We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!!! Best weekend ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend!!! Best weekend ever!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have just got back from my hen weekend with 16 ov us!! We all had the best time ever all said that it was mainly down to the Sotavento!! From liaising with the Sales Manager Peter before our arrival he made sure we had the best rooms ever and put us all on the same floor!! When we arrived check in was speedy and we were by the pool within 15 mins or arriving!!! Bar staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious!! Dj and pool games were fun also!! Well priced food and drink!! Because of the well known prostitutes the hotel even give you any free drink of your choice if you got a taxi back to the hotel and showed your receipt!! Which we all thought was a brilliant idea!! And it stops you from having to climb the big hill pissed!! If i ever return back to Magaluf i will definitely be staying in this hotel and will be recommending it to everyone!! Thanks again to all the staff at the Sotavento who really did make my hen weekend more enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayBlues13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we really do appreciate you taking time out to share you experience of Sotavento with other potential visitors.

I am really pleased that you and the girls had such a great time with us and it is great to know that you enjoyed all that Sotavento has to offer!

I have passed your comments onto all the team as its always great to get such feedback.

Maybe you should all come back and make it an annual event?

If you do ever come back to Magaluf please contact me directly and I will make sure we get you the best deal available.

Thanks once again for the fantastic feedback.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    153
    37
    23
    14
See reviews for
16
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying here, we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Brilliant location for the strip, value for money, decent food, decent dj and the staff are so friendly. Have to mention Lloyd the team manager, one of the nicest blokes! Plus Reece and Charlie and the 2 Irish shot girls! Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellelouL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Michelle,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your latest stay with us, I am really pleased that the second time around your Sotavento experience was as good, if not better than your first stay.

I have passed on all your comments to all of the team, particularly Lloyd, Charlie and Reiss as its always good to know when you are doing a good job!

We really do hope that you will make a 3rd visit very soon, if you do please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure we get you the best deal available.

Thanks again for the great feedback.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

just back from a hen, stayed for 3 nights and it was brilliant, the staff were excellent here, we were welcomed as soon as we walked in!!! and the guy at reception was lovely!!!! have a special mention for charlie!!!! he was so nice and really looked after us!! if we were ever to return to magaluf, sotavento would defo be the place....great atmosphere at pool with the music and the rooms were also great!!!! A big thanks to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_k24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback and taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us,

We are really pleased that you had such a great time at Sotavento. I have passed on your comments to Charlie - who is thrilled to get a mention - thank you!

Maybe you and the girls should make it an annual event? If you do ever want to come back to Sotavento please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure we get you the best deal available.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it´s much appreciated.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

sotavento was a nice place to stay. the rooms are spacious, we could see the beach from our apartment, large pool and spa, music from 12-6, no curfew, excellent location (despite the hill of death) and there's also a supermarket attached to the hotel. the only cons would be that we asked for 3 beds and only got 2 so we all had to alternate sleeping on some wooden couch. also they only cleaned our room once out of the three nights we stayed and they didn't do the dishes so we were living in filth a lot. otherwise it was cheap, worth your money accom. they also had the low down on all the events that were happening and there was a bar crawl opening at the hotel. a fun stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookearchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we do appreciate the feedback.

With regard to the beds, our apartments for 2,3,& 4 people all have 2 beds in the bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the lounge, this is the same in all apartment accommodation in Spain and most of Europe, I am sorry if this was not made clear by your travel agent.

On a short stay of 3 nights you will only have your sheets and towels changed once, this again is fairly standard for holiday apartments in Europe. I note that you said no one washed your dishes and your therefore were living in "filth". Our cleaning team will clean your apartment, the bathroom, towels etc, however they do not clean your cups, plates etc this would be your responsibliity. I guess you had a choice to live like this or clean them?

I am pleased that despite your plates etc not being cleaned for you that you had a great stay with us and thanks again for leaving the review.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Just back from the Sotavento, we came last year for 3 nights and loved it so much we stayed a week this year!

Definitely the best place to stay, the whole interior is a modern 'hed kandi' style and the apartments are the same. There was 5 of us in the one apartment - 2 sets of bunk beds in the bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the lounge.

DJ at the pool everyday so music loud from around 12ish until 6ish, possibly longer in July/Aug. Lots of hen & stag parties but all good banter between everyone. Staff are nice to look at ;) but also very nice and courteous.

We went for the 'All in One' deal offered by the apartments which included your breakfast and lunch/dinner with 4 alcoholic drinks a day :) worked so well and definitely worth the money!! Food is beautiful and loads of choice!

Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting good quality accommodation and fab entertainment during the day at the pool.

Beware... It is at the top of 'heart attack hill' but good exercise to burn all that drink off! Worst case, get a taxi it's only like 3 euro from the strip.

Already looking to stay again :) Keep it up guys!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAgentReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you so much for leaving another fantastic review of your stay with us, we are really pleased that second time around it just got even better for you!

I have passed your comments onto all the team as its always good to get such positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our All in One Deal, it gives you the best of everything, your food and most of your drinks during the day/evening but the flexibility to go out and enjoy all Magaluf has to offer each night!

We very much hope you will make it a 3rd year in a row next summer, if you do want to come back please contact me directly and we will make sure we get you the best deal possible.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review, we really do appreciate it.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 6 other girls and I would defintely recommend this hotel as THE only place to stay in Magaluff!! Rooms r a great size and very clean.

This is most certainly a party hotel!!!! DJ Scouse was awsome on the decks and the poolside bar is tops!!!

1 thing I would mention is we were on the ground floor and quite near the bins so would occasionally get a smell of waste in our room not so good when you have a hangover!!

Overall I would definately stay here again!! In fact I am hoping to book up for my Sisters Hen do in August 2014!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we are all really pleased that you had a fantastic time at Sotavento.

I have passed your comments onto all the team as its always good to know when you are doing a good job.

We do hope to see you back for your sisters hen party in 2014, if you do want to come back please send me an email and I will make sure we get you the best deal available.

Thanks again for the positive feedback and we hope to see you with us again soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Pros -
This is a hotel for the young and lively, i would go as far to say suitable for no other groups.
Poolside DJ was pretty good, nice pool bar, pool itself was good. Nice and clean. Plenty of sun loungers .
Nice young beautiful people having a great time, good talent. good balance of boys and girls.
All the staff excluding the night watchman (Torch-man) were lovely.,
Rooms were clean, working fridge and hob for hangover supa-noodles.
Excellent location, 2 minute walk from strip and the beach.
Beach path is amazing for restaurants, would highly recommend 'the boat yard', delicious.
Bathroom and shower was perfect.


Cons -
Our room faced the rear, which was a car-park and a wall. no great view, try and get a poolside room, So you can sit and drink on the balcony with a view over magaluf.
The night watchman constantly bursts into your room if your playing music after 10pm.., confiscating our speaker, which in a young party hotel i don't understand. Different if its the early hours and is still going, but for pre-drinks before going out, wasn't impressed.

Summise -
Magaluf is Magaluf, its cheap, sleazy and a hole. But its great for a mad week on the drink,
You'll see countless stags and hens, the reps constantly trying to get you into bars are irritating after a while, but its great fun. Something you got to experience. Get smashed.

Room Tip: Poolside room if at all possible. View over the back of the hotel is a car-park and a brick wall. no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento, we do appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased that you had a great holiday with us and thank you for your positive comments about our apartments and the team.

I note that you have pointed out several "cons" as well as the "pros" of staying at Sotavento and would like to clarify the points raised.

All of the apartments (25 in total) for 5 and 6 people face the back of the building, these do have views onto our private car park and the neighbouring villa. The other 47 apartments that sleep up to 4 people all face the front of the buidling and most of pool and sea views.

Our nightime reception and security team do not start until after 11pm and all guests are reminded at check in that they must not play music after midnight in consideration of all other guests. Just for clarity at no point would our night time team "burst" into any guest apartment, they will of course come to any apartment that is making excessive noise to ask you to respect other guests who maybe sleeping.

I am sorry that you were not happy with this approach, however I have noted from a review you left from another hotel that you stayed at in Magaluf that you also had problems with their nightime reception team complaining about the excessive noise from your room. I am sure you will agree that all hotels to have to consider all guests staying at their property.

Thank you again for leaving a review of your stay with us and I am pleased that overall you had a fantastic time.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#2 of 28 in Magaluf
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#10 of 28 in Magaluf
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol House Mallorca Mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Property: Sotavento Apartments
Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing