We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 3 Star Experience at a 4 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Gigantes, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A 3 Star Experience at a 4 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel from late May - early June. We had a lovely holiday, however I fail to understand how this hotel commands a 4 Star rating with the exception of the sea and beach location. There are good points about the hotel which we enjoyed, I will come to them later, but first here are the negative observations which need to be addressed for the hotel to be a true 4 Star in keeping with the many I have stayed in before while on holidays for over 40 years.

I booked a room with Garden views, purely because we were going to be out in our hire car for our 9 day stay exploring this beautiful island, in fact we loved every minute of the 1,400 kilometers we covered. However when we got to our room and went on the balcony there was no garden in sight. What we looked down on was 2 or 3 palm trees around the entrance to the hotel, and a Spar shop and other adjoining shops across the road, no more than 40 - 50 feet away. I went back down to reception and negotiated a price for a sea view room, and the receptionist informed me that for an extra 200 euros he had a lovely one available on the third floor, room 308, which I decided to pay for. I would advise anyone not to accept this room as a full sea view room unless you like peering through the branches of 2 large palm trees to have any chance of seeing the beach and sea. We did have excellent views of the aeroplanes flying over in the distance however.

As stated in other reviews there was nowhere for clothes except the wardrobe, and as reviewed before, what good is a fridge if there is a notice telling you not to use it for your own use, plus it is the only 4 Star hotel I have ever stopped at in Spain that did not have tea making facilities in there superior rooms.

The entertainment was dire, at most there was only 6 - 7 people watching it whenever I passed by, but in contrast the next 4 Star hotel along had good entertainment, and there must have been over a hundred people watching it when I popped in for a look, and the bar takings must have been wonderful for the hotel.

Not that we ever used a sunbed, but I noted that there were only approx 65 available for a hotel with 180 rooms, and about 350 people when full, also the sun had left most of them by 3.30pm, however the hotel was almost on the beach for all the beach lovers, so perhaps it was not too much of a problem. There are a few other minor points I could mention but I think I have said enough, except perhaps for a hotel that had been refurbished, someone forgot about the stairs carpet which was threadbear, hotel car park charge, even though it was mostly empty, and a charge of 8 euros a day for the internet, where in most hotels I stay in it is free for your own devices.

Now for the good points. The food was excellent and varied, and the hot meals were hot, with heated plates to keep it warm. The hotel rooms and public areas were clean, and the staff were very friendly. All in all we very much enjoyed our holiday, but there are some points I hope you agree could be easily addressed and improved on.

Finally anyone who likes a quiet resort and a top class genuine 4 Star hotel with a position to die for should perhaps try the Stil Los Gigantes Hotel in the village where I live in Tenerife, it is a Thomsons Couples hotel for adults only. ( Not to be mixed up with the Costa Los Gigantes Hotel which is a distance away from the village and takes children, and is all inclusive ). I stayed at this hotel more than 30 times over 32 years before I retired to this paradise village in Tenerife. The only downside is that it is a little hilly, but that adds to the quaintness, and the beach is black sand, however the hotel is built on a small cliff directly overlooking the sea, with 2 pools, one of which is salt water, and there is no shortage of sunbeds here, and in fact no shortage of hot warm weather all year round, with the odd exception of course, and your money will stretch much further.

I hope this review will be of some interest to however reads it, although I except from other reviews that some people will not agree with me. May you all have happy holidays in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid what they advertise as Garden Rooms, all you look at is the road in front of the hotel, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lewis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Lewis K, we hope that despite of the mentioned details, you have enjoyed your days at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca. We collect your comments in reference to storage space in rooms, extra charges for some services or entertainment. We can’t do anything to change the sun movements and regarding the sunbeds, you know the size of our pool area (is well used). We recommend for your next visit, contact us in advance informing about your room high and situation preferences “on request”. We try to please you at your arrival. Thank you for your comments about the staff and location. We hope to see you in the future. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    374
    130
    37
    12
See reviews for
167
630
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Definitely one of the best Hotels I have stayed in. As my title suggest it is..... right on the beach, upgraded to a sea view perfect. The staff go out of their way for you, always polite and welcoming from reception to cleaning service. A pleasant change now. Our rooms were modern bright and spacious. Nice wall mounted TV with all BBC channels and Sky news. Missed a set of drawers for bits but no problem. Although very modern the carpet in the corridors needs uplifting to, the red is horrible. The restaurant and food was excellent..not often I quote that, but give credit where credit is due, Plenty of choice and all food cooked to a high standard for Hotels.The carvery meat was excellent. The chef is brill, long may he reign! Only one problem en counted, no wine choice. As changing menus and none left, That was not my fault management. During our stay we were robbed on the beach of all our bags, beware, right in front of the hotel. The hotel reception was very kind to us, and we thank them and our maid.
Just one gripe, the sunbed savers...get a life..up at 6.30 to 7.00 to save them, shame.

Room Tip: Sea view room top floor, you wont be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Judyxxxpunch, thanks for your comments after your stay with us in Mallorca. Thank you for your satisfaction words about the services. Inform you that the hotel is suffering a transformation and hopefully, will be completed next year (including the moquette). We hope that the incident suffered on the beach didn’t damage you. For us it’s a pleasure to help you when are out of home. Hoping to see you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My fourth visit to this hotel and had an excellent time as always.
Wasn't too sure about the new decoration at first but it grew on me, though think they should replace all the old style chairs in the lounge areas as they don't go with the new modern style.
Everywhere is lovely and clean and the food is good.
We had a room on the road side which is noisy but soon got used to it and they do get most of the sun on balcony's.
Staff were all really efficient and friendly. Pedro is a star.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Mrsanon, thank you for your trust in us. Our goal is you feel as if you were at home. All of our staff know your comments. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We paid a little extra to have a sea facing room. 23Euro - it was worth it. The staff were very friendly and helpful - it was clean and very well presented. Calm and quiet - perfect for a restful stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wkatyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Wkatyuk, we try every day that our visitors enjoy a relaxing days. In this case ... passed goal!!! Thank you very much for recognize it. Kind Regards and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stopped at the Beach Club, Sol Cala Blanca Hotel from the 16th - 27th May. We now have a new addition to the name i.e. Beach Club, well I suppose it is on the beach but I'm not too sure about the Club part. A lot of work has happened over the winter, particularly in the Lounge. There are very dynamic deck chairs, yes I did say deck chairs in the lounge, you really have to see them, in fact they are quite comfortable.Everything is bright, Reception and the Bar given a new facelift, very smart, food excellent! Pools, are the same, pool outside is still freezing cold! The sea front bedrooms are very stylish but they remain smaller than the rooms on the front and only get a short burst of sun in the morning. I think Sol should now give a facelift to the bedrooms on the front of the hotel, they are looking a little tired now and need some work doing on them. All said, we shall be returning later this year. Thank you all at the Cala Blanca for another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the holiday if you want to sit on the balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187069Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear 187069Barbara, you make us happy with your satisfaction comments and we will be happy to welcome you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really great stay at the Sol Cala Blanca, excellent location to beach, bars and restaurants! Hotel very very clean, rooms made up and fresh towels every day, we only stayed 4 nights myself and my husband, did not want to come home. shower could have been abit more powerful but really - I wasn't in a hurry so it was fine!! Would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Laura F, come back tomorrow without problem!!!! We will be happy to welcome you again. Thank you very much for recognizing the efforts of the whole staff and the comfort of our facilities. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this hotel to celebrate a relatives Birthday. I sent numerous emails asking for a high room. On arrival we were allocated a room on the lowest floor. The room was dated but very clean. The toilet did not flush and the shower failed to work we had to have the plumber three times to sort out this problem. The English tv worked in the morning but not at night. One morning we woke up and had no water at all this problem lasted all day.The staff make this hotel they are friendly and helpful. The maid was a wonderful lady with a cheerful smile on her face all the time. The hotel is in a magnificent location and we had a great time in both the indoor and outdoor pools. I would visit again and hopefully will get a high room.

Room Tip: If you like the afternoon sunshine get a room on the roadside. We were in room 113 and the entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Diane W, confirm you that the refurbishment of the hotel will continue this year until all rooms are renovated. Our intention is to provide a cool, comfortable and functional style. Thank you for express your opinion. Kind Regards and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Palmanova
Zafiro Palmanova
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
10.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Property: Sol Beach House Mallorca
Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing