We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Getting there
We arrived at Palma airport, very big and clean..easy to get our bags and there were hundreds of taxis waiting. It cost us 34 euros from the airport to the hotel. Transfers cost around 15euros per person....so not really worth arranging... especially not for a family.

Hotel location
BRILLIANT!!! We were close to everything we needed and far away enough from any rowdiness....you're 2 streets away from the beach and about the same from the start of all of the pubs and bars. There are alot of english owned/english themed bars. most playing Eastenders, Coro and Xfactor.... it's just England with nicer weather.

Beach
Beaches are nice and clean... white sands, blue clear water....

Palma Nova
You get a good mix of people in both age and class. Everyone seemed to be having a good time. So don't think you are too old, too young, too posh or too much of a chav.... ;-) Palma Nova is for everybody.

Hotel check in
The staff were very polite and their English is excellent. Very warm welcome. We booked the holiday through On The Beach and they had given the hotel the wrong information but the hotel rectified it immediatly.
There is a lift.
One thing we weren't too sure about.. when they take your passports off of you for 24 hours (standard practice on any holiday), they just put them under the counter. Not very secure and reception although manned 24 hours... didn't ALWAYS have someone there. We could see our passports when we walked past.


The room
We had a self catering apartment. Not very big but big enough. twin beds, then a single bed and another bed that pulls out from underneith. Then there is a table with only 2 chairs. The kitchen was a sink, draining board with 2 hobs built into the draining board... be warned.... metal draining board...2 hot hobs... hhmmm... a lil dangerous? there's a fridge... a kettle you put on the hob (you can rent a keetle for about 11 euros if you prefer)
the bathroom was a decent size with bath and shower. The balcony was a really good size with another table and patio chairs.

one thing we will warn you about is the shower.... although whether this is a common problem we don't know.... when we had a shower... it would suddlenly go boiling... like someone was running a tap in another room.... so i don;t know if this is a plumbing problem affecting all rooms.... so the kids only had baths.

Cleaning didn't happen everyday which apparently is quite common in Spain etc... but was a little annoying. Also... when they did clean, sheets weren't changed. The beds were just made for us..so be careful not to get sandy feet on your bedding thinking it'll be washed..it won't. Also... they didn't mop the balcony until we requested them to at reception. Imagine 2 young kids with food, drinks and ice lollies.... it was obviously dirty... so we were surpirsed it was ignored. We didn't have anything to clean the floor with.

Shopping
BE WARNED.... everything is very expensive. We think it's mainly due to Palma Nova being a popular tourist place and the euro being weak and the shops importing products we have here to sell to us over there. A standard bar of cadburys will set you back 1euro60...there don't seem to be many 'local versions'. There is a supermarket a minutes walk away from the hotel (turn left at the hotel gates) .. it's only water that's reasonable from there. If you keep walking.....about 10 minutes walk away (or 5euro taxi ride) there is a local supermarket which will save you quite a bit of money. Ask at reception, they will be happy to direct you. Beer seems to be cheap at all supermarkets though averaging at about 80cents for a can and 50cents for a bottle.

Eating out
There are so many places to eat....the first morning, we went to Eastenders bar for a full english fry up for 3euros. Average price per main meal is about 9euros.. but we recommend walking into Magaluf and going to any of the restaurants on their beach front. Robinson Crusoes cost 15 euros for a steak but it was worth every penny. the first few nights, the kids ate out with us... but the last couple of nights..they preferred to eat earlier at the hotel then play next to the restaurant in the evening.... which the restaurants lay out makes easy. Drinks are quite expensive... average of 3euros a pint of lager with some places having offers for san migeul...

Days out
We were only there for 7 days... so only had one 'day out'.. we went to Marine Land which we found very good value for money with dolphin and seal shows etc. The food is a rip off though... so be sure to take a picnic. Tickets for this were 22euros per adult and 16euros per child. We were given the same price at the hotel and told this was an exclusive offer... the same price was given to us by an exchange and ticket shop in town and the same price on the door at Marine Land! So don't be fooled by exclusive offers.

Hotel facilities
There are 2 computers, each with internet access.... 1euro for 10 minutes..which when you are on holiday is enough to check your emails and facebook. There is a bar that seemed to be open all day for hot and cold drinks as well as food...quite expensive though when you can just buy your beer from the shop and drink it by the pool anyway.
The pool is a really nice size.... be warned that there's no shallow end as such... there are dips here n there so it's not clear where is deep and where is shallow. There are 3 joined pools though... one for paddling... a deep one... and then the main uneven one..... really nice pool area.
There is also an indoor pool but it didn't look tempting at all.. and after getting in it and turning blue from how cold it was...I wouldn't recommend the indoor pool. Even when we had rain, the outdoor pool was warmer.
Entertainment was surprisingly good. We usually avoid hotel shows but as we had the kids with us we gave it a go. Ali and Lara were ace and worked hard in the day and at night. You can tell they enjoy their jobs and we found them really good company. We usually hide from hotel animation teams but once again, as we had the kids we gave them a chance and no regrets.... they didn't harrass anyone so don't worry..if you don't want to get involved... they won't make you....

All in all we had a great time and would recommend this hotel...
hope this review has helped...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

Think overall this was a good choice for accomodation, the rooms are fairly basic but clean and functional.
The outdoor pool area is nice and there were no problems getting sunbeds while we were there. The reception staff were very friendly.
Free wifi and pay per use internet is available at reception.
There's also an indoor pool / gym area available but they aren't air conditioned so aren't really suitable for summer use.
There were some large stag/hen groups staying here at the time, had no problems whatsoever with any of them though.
There is a good choice of places to eat and drink near to the hotel and I would recommend the irish bar that's just about opposite.
Close to Magaluf which was a big plus but just far enough way to get a decent sleep. Had no problems with noise or thefts despite being on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at Rosa del mar for 2 weeks! This our first self catering holiday in palma nova, we were impressed by our apartment. The hotel staff were very pleasant, esp the reception staff, and were ready to answer questions and cater 4 our needs 24/7. When we arrived the toilet wasn't flushing and the tv cable was damaged; both problems were resolved promptly on request. The location is perfect, a minutes walk from beach, local supermarket, shops and places to eat. You have the pleasures of palma nova in one direction and the hussle and bussle of magaluf in the other...which literally is only 5 mins walk away! Apartment is spacious, grounds very secure, car park for hire cars at no charge, pool area clean, bar food very reasonable and delicious, large pool for swimming, plenty of sunbeds! entertainment team were a little annoyin with their drab games, so either pretend to be sunbathing or hide in the pool!!!
Places we recommend to visit for food/drinks are everest restaurant, eastenders, 'taste of india', florida restaurant, castaways, tom browns, chinese in magaluf , Ruby Tuesdays, Banana Joes - all reasonably priced and friendly. Stay away from the cutty Sark - totally overpriced and unfriendly!! The magaluf strip has an array of bars, something 4 everyone, palma nova is quieter, however still as enjoyable and has fun nightlife!
We enjoyed going to marineland and the beach water activities, however western water park is not all that - queued for 30/40mins a ride which lasted all of 30 seconds, a wave pool with no waves, and people rammed in like sardines to watch the shows, so just don't expect 2 much!
We would deffo recommend the rosa del mar to everyone, we would stay here again if returning to majorca!

J & A - West Midlands

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCAW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Tha rosa del Mar is a terrific place to stay as a family or as a couple.The location is ideal near the beach,near the quieter Palma Nova and close to the more vibrant Magaluf if you want some mad entertainment.The Hotel is kept very clean,both in the public areas and in your room.The maid service in the rooms come around 4/5 times a week and new towels and bed linen is avaliable on a regular basis.There are plenty of things to do in the hotel,the pool area is great and there are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and on the sun terrace.The staff are very friendly and helpful.My wife and I have stayed here at least 10 times and would not consider staying anywhere else in this resort.(Did try another hotel once never came anywhere near the standard of this one).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this resort

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCJC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This Aparthotel has a very interesting location, as being so close to the beach is also near to the center of the city, with all the fun and commercial areas just nearby.
We found it very amusing with a good team of entertainers, especially for the kids, a good environment, an excellent pool area with a nice garden and terrace with lots of chairs.
The hotel also provides a good service, and we'd like to stress that all the staff was extremely nice and helpful. We thank them all for their attention to all our needs!
Comparatively to other hotels we´ve stayed before in Mallorca this was surely the most pleasant one, only for the meals that we think that, although the good quality, we think that during the ten days of staying the meals weren´t very diversified.
Our overall opinion is that Rosa del Mar is a very good Aparthotel in Palmanova-Mallorca and being a family of four (two young children) the great advantage of this hotel is that there we can stay all together in the same studio and it also has apartments with good areas, which we really recommend for families with more than one or two children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Location was ok and the size of the room, we stayed at the two room apartment. There were quite a lot young people living in the hotel, we woke up few times during night because of the noice. The cleanliness of the room was, well, they didn´t clean it at all during our stay. They just made the beds.. I wouldn´t recommed this hotel to a family or older people!! And I think that 3 stars is too much for this hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zintsarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This was our fourth visit to Palma Nova and the first visit to the Rosa del Mar.It was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and kept beautifully clean. The food was good and the staff were very helpful.I was there with my husband and two teenage girls and we all really enjoyed ourselves. The main plus for me was the disabled room - it was wonderful. Far superior to the previous three hotel's I had stayed in.Also the pool. It's huge and there's a lovely sun deck. None of that putting your towel on the sunbed - plenty sunbeds for everyone!The hotel is minutes from the beach and Palma Nova is a lively safe resort for teenagers - I thoroughlly recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Palmanova
Zafiro Palmanova
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Palmanova Bay
Alua Palmanova Bay
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Rosa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Rosa del Mar

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £73 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Rosa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This excellent complex has always kept up its facilities and service spaces with a lot of care and dedication. Moreover, our guests especially appreciate taking a stroll in the garden as well as enjoying the benefits of the heated pool, gym or sauna. This is definitely the place for nice holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Rosa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rosa Del Mar Hotel Palma Nova
Aparthotel Rosa Del Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing