We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always return to our home in the Cala Blanca.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Beach House Mallorca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always return to our home in the Cala Blanca.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had a ten night holiday, ending on 1st June 2011. Hotel pool area was being refurbished and looked wonderful when it was finished, with very little disruption to the guests. There is also a new jaccuzi style bubble bath where the children's pool was. The Hotel was superb as usual, although I think it is time for the Lounge to be refurbished now. Dining room, we ate out every meal on the Terrace and the service was excellent, until our final night when the new Head Waiter was very rude to us. For the time of year we had superb weather and spent most of our time on the beach and in the sea. The Staff are very professional in the Cala Blanca and that goes a long way to giving guests a good holiday. I have been going to this Hotel for MANY years and will be returning in October. Well done once again the Cala Blanca Sol Hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: Contact Hotel with needs they will do best to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 187069Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    355
    123
    36
    12
See reviews for
158
584
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Sol Cala Blanca. This hotel has a prime spot on the beach and is lovely and quiet now that it an Adults only hotel. We had rooms facing the street but only heard a few voices raised during the night. We did have a very noisy air conditioning unit, so much so, that we couldn't sleep with it on. I would have asked to be moved but wanted to be next door to the rest of the family. The food was ok and there would have been no need to go hungry but not what I would have called 4 star in fact this hotel probably only deserves a good 3 star but don't be put off with this if you have had a good deal. The hotel is quite old and probably needs a refurbishment although everywhere clean. If you are someone who likes to lie around the pool there is absolutely no chance of getting a sun lounger as it is a very small area and not enough sun loungers to go round anyway. Also the pool area loses the sun later on after lunch as the sun goes behind the hotel. It seems it was the same people who had the prime spots every morning which I assume had booked their loungers since dawn. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but found the rest of the staff not so. We did have a good holiday as it was time away with family we hadn't holidayed with for a long time but probably won't return here.

Room Tip: book street view to get the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

we stayed in the sol cala blanca in October 2010, it is now adults only, but when we went it was ok for families. fantastic hotel, friendly staff, food lovely, beautiful views of the sea and beach from sea view rooms. Worth the extra money. Lovely furniture and comfortable beds

No faults at all !

bus stops really close to go everywhere on the island

had internet in the communal areas

sun bed area a bit small - but right next to the beach and there are plenty t here

shame its now adults only, as i thought i had found a hotel i would go back to again and again. but cant due to having a young child

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosieread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Overall this is a great place to relax and enjoy the mediteranean climate. The terrace looks out over the beach and the local is safe and friendly. Great staff and service. Recommend half board and sea view room. Easy going and relalxing environment.

Room Tip: sea view recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Just returned from a 4 night break at Sol Cala Blanca after a 7 night mediterrean cruise. Booked this hotel through the Sol Melia website, photos of the rooms looked beautiful, especially the rooms with the sea view, but were quite pricey. Thought I would chance my luck and just book a standard room, hoping that at this time of year when the hotel business is still fairly quiet that they might find it deep in their hearts to upgrade us to a sea view room (no chance!). What a disappointment, when we were shown to our room, the corridors along the way are a horrible brown colour (very drab) the bedroom itself yes, it barely resembled the photo of the one on their website which was obvisouly taken a few years ago!!). As the curtains are certainly not the bright fresh colours, more faded and sad looking. Our room was not one with a sea view just a balcony overlooking pubs and shops. I was so disappointed. I couldn't stand it I had to ask reception for a change of room (one with a sea view). These are extra I was told, obviously!! Agreed price and moved. It was like transfering to heaven (slight exageration!!) but definetly worth an extra £20.00 per night, the view is amazing, perfect for sitting out on your balcony people watching sipping a pre dinner/night cap drink and heavenly to wake up to in the morning. The hotel is definelty in need of a bit of renovation, the hall carpets were a bit threadbare and hand rails looking tatty , Chairs all sad worn. We had stayed at an Iberostar in Palma which was half the price of the Cala Blanca and it was far superior. You are paying for the sea view in my opinion and not much else. Don't think we will return here.
P.S. no ironing facilites either.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemadamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts, united kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Personally feel the hotel is a strong 3 star but is classified as a 4 star because it is in a brilliant location and has an indoor swimming pool. The food quality varies. Most nights it was average and more than adequate enough to put a meal together when considering what we paid. One night the food was excellent (we think local management was visiting...prawns, smoked salmon, sirloin steak the works!) and one night it was dreadful (everything was deep fried!!!). The waiters are great. The hotel is clean and tidy and you couldn't ask to be closer to the beach. The room sizes are excellent. We were staying with a toddler and the room could easily accomodate the extra 3ft bed still leaving plenty of space. Staff attitudes towards paying guests differ. Morales Jr was always helpful. However we also encountered two very rude members of staff. One when we checked in. He did not welcome us or even bother to say hello. He attempted to charge us more than the price stated on the confirmation we had with us. He then tried to tell us that we could not stay on the last night of our booking because it was when the hotel became adults only. Sol melia are trialling it here and we were travelling with a 2.5 year old. (We knew this when we booked 6 months ago and anticipating this had contacted head office and the hotel directly on numerous occasions and each time was assured because we were in residence that it would be ok). We then had to stand there in limbo whilst this 'kind gentleman' made a phone call to double check if we could stay! Not what you want to hear especially when having made the reservation so long ago and travelling with a young child. Hence it was resolved after a bit of a heated discussion - what a great welcome! The other rude member of staff was the life guard. Won't bore you will the details but just not the way you expect to be spoken to. What is wrong with a little manners I say :) The entertainment in the hotel is very low key but perfectly acceptable. There is enough going on locally if you want more excitement. To round off this is a good hotel in a great location. Food is ok. Most of the staff are friendly just a real shame that some have an attitude problem, which sadly are the ones you remember.

Room Tip: Lifts can be very unreliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just returned from a week in the sol cala blanca the hotel itself is in a good location and is keep very clean, we had our sheets changed 3 times in one week but the quaility of the food is poor, overall i would rate this hotel a 3 star it only has one restaurant with a very small buffet I would not like to see the queues in peek season,
just be aware if you book and pay extra for a sea view room these rooms only get the sun until 11am and the other rooms the rest of the day so if you like to sit in the sun on your balacony do not book a sea view room
overall we had an ok trip but would not stay here again but if you have already booked dont panic you will get thru the week ok the most decent meal we had the whole week was in a small restaurant called the hideaway it is up one of the arcades in the middle of palma nova

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine19-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
11.0 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Property: Sol Beach House Mallorca
Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing