We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is certainly not a 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having just returned on 14/6/2014 from a 11 day holiday to this hotel,where we requested a high floor and sea view if possible on booking it.
We arrived to find that we were in 334 on the 3rd floor facing onto the road at the front of the hotel, opposite was a entire street of shops, restaurant and directly opposite our room was a KING KEBAB/ PIZZA bar with a electronic punch bag m/c standing out in front.
All the other shops and restaurant closed down around 02.30, but this bar stayed open all night long closing around 6am. the noise from this bar was such that sleep was impossible being continually woken up by the passing supped up male holiday makes having to prove who had the strongest punch. So along with the sound of the punch ball been hit and ringing, the shouting and swearing after each blow sleep was impossible with out turning on a very noisy air condition unit to drown the street noise and keep the patio door shut (very warm nights).
We endured this for 6 night thinking well it is a holiday resort and people are here for a good time, but on the 6th night I could stand it no longer and rang down to reception to enquire is anything could be done about the bar across the road.I also asked was there no by-law for closing by a certain time, reception informed me there was no by-law, and the bar would only shut down when the last customer had left,as it was continually passing trade it never shut down until around 6am.
I asked could nothing be done about it and was informed that they could only move us in the morning.I declined as the cost of the sea view rooms were a extra 22 euro per night .
The only other negative was the lack of wardrobe space for two people, no drawer space at all, No tea making facilities and a fridge you were not allowed to put your own drinks /food into.
The room size was good, the cleaning of the room and renewal of towels very good, the general housekeeping of reception and public areas was very good.
The swimming pool was rather small, and the amount of available sun beds for 180 rooms was far too few, meaning if you did not get a towel on a bed by 08.30, it cost you 8 euros (every day) to hire a bed on the beach.
Meals where varied with a good selection although the deserts were very plain and boring.
The actual restaurant needs a large blind or sun screen covering the seaward facing window and the sun blazing through it cause the area to warm up very quickly with no air conditioning it soon became very uncomfortable.
The entertainment did not encourage you to stop in the hotel.

I think in its earlier days this has been a very nice hotel in a very good location for the beach, proved by the amount of people we spoke to that had come back year after year who were saying it's not as good as it used to be.
I will finish this review with the advice of insisting on a sea view, the noise on the street side totally ruined our holidays. It we had not experienced the noise every night, then we would have enjoyed our stay in this 3* hotel . WeI will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: insist on a sea view in this hotel, it's the only way to avoid the street noise unless they brin...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Christoph,
We are terribly sorry to know that some details of our hotel were not to your acceptance. You can be sure that they will be considered to apply some changes. On the other hand, others such as street noise or ambience of the external area not depend directly from us. Confirm you that we will always happy to welcome you again and try to change your perception of this stay. In this case, please contact us. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
There are newer reviews for Sol Beach House Mallorca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just had amazing holiday staying at this hotel, excellent food, staff, facilities. Very comfortable rooms, although only some have been refurbished, but still good. Great location for beach and resort.Only a stones throw from magaluf but you would never know it. Stayed room 116 at back of hotel. Would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks Rachael W for enjoy everything offered in Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, we will always be ready to receive you. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came first week of June for a lazy week, and that is what we got! Hotel is right on a beautiful sandy beach with clear seas, perfect for swimming. The hotel was very nice, and relaxed and quiet. We did half board and the food was excellent! We did not use the pool area, however we noted that the pathetic sun bed hoggers were much in evidence, some even laying out towels at 5.15am one morning! This should be stopped! Our room was on beach side and was light and airy, with comfy beds.
Our only suggestions would be,
Free internet, surely this should be available?
Tea & coffee facilities in the room.
Towels supplied (as should be with 4

The surrounding area of the hotel was nice on the sea side, however on the other side all the shops sell the same stuff, all the usual tourist souvineers and t shirts etc. lots of bars bad restaurants around.

We would go back for a week of sun and stay at this hotel.

A lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Choose sea side at least first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jayne 13,
We hope that the pleasant feeling of your holidays at the beach hold all winter until we see you again. We will consider your suggestions to apply some improvement actions. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I don't usually write reviews, but having used Trip Advisor often enough, I thought it only fair to add my view. The "new-look" Cala Blanca has been decked out very well and is, as always, a lovely place to stay. The beach is directly in front of the hotel and the staff and facilities are very nice. Well, let's say 99% of the staff are very nice, because the man at the top does let the side down. He swans around "glad-handing" his guests, but unfortunately he just comes across as pompous and obnoxious, with his nose in the air looking down at his minions. Shame really, because this would have been a 5* rating if it wasn't for him. Hey-ho: there's always one (but he's not supposed to be the leader!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 254chris66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear 254chris66, thank you for writing about the hotel after your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to know that in general your stay was pleasant and you have enjoyed a few days in Palmanova. We are also pleased to know that the new face of the hotel likes you. Our apologize if some details disturb you, because never was our intention. Our purpose is serve you and make you feel like at home. Looking forwards to see you next year and show you more changes...Regards from Mallorca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel from late May - early June. We had a lovely holiday, however I fail to understand how this hotel commands a 4 Star rating with the exception of the sea and beach location. There are good points about the hotel which we enjoyed, I will come to them later, but first here are the negative observations which need to be addressed for the hotel to be a true 4 Star in keeping with the many I have stayed in before while on holidays for over 40 years.

I booked a room with Garden views, purely because we were going to be out in our hire car for our 9 day stay exploring this beautiful island, in fact we loved every minute of the 1,400 kilometers we covered. However when we got to our room and went on the balcony there was no garden in sight. What we looked down on was 2 or 3 palm trees around the entrance to the hotel, and a Spar shop and other adjoining shops across the road, no more than 40 - 50 feet away. I went back down to reception and negotiated a price for a sea view room, and the receptionist informed me that for an extra 200 euros he had a lovely one available on the third floor, room 308, which I decided to pay for. I would advise anyone not to accept this room as a full sea view room unless you like peering through the branches of 2 large palm trees to have any chance of seeing the beach and sea. We did have excellent views of the aeroplanes flying over in the distance however.

As stated in other reviews there was nowhere for clothes except the wardrobe, and as reviewed before, what good is a fridge if there is a notice telling you not to use it for your own use, plus it is the only 4 Star hotel I have ever stopped at in Spain that did not have tea making facilities in there superior rooms.

The entertainment was dire, at most there was only 6 - 7 people watching it whenever I passed by, but in contrast the next 4 Star hotel along had good entertainment, and there must have been over a hundred people watching it when I popped in for a look, and the bar takings must have been wonderful for the hotel.

Not that we ever used a sunbed, but I noted that there were only approx 65 available for a hotel with 180 rooms, and about 350 people when full, also the sun had left most of them by 3.30pm, however the hotel was almost on the beach for all the beach lovers, so perhaps it was not too much of a problem. There are a few other minor points I could mention but I think I have said enough, except perhaps for a hotel that had been refurbished, someone forgot about the stairs carpet which was threadbear, hotel car park charge, even though it was mostly empty, and a charge of 8 euros a day for the internet, where in most hotels I stay in it is free for your own devices.

Now for the good points. The food was excellent and varied, and the hot meals were hot, with heated plates to keep it warm. The hotel rooms and public areas were clean, and the staff were very friendly. All in all we very much enjoyed our holiday, but there are some points I hope you agree could be easily addressed and improved on.

Finally anyone who likes a quiet resort and a top class genuine 4 Star hotel with a position to die for should perhaps try the Stil Los Gigantes Hotel in the village where I live in Tenerife, it is a Thomsons Couples hotel for adults only. ( Not to be mixed up with the Costa Los Gigantes Hotel which is a distance away from the village and takes children, and is all inclusive ). I stayed at this hotel more than 30 times over 32 years before I retired to this paradise village in Tenerife. The only downside is that it is a little hilly, but that adds to the quaintness, and the beach is black sand, however the hotel is built on a small cliff directly overlooking the sea, with 2 pools, one of which is salt water, and there is no shortage of sunbeds here, and in fact no shortage of hot warm weather all year round, with the odd exception of course, and your money will stretch much further.

I hope this review will be of some interest to however reads it, although I except from other reviews that some people will not agree with me. May you all have happy holidays in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid what they advertise as Garden Rooms, all you look at is the road in front of the hotel, and th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Lewis K, we hope that despite of the mentioned details, you have enjoyed your days at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca. We collect your comments in reference to storage space in rooms, extra charges for some services or entertainment. We can’t do anything to change the sun movements and regarding the sunbeds, you know the size of our pool area (is well used). We recommend for your next visit, contact us in advance informing about your room high and situation preferences “on request”. We try to please you at your arrival. Thank you for your comments about the staff and location. We hope to see you in the future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Definitely one of the best Hotels I have stayed in. As my title suggest it is..... right on the beach, upgraded to a sea view perfect. The staff go out of their way for you, always polite and welcoming from reception to cleaning service. A pleasant change now. Our rooms were modern bright and spacious. Nice wall mounted TV with all BBC channels and Sky news. Missed a set of drawers for bits but no problem. Although very modern the carpet in the corridors needs uplifting to, the red is horrible. The restaurant and food was excellent..not often I quote that, but give credit where credit is due, Plenty of choice and all food cooked to a high standard for Hotels.The carvery meat was excellent. The chef is brill, long may he reign! Only one problem en counted, no wine choice. As changing menus and none left, That was not my fault management. During our stay we were robbed on the beach of all our bags, beware, right in front of the hotel. The hotel reception was very kind to us, and we thank them and our maid.
Just one gripe, the sunbed savers...get a life..up at 6.30 to 7.00 to save them, shame.

Room Tip: Sea view room top floor, you wont be sorry.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Dear Judyxxxpunch, thanks for your comments after your stay with us in Mallorca. Thank you for your satisfaction words about the services. Inform you that the hotel is suffering a transformation and hopefully, will be completed next year (including the moquette). We hope that the incident suffered on the beach didn’t damage you. For us it’s a pleasure to help you when are out of home. Hoping to see you again. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My fourth visit to this hotel and had an excellent time as always.
Wasn't too sure about the new decoration at first but it grew on me, though think they should replace all the old style chairs in the lounge areas as they don't go with the new modern style.
Everywhere is lovely and clean and the food is good.
We had a room on the road side which is noisy but soon got used to it and they do get most of the sun on balcony's.
Staff were all really efficient and friendly. Pedro is a star.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Mrsanon, thank you for your trust in us. Our goal is you feel as if you were at home. All of our staff know your comments. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,396 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £103 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Melia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing