We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Other reviews are negative, hotel isn't that bad and rooms are refurbed nicely'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Other reviews are negative, hotel isn't that bad and rooms are refurbed nicely'”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A lengthy review but hope this helps others who have or are considering booking this hotel….

After booking this hotel ‘Ibersol Sol Caliu Mar’, as a last minute getaway with ‘Travel Republic’, we were concerned with all the current reviews on trip advisor. Especially as the hotel is 39 out of 39!! This review is for 20th – 27th July 2012, all inclusive. After doing some research this hotel was previously called the Vora Nova, and shut for a year before Ibersol took over and started to refurb it at the start of 2012. My overall opinion is it’s definitely not a 4 star at the moment but has the potential to be so 3 star max. Also if you’re reading this and comparing with the Sol Caliu SPA hotel, ‘number 3 out of 39’, please check with your travel agent that you have booked the correct hotel. If you have booked Sol Caliu SPA, make sure you will be stopping at the SPA and NOT the Ibersol Sol Caliu MAR as you will be disappointed! (It appears to be a regular mistake with booking operators)


Arrived to a contemporary reception area, staff speaking a little English, went to the room, which thankfully was a refurbished one, nice laminate floor, fridge, hairdryer, shaving socket, brand new bathroom, brand new patio furniture (no clothes airer). Bracket on wall for TV, 28” flat screen arrived 3 days into the holiday, French channels only, with bbc world news. Room clean and freshly painted, air conditioning included, no extra charge. Safe in wardrobe, 5 euros for the duration of holiday. 30 euros for keeping the room on if you have a late check out.

The wrist bands are RED for France, GREEN for all the other nationalities!! It’s a hotel for French holiday makers, spot the green bands. We thought it might me to do with all inclusive or half board, but there wasn’t any sign of different eating/drinking times, so I think you may be onto a winner if you just book half board.

After reading how ignorant and arrogant the French waiter/chefs were, I brushed up on my little known French, proceeded to the eating area and ‘Bonjour monsieur’ got a welcomed reception! The chef and ‘buffet/canteen’ manager both spoke with us and we were pleasantly surprised by both their attitudes. I have an intolerance to wheat/gluten and I was guided by the head chef ( the thin French chef who’s usually cooking at the large paella dish) and after using a bit of broken French, he guided me every day to what was safe to eat.

Having not stayed all inclusive before, I found it ok, with a fairly decent range of food, not burgers and pizzas every night. Wines or estrella lager, pepsi etc drinks. Throughout the day drinks are help yourself so no queueing, although worth noting, after midnight there is no water machine or tea coffee making facilities or any vending machine to get a drink from! So remember to take drinks from the day to your room fridge.

If you have a room overlooking the pool, and want to chill in your room, no chance, the pool area is lively and French dj and kids shouting…. If you can get a third floor room with a non facing pool view, it is much much quieter although your view could be literally a tree, one that almost covers the balcony! Someone who has previously described this hotel as a French butlins circus, isn’t wrong. The hotel has a Lookea club for the French and their kids entertainment is the Looky club. If you want a more relaxed sunbathing area head out the back to the ‘garden’ which has fake grass and lovely pagoda type wooden frames with curtains around, very different,lots of sunbeds available and 2 days before leaving, cushions appeared too! Also there were no 18-30 antics or ages, most holiday makers were families and couples.

The hotel is 10 – 15 mins walk to the beach, 2 sunbeds and a parasol 13.50 euros, opposite the Aqua Beach hotel. There is a shuttle minibus from the hotel that runs regularly but didn’t use it and not sure which beach it goes to. There are no sea views from the hotel. The hotel is situated at the end of palma nova front but lies back in an area you would never stumble across.

From the hotel 35 mins walk to magaluf, loud n lively, lots of bars and shops along the way, approx 5 euros in taxi. English drinks available at good prices, 3euro for magners, 1.80euro for local lagers (approx prices along the palma nova front) Stadium Karaoke bar (opposite Aqua Beach hotel), Excellent for tribute bands, drink prices a little more expensive, but beats the French entertainment and small choice of alcoholic all inclusive drinks back at the hotel.

Or 30 mins walk to Portal Nous, very upmarket and expensive! Taxi approx 6 euros. 2 glasses of wine 16 euro!

Overall this hotel is ok, around the pool area the hotel is a bit ugly looking but it’s not the worst place to stop but definitely not the best, more improvements are needed. Would I recommend it, no, would I stay here again, no.

Room Tip: Third floor non pool facing rooms are quieter, pool facing rooms will almost always be loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    480
    264
    116
    90
See reviews for
461
407
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel 10th - 17th July. This hotel should be advertised as 18-30's, the noise was wild and the antics I will say the least. We where afraid to sit out on our balcony as we overlooked the back of the hotel, we where on floor two and chairs, glass bottles, shoes, clothes anything you name it was being thrown over the balconies, plus believe it or not people URINATING, unbelieveable. Young one's banging on peoples doors in the morning about 6am on their return from clubs, plus lying at the pool once they come home from a night out then coming in for breakfast, absolute joke. The lifts where wild always breaking down and when they did work it was a bumpy ride, plus the doors closed whilst you where only half in it. The noise matter was reported to reception and nothing done about this. . Some people have no consideration for others. Also we went half board, food WAS THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER. I will never be back at this hotel and I would not recommened this to anyone at all,,,,,, THE RESTAURANT DIRECTOR A FRENCH GUY WAS AN ABSOLUTE USELESS,,, HE SHOULD KNOW HOW TO TALK TO THE CUSTOMERS AS WE ARE THE ONES WHO PAIE,HE IS ARROGANT AS IT WAS SAID IN ONE PREVIOUS COMMENT,, WE COULD NOT UNDERSTAND HOW CAN HE BE A RESTAURANT DIRECTOR WITH NO NOTIONS OF ENGLISH ? SAME THING GOES FOR THE RESTAURANT STAFF COULD SPEAK A GOOD ENGLISH, as we asked about the foods and they all were useless

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ingrid284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband,6 year old son and I booked with On the Beach.com for 2 weeks at the Son Caliu Spa Oasis, 48 hours before we were due to leave, we received an email marked urgent, asking us to get in touch.  We contacted them straight away which proved difficult as they didn't answer and we were on hold for around 40 minutes, (caller number 1 in the queue).

When we eventually got through they told us we couldn't go there as there were contractural changes and suggested a suitable alternative , also a 4 star spa hotel, the Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Beach Club.

We were bitterly disappointed as on checking trip advisor instead of being number 3 on the list of hotels in palmanova it was last!!  Due to the lateness of the change we didn't have a lot of choice either 3 star sol Mirlos or 4 star Son Caliu Mar in Palmanova. We decided to take their advice and went for the latter.

We arrived early in the day at 11.30am checked in but couldn't get our room until 3pm , which is fair enough, however over the next few days we noticed they had double standards.  If you were French and part of a holiday group called Club Lookea you can get anything you want.  They didn't have to wait for their rooms and everything revolves around the club.  They even had different coloured wrist bands to distinguish themselves from everyone else.

It would be better if the hotel made themselves entirely club Lookea instead of what they currently have. 97% French with 3% other Europeans.

If you are looking for a French version of Club 18-30/
 Butlins then this hotel is for you.  The staff at the hotel are very polite but unfortunately the clientele are low class and ignorant.

The behaviour of the club Lookea reps is abhorrent.  They are not role models for young people in fact they encourage bad behaviour.  Throwing pool furniture, throwing people in the pool, climbing over verandas and walloping each other with water woggles are the norm. Which many of the children have now started participating in and our son of 6 (who cannot swim properly yet) was thrown in the pool by an older French boy who wanted his lilo.  

The hotel itself is not that bad, it is close to the beach, 10 minutes walking, the rooms are basic but clean, the hotel rep Martha is very good, but she doesn't get the respect she deserves from the Lookea Reps, and the food is ok.

There are lots of improvements that could be made. The gym is well equipped but unsupervised ( children using the techno gym machines), the pool area is never hosed down or cleaned properly, plastic plates are not provided so people take crockery plates to the pool area.

The guests are not supposed to take glasses or plates out to the pool but everyone does.  The hotel  is not enforcing their rules. 

When misdemeanours are made the hotel staff are very polite and apologetic but do nothing to rectify the problems.  There are serious issues here.

Would we come back? NO, would I recommend? NO, not currently.  Is it worth the money? NO.  Would I have rather stayed at home and poked my eyes out (melodramatic)? YES.

One last point is after speaking with a few other British families, they all seemed to have had the same booking problem as us and were going to the Son Caliu Spa Oasis only to be told last minute or when they got there that their reservation was at the Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, we are not sure what is going on or what's happened, but there is no smoke without fire and something is definitely amiss... So beware if booking.

There are so many more things I could have said.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Went for a week all inclusive and would first like to say that i will not be back,
where shall i start.

Hotel basic ( but you get what you pay for)hot food dreadful ,breakfast good for first 3 days then cold and chips added to menu for breakfast ,great if you like pizza for tea everyday , salad bar good selection as was the sweet,

Rooms very basic ( not even a bottle or tin opener in draw)
bed not bad but another family who where with us said bed was like sleeping on a rock.
biggest complaint was the noise as this hotel .

Staff friendly and helpful except the french head waiter who was so full of crap , we asked him something about the wines and he was soooooo clueless and useless , how can they contract a restaurant supersivor who does not even speak english?? I can say that this is how things goes in spain.

Overall if you want an expensive holiday with no sleep then Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club palmanova is for you , i would say go to palma nova but please pick another hotel

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I went with my wife and 2 kids to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu & Beach Club, and we were so desapointed to see the ARROGANT ATTITUDE of the French head waiter.... we wondered HOW COME THEY COULD HIRE SUCH ARROGANT PERSON???

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Firstly thank you for your trust and for your words, which enable us to improve day by day.

We noted and this sure will follow up with the relevant departments to strengthen our service quality and thus make you feel at home.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from the refurbished hotel. Excellent refurbished rooms. Excellent food. The restaurant is large and at busy times hectic. Great large swimming pool which opens early if anyone wants a morning swim. Overall we enjoyed our stay. However the hotel is spoilt by the very loud boom boom music at certain times of the day. The music is played around the pool and most of the rooms are around the pool so when it is loud there is no chance of relaxing in your room. There is a garden area which is quiet so you do not have to sit and listen to the loud music around the pool. We will stay here again but will ask for a room away from the pool so we are away from the music. I feel the hotel management have to deal with the very loud music otherwise it will loose them business which would be a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you want a restful holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned from this Hotel 8/7/12 for 1 week and it ranks as one of the worse holidays we have ever experienced.

We booked all inclusive with Ola holidays to celbrate our Ruby Wedding but they sold us down the river. All the travel documents detailed a hotel called "Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis" a fantastic 4 star hotel right on the beach. However when we arrived at around midnight the hotel had no booking for us suggesting we go to a nearby hotel called the "Son Ibesol Caliu Hotel Mar". Upon arriving there we discovered it was this hotel that was booked instead. The hotel night porter checked us in providing us with a room that was not ready for habitation. We were given another room located in a part of the Hotel that clearly was not finished. This room was ready for occupation but after having problems with the air condioning we could not sleep due to a strong smell of seawage. The following day we changed rooms again after I insisted on changing.

On our documents was also a request for a sea view however we were informed this hotel had no sea views. Telephone calls and emails were sent to Ola Holidays but they did nothing to help us resolve our nightmare of a holiday. At the hotel there was no telephone service in any of the rooms no internet connectivity and no Wi Fi. The sauna and indoor pool was not ready as work was still underway. The Hotel clientel was mainly french people and the gripe I have here is that all the French people got red all inclusive wrist bands withe everyone else getting a green band. The red band allowed certian extras a group of us Brtis thought was totally unacceptable.

The food was 3 star standard and repetative and was certianly not 4 star standard. We will never go back to this hotel and never book via Ola again. I have written to Ola demanding the full return of our monies and requested an offer of compensation for spoiling such a precious moment of time such as a Ruby Wedding celabration. I expect to hear nothing from Ola so will obtain the Court papers for issuing a claim in the small claims court and file this within the next 14 days claiming damages and compensation..

Room Tip: Rooms on the groundfloor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steveandanne369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#13 of 39 in Palmanova
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Property: Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Address: Calle Voranova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing