.
Each member of staff I found to be really friendly and helpful. The young guys round the pool where a great laugh and good eye candy which made my stay and all of the 15 grils I was with even more enjoyable.(special mention to Barry who looked after us most of the time)
I am arranging a girls holiday to Magaluf next year and will definitely be returning to the Sotavento. I would recomend this hotel to all my friend.xxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICCI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your time at Sotavento, we really do appreciate you sharing your experience of our property with other potential guests.

I have passed your comments onto our team, particularly Barry as its always good to hear positive feedback for a job well done!

Thank you once again for leaving such a great review and we very much hope to welcome you and your friends back to Sotavento very soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Group of 10, 19-30 year olds from a football team for 3 nights - we chose Sotavento based on the reviews here, and after seeing the pool party on Geordie Shore! I booked 3 rooms, and they accommodated our requests for pool-facing rooms, all next to eachother.

The hotel is everything the reviews suggest, great place, great value, great time!
Hotel staff and service were great, a mixture of locals and young Brits working there.
For all it is a 'party hotel' the atmosphere round the pool is still relaxed, music varied and not too loud (ala Mallorca Rocks). The food and drinks are reasonably priced, and good too! Breakfast is served all through the day too. Supermarket is part of the complex and very well priced.
Rooms are nicely decorated, big enough, with a nice shower and spacious balconies.
For me, resorts like this need these kind of hotels. Not just a party hotel which sacrifices all comfort and relaxation - the Sotavento is an 'adult hotel' with a touch of class, and doesn't seem to sacrifice anything. Absolutely perfect for us.
Location: yes it is at the top of a hill, which is a mild work-out, but this didn't bother us at all. Very close to beach and the strip. You also get some nice sea and bay views from the pool which was a nice surprise.

If you are a young group, stag/hen looking to head to Magaluf - this is absolutely perfect. Forget about Mallorca Rocks, this place is where you want to be. Reviews don't lie!

Room Tip: When booking on the Sotavento website, there is a requests box - I asked for pool view, and 3 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review on your stay at Sotavento. We really do value our guests feedback as it helps other potential travellers make the right decision with chosing which property that best suits their needs.

I am so pleased that you and your friends had a fantastic stay with us. At Sotavento we do try to be very different from other properties in Magaluf not only the style and type of entertainment we provide but also in the service we give to our guests throughout their stay. To this extent we also removed all of the baths from our bathrooms as we found that all of our guests prefer to take a shower, hence we now have large, modern walk in showers in all our bathrooms.

Thanks also for your comments about our team they really do appreciate the feedback as its always good to know you are doing a good job!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with other travellers and we very much hope to see you back at Sotavento some time soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,711 reviews
0.0 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#18 of 28 in Magaluf
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: £38 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing