We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend it:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Son Caliu Hotel and Spa

These are random notes jotted down throughout a one week stay in late September.

A quick summary - Overall a good experience and would definitely return.

A longer summary -
Positive aspects:
Public areas well maintained, comfortable and attractive.
Most of the staff encountered were very professional and friendly. We arrived at 8pm and had a prompt and efficient check in. Reception staff exceptionally good and most spoke good English (I wish my Spanish was half as good). One unforgivable action in the breakfast room - one of the staff changing tablecloths sneezed into her hands then just carried on changing the cloths and using her hands to spread the cloths and remove wrinkles.
Food - breakfast generally quite good (did not live up to the hype generated by previous reviews but nevertheless a positive experience). We were not once checked at breakfast to confirm our eligibility as guests to be there. Whilst this gave a sense of freedom it also made us wonder if some of our fellow eaters had just wandered in off the street and found they were onto a free breakfast! We did not try other meals in the hotel so cannot fairly comment except to suggest that the puddings that are displayed in the bar area did not appeal to us.
Clientele : we only saw a couple of pre school age children, otherwise it was all adults ranging from 20's to 80 years. Plus one dog! I guess the mode would be around 40 to 60 years old.
Check out: our flight was in the evening and as check out was 11am we had to vacate our apartment then. Reception are very good with this situation and have a safe room to store cases. They also allow use of a room for changing or a shower etc. for 20 minutes or so before finally leaving.
Spa pool – approximately 16 metres by 8 metres. We only encountered a few other people so it did not feel crowded. Superb water sprays to massage the back:) there is a private garden area accessed only through the spa pool area - very pleasant for unwinding on one of the plentiful loungers. The whole spa area is very calming and well thought out.
The outside pool - not Olympic size but completely adequate especially with the beach and sea just through the gate:) Here we observed the usual pattern of towels and books being left on the sun loungers by this pool with no matching human in sight. This was really unnecessary as there were more than enough available for all.
Accommodation:- we chose to stay in an apartment and were given one on the first floor of the apartment block. As others have stated this is a few minutes walk from the hotel via the road in front of the hotel or via the small beach alongside the hotel. We were fortunate that it did not rain during our stay, if it had we could have got a bit wet:) we felt it a good choice as it gave a sense of independence whilst at the same time having the advantages of room cleaning from the hotel staff. The apartment was spacious, especially for the two of us. It had clearly been well used as there were numerous dents in the walls and doors, possibly left by less than careful guests. That said, the cleaning standards were good so it was no real problem. The cover of the settee/third bed though was clearly due for a serious launder. There is a lovely view of the sea and beach from the very private and good sized veranda. As previous reviewers have stated, there is a reasonably well stocked food supermarket 5mins away on the main road and with the good sized refrigerator in the kitchen was really useful. The kitchen also had a microwave, a two ring electric hob (solid disc type), a toaster, a few pots and pans plus cutlery for 4 people. It is worth bringing washing up liquid and tea towel/washing up cloth/scourer as these are not provided. A draining towel is provided. There is an extract fan with light over the hob. Avoid touching the grease filter:) I made the mistake of trying to clean it with fairy liquid that turned out to be inadequate as a degreasant for this task.
There is a telephone in the room for contacting reception if needed.

We tried a few of the local restaurants chosen from recommendations found on Tripadvisor - should have taken these with a large pinch of salt....always risky to recommend anywhere to eat:) even the girl in the tourist office said their staff were not allowed to recommend anywhere (she did give us a comprehensive list of restaurants in the local area). We were not overly impressed with the food and the choice of food in any of the restaurants that we tried or observed. A case of "one man's meat etc.."


Small niggles
WiFi :- free to use in the reception area and probably the hotel rooms but not available in the apartments. There appears to be insufficient bandwidth for the number of users. From 1 mbs to 3.32mbs download speed was the best in the week we were there. It was also intermittent in availability and would regularly drop off.
Television. Whilst it did not bother us, some English speaking guests might want channels other than CNN. The other issue was the tv reception. It reminded us of 50 years ago holding an indoor aerial in different parts of the room to achieve a picture, the best we achieved was unwatchable. The television was an old CRT type with a small screen. Fortunately we had a radio so could keep up to date with the world news.
Noise in the apartment block:- we mainly encountered noisy neighbours on the Friday and Saturday nights. Otherwise the main noise was from the closure of the next apartment’s front door and from neighbours clip clopping down their passageway. We were usually awakened around 7am by noise from some collections outside. Apart from this there were no real noise issues, although this might change according to the types of guests at the time. There might be noise from the apartment above, the floors are all tiled and if moving chairs etc in the lounge it would be difficult to avoid making noise. Beds a bit hard for our taste but that is a personal preference.

South West Mallorca
1. Excursion to Soller (independently booked away from the hotel with 'World S Services') ..we opted for the coach, tram and train (half day) tour that we booked through the tour operator stall in PalmaNova. The bus arrived at the pick up point just a 5 minutes walk from the hotel, unfortunately it was 20 minutes late arriving, this, added to the 20 minutes we had to wait for a pick up in Palma meant that we were allowed 15 minutes to 'see' Port Soller before being bundled onto the tram to Soller town. Here we were given around 30 minutes to wander round and return to the train station. We met the guide who bundled us onto the train. For some unknown reason, the train split and part stayed behind and the part that some of the group were on continued on to Palma town. When we got off the train in Palma we got to talking with some other people and all came to the conclusion that we had lost the rest of the group (including the guide). We gave up at that point and caught a bus back to the exact starting point at Son Caliu. If we wanted to do this trip again we would simply take the bus to Palma (less than €5 for two people, a very comfortable ride with less stops than we had on the coach!). The return trip to Soller and Soller Port using the train and the tram (28€ each person) giving a total cost per person that matched that of 'World S Services' of 30€ and more control over the journey. This would give enough time to properly explore the port of Soller as well as the city of Palma.

2. Walking - We like to walk for exercise. We got a local map from the tourist office in PalmaNova - very useful. It showed the walking trails that are alongside the main road. We used this as a starting point on a walk to Santa Ponca. Not much shade en route:( the 104 bus back from Santa Ponca goes along a more winding route than that from Palma to Son Caliu (same 104 bus) so not as pleasant.

Having now passed through PalmaNova and Magaluf we felt we had made the right choice of location at the quieter and more sedate Son Caliu.

There is a taxi rank 3 minutes walk from the hotel (by the bus stop into Palma) so if a prearranged taxi fails to turn up it is a useful fall back. Taxi prices are displayed on boards at taxi stands - useful:)

Room Tip: Sea view a must. If an apartment is chosen avoid the numbers 1001 to 1003 as these would have trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear JerseyEric,

Many thanks for writing such a detailed review about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis on Tripadvisor.

I am most happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our facilities and food.

We are always trying to do our best in order to achieve the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hotel is fantastic spotless in all areas the spa is great loved both the indoor pool and the outdoor one . Breakfast fab we were not in one of the refurbished rooms but it was very nice could have done with a bigger balcony we were in room 118 very quiet which was good . The area is very good wish we had known about the back gate to the right of reception up the steps up and over the hill into Palma Nova takes 5min exactly only found out on the last day. The Pizza place just along from the hotel is great the bar opposite is nice for a nightcap you can sit and watch the locals argue over a game of dominos. We had very good meals at the resort also could not fault it we would go back the location is great it is about a 20min walk to Portals which is amazing very expensive but worth the walk . If you decide to use the bus it is 2min walk outside the chemest takes you straight to Palma 2 euros. There is a huge supermarket across the road and a few shops if you go to the other side of the supermarket . All round a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear ScottishLinda,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you have spent a great time at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

I am most happy to know that you liked our facilities, food and our great location in Palmanova.

Once again, thank you for your comment and don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit to the island.

Kindest regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay, myself and my husband had a brilliant time. So relaxing, beautiful views and incredible staff. Cannot wait to come again
The hotel is beautiful, the cocktails are yummy. The beach is so romantic cannot recommend enough

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embubble81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear embubble81,

Thank you for posting and sharing your review with all Tripadvisor travellers.

I am delighted to read that we have met your expectations and thank you for your kind words about our staff.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel and spa was perfect for our long weekend away.The staff were so helpful and courteous, the rooms clean and the facilities excellent. The pool plus the private beach made the outdoor space ideal for lazy days. Only a 10 minute walk away from magaluf too -so far enough to avoid the madness but equally a hop, skip and a jump if you fancied a fun night out

Room Tip: 4th Floor rooms have been refurbished recently and are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Yvonne P,

Many thanks for taking the time in writing your opinion about our hotel.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

I would like to thank you for your comment about our staff, we always try to do our best in order to achieve the complete satisfaction of our customers.

Please, don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit to the island.

Kindest regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was my 3rd return to this hotel which has now turned into an annual September break visit. My 3 night stay here was extremely pleasing, which the professional and courteous staff at reception always happy to greet there guesst, and speak good English.
This hotel has a grand ambience with the sand marble floors and very European feel. The pool area and decking area is always well maintained and presented and to be honest what I love about this place and embarrassed to admit is the lack of loud Brits. The guest are a variance of European nations which I felt this year to appreciate even more.
Although a family hotel no kids running around where observed having being a "gentlemans" break was quite nice. Small bar and eatery just down by the small rocky beach which is nice and where you can chat away in a private area with no passing pedestrian traffic.

The hotel has a fabulous Spa centre with a large relaxing pool, sauna, steam rooms and gym which fabulous ,well present and kitted out. The ladies would very much appreciate this part of the hotel , and us 3 English 40 odds lads certainly took advantage of the relaxing detox every day on our stay. (Palma beers seemed to go down quicker here !)

The hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk into to Palma Nova which has a more lively atmosphere with very nice restaurants and karaoke venues.! ( go on, give them a go, funny). September is a very pleasant time to visit Palma and the Son Caliu and the weather was very hot where the beach being not so crowded. I travelled from 9th September and it was hot and relaxing.

I would very much recommend the Son Caliu Spa Hotel , and a 3rd year running hopefully shows my enjoyment and total experience at the Son Caliu. And yes...I will probably be returning again for my 3 day September break. One of my pal's who travelled with me , and who initially arranged our trip has stayed 3 times this year and had taken his 3 children there( teenagers), so for any families looking at this, the Son Caliu would be more than a great choice.

Hope this has helped in any decisions on your selection on where and why choosing the Son Caliu.
Enjoy your stay..... May see you there probably in the Spa.
Regards
Danny783

Room Tip: The apt are slightly larger and far better for a self catering experience. I have had a hotel room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Danny783,

Many thanks for writing such a detailed review about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

It is fantastic that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will have many happy memories about your trip to Mallorca. Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the team and service.

We hope to welcoming you back in your future trip to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,

E-commerce
Juan Font

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have been here three times now and it really is a great hotel in a wonderful location.
Very clean & well maintained hotel with great staff and facilities.
The rooms on the upper floor have been refurbished to an excellent standard.
great garden terrace for eating breakfast looking out over small bay into the sea.
Hotel has sun loungers on the small mainly private beach with boardwalk out into the sea.
Couple of nice beach bars offering great food & drinks.
It is a ten minute walk to Palmanova for a busier type of night life.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have been refurbished but I believe are more expensive. Avoid rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 304John304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear 304John304,

Many thanks for spending a few minutes of your time in writing such a great review about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

I am delighted to read that the hotel have met with your expectations and I am happy to know that you liked our facilities, food and rooms.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you are happy with our staff, don't hesitate that I will let it know them.

We hope to welcome you soon again and please don't hesitate to contact us for your next visit to the island.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel has the best outside area we have ever seen. It is so attractive and has lots of areas you can shade from the sun. The beach is really lovely and worth a visit. The hotel is really clean and staff always willing to help. My only complaint {not really a complaint) When we arrived and ready for a shower there were only two towels in our room even though there were three adults booked. However when we rung down the extra towels arrived quickly. The only other complaint is house keeping not replacing shower jel in the rooms on a daily basis. These are minor faults, this hotel is worth a visit. The breakfast is really good. We will return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Fishers2,

Many thanks for writing your opinion about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis on Tripadvisor.

I am most happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our staff.

I would like to apologise if you did not find new jel in the room every morning, usually the housekeeping replaces new amenities every day.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Ponent Mar
Apartotel Ponent Mar
#1 of 1 in Son Caliu
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 181 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
1.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 29 in Magaluf
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area; just 12 km from the city centre of Palma de Mallorca and 25 km from the airport. Our main virtue is the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing