We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A repeat visit to this excellent hotel.!! Go for it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I previously had stayed here in June 2011 and wanted to return. I hoped for the same excellent ambience and I wasn't disappointed. A 3 night break during mid September 2012. Again the hotel reception area is the first thing that greets you with it's mocha marble floors and walls. Light and open it gave an impression of quality. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival. Last time I stayed I had a room however due to availability I chose an apartment on this trip.

The apartment was a good family size one bed apt with kitchette dining/living area. Situated a short distance for the reception area and easily accessible to the pool area (also close to the small private beach but is small so a crowded pool area of loungers are offered.)
The location of this hotel was far enough away from main Palma nova but close enough to walk. A nice 10 minute stroll and you're there.

Now this visit I also discovered and used extensively the amazing spa facilities. This was excellent and all included in the price. Salt steam room, a herbal steam room, a good size sauna and tropical showers. Then the main relaxing indoor pool with wooden loungers. All provided with towels and towelling dressing gowns. I am a regular back home but this was far impressive. Totally relaxing atmosphere and down time after a busy sandy experience at the main beach. Recommended.

All in all good professional hotel with an international clientele . Recommended for a short stay for definate. A++++. I'll be back for a 3rd visit for sure. Family friendly too. Enjoy .... Go for it the extra cost was definately worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed a nice days in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly, will be a pleasure for us to offer you a competitive rate for your next visit.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here in Sep 2012 - the hotel is located at the opposite end of Palma Nova bay from Magaluf. The area around the hotel is quiet but very close to a large Mercadona (supermarket)which is excellent for cheap drink and food etc. You can walk to the main part of Palma Nova bay within 10mins, there is a back access set of stairs which you can use and the main beach is within 5-10mins. Magaluf can be walked to in 35mins. The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and access onto a beach which is open to the public as well but not very busy. The sea here is nice and calm as its in a bay and there is a small pier that you can swim off of - well recommended. Unlike other hotels in Palma Nova bay there are plenty of sun beds and you dont have to get up at 06:00 to reserve one. The is also a large enough grass area around the pool so plenty of space. The hotel has a spa which is good, indoor pool, gym and treatment rooms plus another large garden to relax in. The hotel reception is good and there is loads of space to chill out in and it has free internet access. The staff are excellent and helped us with every query we had, we went with a large party and in one of the rooms the chain on the toilet didnt work. This was fixed within 30mins of check in and as an apology a bottle of champagne and fruit platter was delivered to the room with the problem and also the room of the main booker. The rooms are of a medium size and as you'd expect of a 4* hotel room in Spain. They were very clean and the mini bar was priced OK. The breakfast was excellent it had everything you could want and the quality was good. I would recommed this hotel for people looking for a quiet hotel within walking distance of Palma Nova main town and beach with slightly older guests. There were no 18-30's causing noise at 04:00 due to the distance from Magaluf but it is within easy reach if you fancy a night out. The cost of a taxi from the airport is 35euros and 20euros into Palma.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsLWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the best available rate for your next visit.

Kind regards,
Son Caliu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I booked the son caliu as a treat after visiting Spain. I spent extra to have a great, relaxing trip. The room was outdated. Curtains ripped, leaking ceiling, broken toilet, hot minibar. There is nothing to be desired. The bar also closes whenever they want. Do not plan on being pampered. I would have rather stayed in the more economic places than this dump.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that the stay in our hotel has not solved your expectations. We always work really hard to deliver the best service to our guests, and we appreciate of feedback that allows us to become better.

Since your stay, we have looked into fixing this inconvenience and we wolud love the chance to show you our improvements. Please contact us directly, and we´ll do our best to make you enjoy a wonderful holidays.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked our holidays last minute and stayed for 5 nights 4 days,which felt just right!
ICouldn't fault the place, on arrival your met by a beautiful reception with huge crystal chandelier and marble flooring.
Staff were all friendly and helpful,especially our waiter.
The buffet was brilliant, lots of healthy options.
The spa was spot on,not too pricey spa treatments (when compared to UK) the saunas were brilliant too, when you walked out you felt truly pampered.
Private beach speaks for itself!
The hotel was spotless, very clean, our room got cleaned everyday and you can have a change of towels everyday if you leave them in the bath.
only thing for improvement would proberly be to do up the actual hotel rooms a bit, but that saying they were perfect size and had everything you needed flat screen tv, minibar, balcony with table and chairs etc

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a relaxing stay, right on the beach. The taxies were cheap too, not far from the hustle and bustle of magalluf, and the lovely porta nous, and porta potals I think iv got that right. If you wanted somewhere chic and trendy to go for a cocktail and a nice restaurant, I would definitely recommend these amazing harbors but very expensive, a real treat. If you want night life, clubbing, cheap drinks and loads of offers go to magalluf id recommend BCM square and BCM nightclub but dont go out untill 12 or 1 as thats when the place comes alive!

Son caliu will definitely see our faces again!

Marianna and Olivia

xXx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariann-abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment, it is a real pleasure to read that you appreciate our hotel and our staff, we always try to do our best in order to achieve your complete satisfaction.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis exceeded my own expectation. I have just returned from a 3 night stay over the UK August Bank Holiday and would recommend this place to anyone visiting this fantastic island.

The facilities were amazing with a different types of Saunas, a beautifully prepared buffet breakfast, amazing bar/pool outdoor area and it's very own private beach. All of these facilities complemented the holiday we were after - Sun in the fun with plenty of poolside relaxation.

This place is a must for all of those wanting a chance to unwind from the busy 9 to 5. I had a late flight on the Monday evening (10pm) and with the 12pm check-out wanted to continue to enjoy the great BBQ and poolside facilities. The staff were very accommodating and provided a room to shower in just before our flight - this was a stand out!

Recommend for all!

Jay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, Director Comercial at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your opinion about our hotel and also thank you for your nice comments about our Staff.
We would be very glad to welcome you again in Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks. Staff were excellent, top class. Considering its in Palma Nova the hotel is very quiet and relaxing with great pool, private beach and nice Spa. Felt very comfortable and secure and welcome. Stayed as b&b, this allowed us to sample the local restaurants, but if you want complete relaxation full board looked very nice. Would go back again. Wifi in hotel is great, although weak signal in our room on 4th floor.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank RedRyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear guest,

How wonderful to know that you enjoyed your time in Mallorca and that we were able to help make that happen.
Thank you for taking time to write a review and sharing your experiences with other travelers.
Please let us know next time you are planing to visit our island, will be a pleasure for us to attend you again.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have just got back from a 5 night break at this hotel with my 19 and 16 year olds. I stayed in Port Andratx in June with my husband at a 4* hotel which was excellent and, after reading the reviews for this hotel I thought I had made an excellent choice - ummmm?. On arrival, there was nowhere to park near the hotel and so had to walk some distance with all our luggage. Our room wasn't ready and the reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful verging on rude. No information about pool towels or safe keys meant 2 trips down to reception once we got into our room! Why do hotels recommend you use the safes and won't take responsibility for theft and then charge you E2.5 per day for the privilege!!!!! We were on the 3rd floor next to the lift and had a lovely view of the apartment block next to us!!!! The room was small, very basic and in need of redecoration. The beds were OK. Airconditioning poor. Breakfast was adequate, really a continental breakfast with the addition of eggs and bacon. Lots of trips back to the breakfast bars as you had to collect everything yourself, even coffee and tea pots. A further visit to reception in the evening as we thought the hairdryer was broken - told by one of the few nice reception staff that there was a safety switch at the back of the hairdryer - speak to the younger male staff they are more helpful! The pool was nice, but the sunbeds were mainly fixed beds, none of the matresses that were present at our hotel in Andratx. Get up early if you want a bed with an adjustable back. Nice trees around the pool area for shade, which was good as there weren't many parasols. Nice beach and nice beach bar with very friendly staff - not connected to the hotel!! Had a late flight home and so booked the spare room that the hotel keeps for a shower, was extremely surprised to find the airconditioning in this room was far better than ours, the room had nice decor and there was a better shower (even though the water temperature altered suddenly from freezing to scalding) also a shaving/makeup mirror which we hadn't had and which would have been useful. I didn't complain to the staff, owing to the length of time we were staying at the hotel and actually, if I had, I really don't think that I would have got anywhere, particularly as we had overheard a conversation between 2 families where there were 2 adults and 2 children who had been put in a single room and the hotel wouldn't move them! When we left one of the nicer reception staff said goodbye and see you next year - I really don't think so, but I would visit that area again as Puerto Portals is fab. I cannot understand how 2 hotels, some 20 minutes apart hold the same * rating but can be so different.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gillian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us your opinion about our hotel.
We are very sorry to read that you did not find our hotel up to standards in a few aspects, the hotel was totally full and the check-in time is at 2.00pm, we are sorry to hear that our recption staff were unfriendly, usually we have good comments about our staff, however, we will let it know to the management. We apologize to you for the inconvenience caused. Anyway, we would be delighted if you give us a chance to offer you a nice and unforgettable stay in Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly, will be a pleasure for us to offer you a competitive rate for your next visit.

Kind regards,
Son Caliu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Ponent Mar
Apartotel Ponent Mar
#1 of 1 in Son Caliu
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 181 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
1.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 29 in Magaluf
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area; just 12 km from the city centre of Palma de Mallorca and 25 km from the airport. Our main virtue is the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing