We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont confuse with son caliu hotel palma nova”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont confuse with son caliu hotel palma nova”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the Ibersol Son Caliu Mar hotel Palma Nova not to be confused with the Son Caliu Hotel Palma Nova - I was rushed into booking this by teletext holidays - why would you have hotels next to each other with almost the same name?
The best advice I can give is that this is a great hotel if you are French - they made them feel very special from the moment they arrived to waving them off on the coach. BUT you will not get the same treatment if you are not in their red band club - simple fact - and that is why I would not return here. I guess people would say not to go abroad if you do not expect to bump into the odd foreigner, but I am only advising that most Brits would probably have a better time elsewhere. The purpose of this review is not to slate the hotel or the French, just to warn Brits that the hotel will be dominated by France, and all entertainment and songs./ shows / games will be very difficult for you to understand.
I didnt catch the name of the girl on reception, but she was great, really helpful - but there were too few of the good people around to get good information from.
Food was average / not quite enough sunbeds / all drink finished at 11:30 - earlier if they could get away with packing up earlier -- and then we couldnt even buy drink anywhere in the hotel at about 12:30am.
bar staff were friendly apart from once when somebody blatantly pushed in and he served them first , even when I argued the point - he just said be "happy, your on holiday"
you definately can get feeling that without the red band, you are not so welcome to join in, but possibly its only normal that as the animation team's English is so limited, they try to have fun with people they can converse with easily
Me and my two teenage sons joined in with all the sports we could, and by the end of the holiday the animation team actually stopped brushing past us, and started to invite us in.
We asked for a sea view, and ended up with a view of the air conditioning unit at the back of the hotel and dogs barking - tip there is no sea view (that was the other hotel).
It's a ten min walk to a lovely beach, 20 mins - centre of Palma Nova and another 20 to Torre Nova and Magalluf - or taxi only 6 euros - very good
Pool towels were given out for 10 euros deposit each - but you had to keep the same one all week. Hotel room towels were pretty gruby and thin - poor quality - not 4* surely
Finally - having for the first holiday in years not actually made any friends to wave us off, we slipped quietly out of the hotel - so quietly that the receptionist (guy) didnt even realise that I had said goodbye and the four of us were waiting at the pick up point that the hotel had told us for the shuttle pick up for 40 mins. THe shuttle bus did not come and so I went back to the hotel, the receptionist said that the shuttle driver had come to reception (not the pick up point that the hotel told us to wait at) - but reception were unaware we were out there waiting in front of their hotel - and that we had been back and forward into their day room asking for the key for the past 2 hours - just think he would have taken a bit more notice if we had the magic red band - so I had to pay out another 40 euros to get to the airport - and he would not take any responsibiity for telling us to wait in the wrong place - aur revoir

Room Tip: dont ask for sea view -- there is no sea view - its a 10 min walk to the sea - speak in french and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrstuartmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    454
    237
    107
    85
See reviews for
426
382
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel on July 24/07/14 - 07/08/2014. This hotel was advertised as 4*.
Upon arrival the hotel reception looked clean and reception staff were helpful. We were told our room (2 adults 2 children) was not ready until 3pm but the staff contacted the cleaning staff who prepared our room and we got to our room before 3pm. We were also able to get good and drink immediately (arrived at 13.30).
When we got to our room we noticed only 2 beds and a sofa made up, the cleaner soon addressed this and brought in a trundle bed. The room, bathroom and balcony was clean and had air conditioning (not the best but cooled the room a little). TV only had 1 English Channel and that was News.
When we went to the pool area the main pool was very busy, there were lots of entertainment staff around but no-one seem to acknowledge us.
We then found the elephant pool at the rear of the hotel, quieter pool with children's area and swimming area, we felt more comfortable at this pool.
After an hour we realised that English speaking guests were definitely in the minority and the majority of guests were French followed by Dutch/Italians and Germans.
All the entertainment and Activity's seemed to be for the purpose of the French travelling with 'lookea'. Children and Teenager clubs were in French and rarely was a young person from the UK seen to be involved.
The first person to welcome us other than reception staff was the Photographer Antonio and this was a few days into our stay.
On an evening it would be true to say we felt like outcasts, the entertainment was French and the compare was also French. We entertained ourselves by playing pool and we went out every evening into Palma Nova.
The food seemed Mallorcan and their was only one restaurant for all-inclusive guests. However, another restaurant was situated on the first floor if you wanted to pay extra. My children found little to eat and the times that we ate in either lunch/evening they had pasta and chips.
The second week of our stay we hardly ate in the dining area and we chose to eat out.
As I mentioned earlier this hotel was advertised as 4* yet there were no free ice-cream/ice lollies available for the children by the pool, there was only 1 bar outside of the dining area for all guests hence cues for spirits. Soft drinks, lager, Sangria and hot drinks were self service and there were rarely cues for these drinks.
Overall, we had an OK holiday because we entertained ourselves and we travelled with friends. If our friends hadn't been with us I think we would have felt invisible.
Our room was quickly cleaned daily and beds were made, the sheets were changed once during our stay. The towels were a bit disappointing as they were often small towels only once did we receive bath towels. (Towels are only changed if placed in bath).
Whilst we didn't use the gym we checked it out and it seemed well equipped, there was also a Sauna and indoor pool which we didn't use.
Our family has been holidaying in Majorca yearly (sometimes x2 a year) staying in many different resorts in 4* hotels but we did feel this one wouldn't be in our favourite lists mainly due to being the minority and not being acknowledged or involved.
We were also disappointed with the wi-fi as it was rare to find it working and only seemed to work in reception area when it did.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here in April and the hotel had only just reopened for the season. Lovely hotel in a good location - just a short walk to the beach and shops. Our room was lovely and clean. We had a balcony which overlooked the road but we didn't mind as it was a fairly quiet area. The rooms overlooking the pool would have probably been too noisy for us. We also heard some guest complaining about rooms on the the ground floor next to the entertainment area.

On our arrival there had been a power cut and we had to stay in a different hotel for the night. The staff were very apologetic but expected us to walk with our suitcases after a long day of travelling, not knowing where to go. Eventually they did provide a taxi but we were left in a self catering hotel when we had paid for all inclusive. Our rooms were finally ready the following afternoon - after the check out time and we were dubious about the power cut.

The food was ok, however the dining area was incredibly busy! It was quite frustrating to spend most of the time in there queuing, only to find everything had gone and you had to wait again! We ate out a few times to avoid the hustle and bustle! Soft drinks, lager and coffee were available as self service and snacks were available during the day. This was bread, cheese, ham and a small selection of pastries.

The pool area was lovely, with a smaller pool available for children and an indoor pool. Plenty of seating and we managed to find sun loungers when we wanted them. The outdoor bar is quite small so got quite busy.

We didn't really see any entertainment - the hotel has lots of French guests and the daytime entertainment is aimed for them. There seemed to be a good kids club though as we saw lots of children in the restaurant and taking part in different activities everyday! There is a small bar on the ground floor but against this was very busy and it didn't have much seating. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but there was no entertainment in the outside area later in the evening, which was a shame, as this had the most seating!

All in all, we enjoyed our holiday and would be happy to return here!

Room Tip: Rooms facings the pool/entertainment area might be noisier during peak season time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor I have my doubts wether I will read them again.
My family & I are just back from this hotel, we found the staff very friendly. We arrived in the early hours & the staff had food ready for our arrival.
We all had blue bands but never felt any different from any of the other guests, the staff throughout the day always tried to include us in all the activites.
The rooms & towels were cleaned daily, large tv on the wall & leather sofa & single seat in the room, with great view of the pool area.
There are 3 pools with 1 of them indoors. The main pool area is quite lively but if you want a bit of R&R go to the elephant pool area which has plenty of loungers & shaded areas (ideal for the younger children)
The food was some of the best I have had on a foreign holiday, served from 7am-9.30pm, plenty of choice for ALL diets even veggies.
Some of the comments I read said you need to be French to enjoy this hotel. Yes they do speak French but they also give instructions in German, Italian & English so we didn't have any problems understanding what was going on at any time night or day.
The evenings entertainment was simple, varied & enjoyable, the pool party being the main highlight, every other Thursday night from 10pm-12am great music & fun.

To finish of I would recommend this hotel for lots of reasons, but if you want to go on a FOREIGN holiday & not want to hear other languages this hotel is not for you, stay at home..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186470Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

hotel caters only for french guests ,bar staff and entertainment team all for french nothing in english so children could not join in with anything. Food is terrible worst all inclusive ive ever been to.Rooms dated not as shown on pictures shhets were never changed once dirty towels folded and were put back in the bathroom .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is good in everything else apart from entertainment by staff and the way other guests treat you. All French had red bands and every other part of the world had blue, this indicated to the staff to basically avoid everyone with a blue band. Guests with French bands treat the blue banded guests horrible, e.g. Blatantly laughing at us and stealing blue band peoples sunbeds. Walking passed staff they would ignore you! They even had a night purely for the French where everyone else was segregated. If you're not interested in entertainment then it is a good hotel but even speaking to other English we agreed we felt not wanted and left out and didn't want to join in games 1. Because we didn't understand what to do because it was French and 2. We didn't feel wanted. So basically if you're not French don't go!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubywaterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good location near the beach that is really lovely.
The hotel is basic and the room we were given had no view ( we did ask for sea view )
The entertainment is in french and is realllly loud and on most nights finished around 11pm. If you want a chill out holiday this isn't the hotel for you.
Overall good for the beach

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#14 of 39 in Palmanova
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Property: Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Address: Calle Voranova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing