We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we had hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Hermitage
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything we had hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed as a couple for 7 nights in September, in a superior room.

L'Hermitage was everything that we were looking for in a late summer week away, which is a pre-cursor for why the below is dripping with praise. I really cannot recommend this hotel enough.

The hotel is small (c.20 rooms), but the grounds are extensive, frequently giving you a feeling of complete isolation and tranquility. The reviews below are correct - often, all you can hear is silence and goat bells.

The buildings are beautiful. In my mind, a top hotel either needs to be ultra modern, or purposely and tastefully dishevelled, or it runs the risk of looking tired. While in flawless condition, this was the latter - stunning 17th century architecture with weathered stone, connected by naturally cracked paths. The apples in the large orchard lay where they fell, and the atmosphere hung thick with relaxation.

The bedrooms and spa, while clearly housed in reproduction buildings, had been built in a classic style that complimented the main, former monastery building. Inside they were large, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom in our room was fantastic - long and wide, with a double sink, whirlpool bath, and walk-in rainwater shower. Outside, all rooms had their own patio area with table, chairs and sun loungers. Moreover the room entrances were arranged such that no-one could walk through your terrace space, even at ground floor level. An additional nice touch was the very reasonable minibar, which was the same price as the hotel bar - a 330ml San Miguel was €2.50.

Outside of the room, the spa was very impressive. A c.15m pool, with buttons on all side to activate the various (many!) hydro-therapy jets and water sprays. In the same building, there was small gym, a sauna and a steam room, and loungers on a raised area to get some relaxing done away from the sun. In addition, there was an outdoor pool surrounded by loungers and hammocks, and a double tennis court with rackets and balls to borrow (for free) from reception.

The restaurant was lovely, and 99% of guests ate outside each night. The food was extremely good - excellent local ingredients, well cooked, well presented, (very) plentiful, and reasonably priced. Most mains were €12-20. The wine list matched the food for range and price, and the service was charming but unintrusive. This was the running theme throughout L'Hermitage - a good example was when we came out of the sauna to find there was no water machine in the spa. We put a call through from the poolside phone to reception, and the manager turned up with an ice cold bottle and glasses within 5 minutes.

In the name of some constructive feedback, there were a couple of small negatives. The pool temperature was a bit chilly. We were informed that this was due to national restrictions in the spa (which was fair enough), but the outdoor pool was too cold (at 20-22C) to dip in... for a Brit anyway, most of the Germans seemed happy enough! Also the small restaurant did not have a "light bites" offering - while the food was lovely, we didn't really want a big meal every night, and certainly not at lunchtime (where we tended to just have a starter if eating in). This was compounded by the lack of alternatives in the area. Orient is the only place within walking distance (c.1km) and had only 3 restaurants - 2 serving local cuisine, and a fairly upmarket Indian restaurant. Unfortunately these were similarly priced, so the point was moot. There was also nowhere just to get an ice cream cone or a snack.

However these caveats are small points, and certainly did not detract from a wonderful week away. L'Hermitage is a wonderfully relaxing spot for a break, and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nmjg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
87
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I was disappointed when failing to book the Valldemossa Hotel, in Valldemossa as it is so good, however, despite its rather remote position, L'Hermitage is its equal when it comes to service, cleanliness and ambiance. The meals are very good and compete favourably with the local fare. We usually prefer to eat out, but on this stay of 7 nights we had dinner with our son and daughter-in-law who were staying in Soller and tried a local place recommended to us in Alora, and on both occasions we wished we had stayed in at L'Hermitage,
We found all the guests, mainly German and British, all quietly enjoying their stays.
A car is a necessity, but don't drive from Orient to Bunyola in a medium/large car unless you like 9km of narrow poor quailty roads with multiple hairpins.From Airport go via Alaro.
Hopefully we will return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

A comfortable friendly hotel with very professional staff - many of whom have been there for many years - in a quiet rural location away from the crowds. The rooms and all the public areas are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The dining room is truly beautiful and elegant with a feature of an old olive press, and the outside terrace is a lovely spot for warm weather outside eating. A computer is available for the use of guests and the hotel has a large paperback collection mostly English and German.
Good for walking and chilling out. There is an indoor and an outdoor pool (the latter can be a tad chilly even in Summer). Due to its remote location a car is essential (we find a small one easier as the roads are narrow and twisty). Beaches are a fair trek away (about an hour).
Our only criticism would be that the restaurant menu, although high quality and offering a fair choice, does not change which can get a bit boring during longer stays - although there are at least 2 restaurants in Orient a couple of kilometres down the road. All in all it's a nice relaxing place to stay for a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank su51090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria francisca a, Recepcionista at L'Hermitage, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We take note about your opinion of the restaurant menu. If you have more suggestions, wishes... please don't hesitate to contact us again.
We look forward to seeing you again in our facilities.
Best regards,
Hotel & Spa l'Hermitage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went to escape our daily grind in Germany, and what did we find? A hotel full of Germans. Well... having surveyed the island we came to conclude we definitely got very lucky and ended up in one of the better hotels. The location is wonderful and secluded - could potentially be nice and quiet and enjoyable (when the hotel is not full, families etc). Much prefered to somewhere like Valdemossa. The food is great, and the prices were nice. Be careful with the rooms though - the pictures they show adverstised are of lovely updated rooms. We ended up with an older outdated room, with musty furniture and no windows. The advertise themselves as a spa, but we missed that part (did not seem to offer it?)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We booked this hotel via laterooms as a base to truly 'get away from it all' - we enjoyed walking in the mallorcan hills, driving out to the nearby towns and spending time relaxing. But then Clare arrived and filled the air with stories such as the time she went shopping at harrods and eat too many apricots, or the hilarious time at breakfast when she eat so much that she couldn't wee. And then, when we had found ways to avoid her, a large German chap came along and felt it reasonable to shout at me for daring to leave a towel on a sun lounger for two hours (the irony, it appears, was lost on him). So we were stuck a beautiful hotel in the middle of nowhere with quite possibly the most irritating people I could ever imagine meeting. And we couldn't even go into town to relax - they followed us there, too. The hotel is great, but I am never going back.

Room Tip: We had the basic room and it was amazing, although it did look out into the central courtyard so was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have stopped here for coffee a number of times in the past and decided to stay the night this time. It's a lovely rural spot, and is small enough to have a personal touch. It is also a good area for walking, and not far at all from Palma.
I am just a little sad that they do not seem to have made the best job of the newer rooms, which though comfortable are a little on the functional side. There is little privacy on the balcony, which is, however, spacious, and this meant the screaming child next door to me could be rather intrusive. Apart from the door opening onto the balcony there were no windows so little natural light. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but there was a nice welcome fruit basket and 50cl bottle of wine.
On the plus side, the wifi is good, the staff excellent, the pool pleasantly peaceful, and the food is good. And Orient is a short walk away, offering another option for eating and drinking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria francisca a, Recepcionista at L'Hermitage, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Mr. Diverdoc,
Thank you for your comments. Your opinions are helpful to further improve and satisfy all our customers. We take note!
We look forward to seeing you again soon at our facilities.
Best regards,
Hotel & Spa l'Hermitage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We steyd one night in the Tramuntana mountains in Majorca and wished we had booked more. It was the most peaceful and quiet place and very, very pleasant. We had a room with a terrace overlooking the mountain (or rather valley) and we heard only sounds from the animals around us, such as sheep and goats etc. We had booked halfboard and were very surpised it was so good (usually halfboard is a dissapointment) Here you could chose from the a la carte menu and the food was very good. I am really glad we chose the halfboard because there are not many other places around and when it is as good as this, go for it!
We enjoyed the outdoor as well as the indoor pool. We could have stayed for ever and will never forget the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient
0.7 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
0.7 mi away
Dalt Muntanya
Dalt Muntanya
#3 of 3 in Orient
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#8 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rural S'Olivaret
6.1 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.9 mi away
Finca Ca N'Ai
Finca Ca N'Ai
#12 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage

Property: L'Hermitage
Address: Carretera Alaro - Bunyola, 07349 Orient, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Orient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the valley of Orient prevailing calm and tranquility that nature creates: olive, oak forests, herbs and a variety of vegetation characterize this valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hermitage Hotel Orient
L'Hermitage Orient, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing