We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Tis hotel and spa has been drastically improved by the General Director Snr. Vicens and attracts the finest clientets from all over Europe. It's a joy to be there and although Mallorca is my home I go to the hotel to train, eat and enjoy the most pleasant atmosphere. It is now the best...

Room Tip: Superior rooms all sea facing. See the hotels facebook page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lordrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    282
    92
    41
    24
See reviews for
164
310
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a brief stay at this hotel. The common areas are nicely decorated and the free WiFi is a nice bonus. The outside bar and seating area have a luxurious feel and the barbeque lunches on offer are delicious. The pool area is pleasant , although there is the usual fight for sunbeds, but one expects this almost everywhere. The hotel also has it's own small beach which is very nice. Our room was really nice with comfy beds and a nice balcony with sea views. I found the safe a little temperamental, it needed the code to be put in at precisely the correct speed in order to open, too fast or slow and it didn't work. This may have just been me being daft though! The spa facilities are very good so you need to book early as they are very popular. The location of the hotel is very good, it's in a nice quiet location but you can be in the middle of Palmanova after a short walk. The main beach is also just around the corner. The staff were helpful, but not all speak good english, but then again I don't speak spanish so I know I shouldn't just expect it! The breakfast buffet was delightful, with plenty of choice. Overall I would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hairymary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Like a lot of travellers these days, I checked the Trip Advisor ratings before going, and on this I would say that they were broadly accurate although most of the negative comments are not justified. I went with my sister for a week in late July and had a fantastic time. The rooms are nice with good views (on one side of the hotel there are fabulous mountainous views.) Some people have complained about the rooms and some of the communal areas being ‘tired’, but for the money there is nothing to complain about. The rooms are equipped with the usuals, including a mini-bar and dressing gowns for the Spa (well worth a visit as the sauna and indoor swimming pool can be lovely after a day in the sun.) The hotel was full when we there as you would expect in the summer and there was a whole range of people from young families, to couples and some genuinely stunning women (!). There is a tennis court and table tennis which was always occupied and very popular. For the kids the pool is good as it has a shallow section for toddlers and there is a ledge for older children to jump off. In terms of sunbathing there are 4 options: 1) A private garden near the spa which is very secluded and very quiet 2) A large garden area with plenty of shade available 3) a pool area 4) a private beach.

The location of the hotel for me was absolutely perfect. From the hotel we got a coach there which took about 20 minutes and was 16 Euros (8 each) and on the way back we got a taxi to the airport (just for convenience) which was 40 Euros with a tip. Most of the other hotels in Mallorca require further distance to travel. Whilst the address is Palma Nova it is right on the outskirts which was perfect for us. It is a 5 minute walk in, but has all the advantages of a private beach and private jetty and the seclusion that comes with the location.

In terms of food I thought the breakfast was fabulous. There was a whole range of food to eat, from fruit to dried fruit, to a freshly made bacon and eggs. The chilled sparkling wine was also a lovely touch. We decided to just get bed and breakfast as the food options at night were many and varied so didn’t want to be tied to the hotel. However, we tended to eat lunch at the hotel and the grilled squid at 12 Euros was fantastic!

A few fellow travellers complained about the prices at the bar, and whilst they may have had a point, the cost is fairly reasonable when you consider it is a 4 star hotel. A gin and tonic costs 5.30 Euros, but the measures were at least a double. A pint was 3.90 Euros. There is also waiter service, but if you wanted to drink on the cheap there are 2 inexpensive supermarkets fairly close to the hotel.

We got a late flight back on the Sunday night but rather than charge us for wanting to stay longer in the room, the hotel said that if the room was not taken we could stay on for the whole of the day – for free. This was a fantastic touch and sets the hotel apart. In the event our room was taken, but instead the receptionists provided us with a room for an hour to have a shower at the end of the day – again at no charge.

In terms of improvements I would be nitpicking for a 4 star hotel, but my soap wasn’t replaced for several days and I had to ask for more. I would also like cheaper soft drinks available for sunbathers as I think the hotel would make more money if they offered a decent draft service for soft drinks. (A small bottle of coke was 2.60 Euros). There is also a main bar areas that never seems to open and the hotel bar tends to shut at 1pm, which is a bit early really.

Just a final word on the hotel entertainment: I thought this was so enjoyable. They had an array of different singers on at night, along with highly accomplished musicians, and I cannot understand anyone who could complain about the quality in this area.

This is a great hotel and I would definitely recommend and maybe go back in the future.

Room Tip: Mountainous views are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichterStraightTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Although the hotel looks a little 'tired' from the outside, one you walk in the quality & standard hit you straight away. Beautifully classic & elegant (No bling trying to come across as 'posh'. It is as good hotels should be(but rarely are). Spotlessly clean, reception staff efficient & friendly, nothing to much trouble. The room was lovely with a fab view of the sea & the mountains. We were on half board & the food was wonderful, eating from the a la carte menu was included in the price & every meal was excellent, plus the service was second to none. The pool, gardens & beach are not large but are lovely & beautifully kept. The spa was exellent with plenty of 'free of charge' options. There was also a tennis court & pilates studio. The hotels location was lovely & quite, but a 5-10 min walk takes you into Palma Nova. Walk for around 25 mins the other way & you are in the exclusive yatch marina of Porta Portals.
An excellent hotel, perhaps more for adults than children, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Mallorca.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the road (albeit a quite lane)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this lovely Hotel - unfortunately only for 2 nights. It is elegant and classy throughout. Lovely rooms, gorgeous common areas both inside and out. Lovely pool area and Gardens and it's own private beach. Very nice food with a good choice. A five minute walk to Palma Nova - so ideally placed just on the outskirts. Would deininately recommend to couples or families and would most certainly like to return.

Room Tip: We booked late so got a room at the front over-looking the tennis courts but would have loved a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nataliebuckely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

When you walk into the reception of the hotel you immediately get the feel of the standard! The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, check in took less than 5 mins which was great.
Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the gardens, you could also see the mountains from here too. Whilst there was a road at the back of the gardens, this was quiet and I think being out the back was a quieter option than a sea view!!
The rooms were large and spacious with balcony furniture too. The pool area is beautifully kept with a mixture of table & chairs along with wicker sofas and large comfy chairs. Waiter service means you can get drinks and snacks although these are obviously more expensive than the local bars.
The pool is a reasonable size and quite deep throughout but there is a seperate childrens section - and beyond the pool is one step down onto the sandy beach. The beach is fairly small so doesn't get too crowded and has a jetty which goes out where you can climb down steps or just sit of an evening with your feet in the water and a drink!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed in Son Calui for three days. The room was spacious, bathroom had everything you needed. The other areas in the hotel are clean and well maintained. Pool area good, free sun loungers and towels. Bit of a crush on the beach and round the pool on the Saturday but we still managed to find space.
Bar staff and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Food was varied and good quality. We just wanted to relax for three days, without blowing the budget and for that this hotel fitted the bill.
If I was going to be picky.....Did not like the pillows !! Too hard and only one but asked for more and they arrived immediately, just prefer feather but purely my preference. Not something to spoil our stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestGirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.9 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Property: Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area. We are currently undergoing a full renovation, planned in two phases: the first one, during the winter 2015/2016 season and the second one during the winter of 2016/2017. Our main virtue are the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing