We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-furbishment at the Cala Blanca.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have been staying at this Hotel for many years now. We have just had 13 days in a virtually new Hotel!! The Cala Blanca has needed some up-dating for a few years now as things were becoming quite dated and sad. Lo and Behold, when we arrived we were amazed to see that the lounge had been completely re-furbished to a very high standard. The lounge is now very pristine, clean lines with different sections having varied seating. It will take a little time to get used to this and I am sure that some of the regular elderly visitors will hate it on sight, but give it a chance! Liked the new set up around the pool area too. Staff still wonderful, Reception, Dining Room, Bars, Entertainment. We look forward to visiting again soon and anticipate the re-furbishment to the Restaurant eagerly. Well done to you all at the Cala Blanca.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the Entertainments lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 187069Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Sol Cala Blanca used to be fantastic , both my husband and myself went year after year for seven years , slowly started going down hill , they used to have champagne breakfast {cava} , shown to table , then asked if wanted tea or coffee on going into restaurant at breakfast that all stopped , but prices stayed the same , in fact if anything got more expensive, then because it`s gone adults only seems to be mostly elderly so now no atmosphere . Food not as varied either , shame to see it going this way , so please Sebastion get things sorted .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ann932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hi did write review yesterday but nothing on screen at moment The hotel was lacking in atmosphere and entertainment only piano a couple of times food nearly always cold or warm staff unhelpful did ask for seeveiw room and was told nothing registered but onmy inovice and also my husbands birthday and our anniversary when mentioned to reception they said nothing showing and tougth and get on with it. how bad was that. rooms very shabby and carpet onsgtairs filthy. no one seems to care what you had to say staff rude. It is a hotel for one step from heaven peoples or as previous review only for anyone over 80 and only 2 star rooms and service not recommended at all. stay clear if you want a good break and service

Room Tip: not 4 star as stated and only for those who do not like entertainment and drinks expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindagrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I too like one of the previous reviewers, decided to stay at this hotel from reading previous reviews and also the draw for me was that it was a 'adult only' hotel and the fact that it was on the beach! On checking in on the week of 13th May I was initially impressed with the front desk area....the place looked really modern and fresh but thats where it ended. The spiral staircase is unusual but had a badly worn carpet which has been on it a very long time....in fact the carpet in the hotel in general could have done with either a new one or at least a clean because it was filthy. On entering our room it was very clean. The only problem was that the air conditioning was not working and the room was like an oven as a result. On questioning this with the staff I was looked at as though i had two heads.....how could i possibly want air conditioning when it was so early in the season and last week they were all wearing jackets....bearing in mind that it was 27 0C the day we arrived. I was very annoyed at this reaction to my question and complained. The next day i approached a customer service staff member and instantly he said it would be turned on that day. I am presuming i was not the only person with breathing problems that evening.

We regrettably chose to stay on the half board option. The food was very poor and the whole layout of the restaurant was bad. Having to queue to make toast on 1 measily grill was rediculous....same with making tea and coffee.

This hotel needs a major revamp with new and fresh ideas because it is in a great location. Oh yeah and the staff could try to look a bit happier even if they aren't!!! I would not recommend this hotel unless you are over 80 and very unaware of anything!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rashtiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I would love to know who writes all of the positive reviews that have been written about this hotel. Based on the positivity of the reviews we recently stayed at this hotel and what a mistake it is to plan a hotel stay based on reviews by others. Hotel has a great location for beach and bars / restaurants but that's it. Dining room is like something from 1960's Butlin's, with very poor food selection available and what was available was cold and badly cooked. Hotel bar was empty all of the time. If you fancy a Butlin's type nursing home then this ones for you.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms do face the sea, but they loose the sun to their balcony's at noon. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sosol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just returned on Saturday 5th.May after a pleasant weeks stay in the Sol Cala Blanca Hotel in Palma Nova. Reception, Bar, and Pool areas have all been updated, however, room was bit tired, as was the main staircase and corridors.

Meals were fairly bland and not a great deal of choice, but hot enough, and well prepared. Service from staff was attentive, and friendly, except for the Bar Staff who gave the impression that they would serve you when it suited them. They were of the "old school" slow, surly, and "been there for years"!

One of the good things about this hotel is it's location. It's on the beach, is fairly quiet and civilized, and is at the far end of Palma Nova, near to Terra Nova and Magaluf. so, you can enjoy the mayhem of Magaluf then retire to the relative quiet of the hotel and enjoy some uninterrupted sleep.

I have stayed twice now at this hotel and would go back again for all the preceding reasons, however, I wouldn't rate it as four star.

Room Tip: If you want to sun bathe in the afternoon on your balcony, DO NOT pay the extra for the sea view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our last visit to the cala blanca was an enjoyable experience so fives years on thought we would visit again. The changes made to the reception/lounge/bar were clearly made to try and lift the hotel not the 21st century. If I was a room designer by trade I might say that these changes don't go with the rest of the hotel, however I'm not. It looks rather like they ran out of money after the ground floor had been finished. The outside dining area is pleasant, and the pool area is well kept. We enjoyed the food apart from one night when the battered cauliflower turned out to be frozen in the middle. I returned the offending items but wasn't offered an explanation in return. The food is certainly varied and hot so no other issues. Our room was on the back of the hotel overlooking the resort, which was by choice as we knew the sun would be on the back all afternoon. The room was dated, and wasn't helped by the paint peeling off the ceiling, however it was clean and the maids provided a good service.
The cala blanca is in a great position but Palma Nova is in decline, there seems to be an increase in down market establishments competing for customers " 2 pints for €2.10" was a common sign. On the subject of drinks the hotel was othe expensive side, and this was evidenced on Tuesday night with a live three piece jazz set, paying to an audience of 6.
The Cala Blanca, without further investment, would be an average three star at best.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 180 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £70 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing