We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in the don bigote hotel for 1 week with my boyfriend. We are in our early twenties and wanted a beachy holiday. We decided to go half board and the food was excellent, i am a fussy eater when it comes to meat. Not one morning or evening were either of us disappointed by the choice of food everything tasted brilliant! The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bedding most days. The air con was excellent since it could stayed warm during the night. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and are looking into going back to the same place and same hotel next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 220790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    500
    305
    117
    112
See reviews for
169
467
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield, noots
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

we stayed last weekend 16th august 2012 till the 19th august 2012 and what can i say..... Great for young people wanting the night life of magaluf will defo be going again next year. Magaluf is a 15 minute walk from the hotel which was fine at night but too hot in the day esp in august, rooms were basic but what do u need when on a lively getaway!!!!! pool was very clean and big enough for everyone to get in always made sure our towels were on loungers in the morning as it could get very busy but it is august, food on half board was lovely couldnt have been better lots of choice and really tasty, anyone wanting a quiet holiday this hotel isnt suitable saw a couple of people moaning about the noise but it is stated within the brochure and the internet that this is a lively hotel. All in all a great place to go PARTY :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went to this hotel 12-15 august and im not satisficted!!! rooms were so cheap and old the view was perfect!!! the food was so [--]!!!! i went the first day to eat and i never went again for dinner or breakfast!!! meat was nasty and smells bad....i paid for half board and i eat there once....We went to our room and they didnt had shampoo or something to make a bath and clean your hands....reseptionist when i told about this was laughing and after some hour gived me some shampoo........so cheap hotel....i dont recomend it to anyone......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giasis_lefteris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 10 days at the beginning of August.

Rooms are very small and basic but clean, the air con works from 6pm - 8am, kept our room very cool during the night. Corridors could get very noisy at night with people coming back from nights out - but no more than any other hotel with groups on party holidays!

Pool area was a good size, sunbeds filled up quickly in the morning - opened about half 9 - plenty of tables with umbrellas usually available. The bar outside was decent, serving drinks of all kinds and food such as toasties and burgers from around 12pm. Occasionally some music played by the pool as well. However, the pool was very deep at one end, going from waist height to 3 meters very suddenly.

Overall, hotel was decent, we only stayed b&b so can't comment too much on food but breakfast was average serving hot food such as beans, eggs, sausages and then bread, cheese, cereal, croissants etc.

Location of the hotel was perfect, 5 mins walk to the beach, cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. There are 3 beaches all within walking distance, the furthest along beach on the way to magaluf has the nicest restaurants we found.

Palma nova is lovely, lots to do and places to eat, nice big beaches and clear clean sea :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lou19x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here half board from 31st July to 7th August 2012 with my brother, cousin and friend. We came to the area mainly for a clubbing holiday in Magaluf but wanted to stay in Palmanova so that we could have a few peaceful days as well.
We arrived at approx. midnight after getting a taxi from the airport (which was much easier and direct than transfers and only cost 40euro for all of us) and the man on reception promptly gave us our keys and there was no problems checking in. I did have to ask for information regarding meal times ect, but once we got to our rooms all the information was written on a piece of paper by the phone.
We had booked our rooms together and although they weren't on the same floor they were above each other (my brother and cousin had room 200 and my friend and I had room 300). On arrival to our rooms we were very surprised by the size. Our rooms had 3 beds in, one double and a single, which was plenty of space for 2 people and the bathrooms were a good size with a full sized bathtub, however i can imagine that if 3 people had stayed in one of these rooms it would have been cramped. There was fresh clean towels, toilet roll, sachets of shower gel and extra blankets in the room. When we first arrived our air-con wasn't working but my brother and cousins was so we went down to reception and asked about it and also asked about having an extra pillow, we were told it would be fixed the following day, which it was however the air con is only on between 8pm to 6am in all rooms so you can't leave it on all day wasting electricity.
The only negative I thing i have to say about the rooms is that they didn't have spy-holes which would've been useful but they aren't entirely necessary. The maid serivce was very good and they cleaned all day so if you did want to lay in (sometimes until the afternoon) they did still come and clean your room in the afternoon. My only problem with the housekeeping service was they did speak very loudly in the corridors during the morning and our rooms were next to where they kept all their cleaning equipment and a few times we were startled awake by them clattering around and banging brooms and things on the walls.
Now the food (which is very important on holiday), we went to dinner every night we were there and it was all delicious. there was great variety and in particular the roast potatoes (half a potato!) and spring rolls were very nice and all the puddings were great too especially the white chocolate sauce :) there was something for each of us however none of us are particularly fussy eaters so it may be harder for people who are fussy or have allergies as there was no labels on the food you just had to eat it and guess. Everything was properly cooked however my brother did get a bad stomach after eating some of the paella. one thing to note at dinner, drinks aren't included but you can buy them from the hotel staff walking around the restaurant or you can go into the hotel bar and bring them back in which is cheaper than buying them from the staff in the restaurant.We only made it down to breakfast a few times however it was perfectly nice basic cooked breakfast, there was beans, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, toast, tomatoes, mushrooms, sausages, bacon and cereals. Tea, coffee, fruit juices and water were all included at breakfast as well.
The hotel in general was very nice. The pool area was huge and we only had problems getting sunbeds a couple of times but there is a grass area to the left of the pool which would've been fine to lay on if desperate. I did see that the pool area wasn't entirely appropriate for children mainly because the pool is very deep and it goes from waist deep to 3 meters deep within about 4 steps also towards the end of the day there was bottles and cups floating in the water, not an excessive amount but one bottle i saw in there was glass, i removed it but really that is the hotel staffs job. The pool is open until 8pm but they don't cover it so you can sit with your feet in it during the evening you're just not allowed fully in the pool. There is a small bar open at the pool all day which serves soft drinks, alcohol, slushies, crisps and ice creams and they serve hot food between 12pm and 3pm (the toasties and hot dogs are particularly nice). The hotel had computers which were 50cent for 6 minutes use and there was a wifi service but I didn't look to see how that worked.
Palmanova in general is a lovely area and there is a couple of bars, supermarkets and restaurants just round the corner from the hotel which are perfect for quieter nights out if you don't feel like going to Magaluf every night. Banana Joes is a good bar for cocktails and they do some very funny souvenir cups to bring home. The 'British Restaurant' round the corner from Banana Joes does a very good breakfast, definitely worth a visit if you miss breakfast a couple of times like we did. The beach is perfect there are sunbeds but the cost 13euro for the day so we sunbathed on the decking for disabled people when it wasn't in use. Palmanova beach is an award winning beach and I can see why, the water was perfectly clear and there was access for disabled people which i have never seen on a beach before. the only negative i have about the beach was there was no toilets, however most of the hotels were close and there was a Macdonalds at one end (which had WIFI).
It was about a 15 minute walk to Magaluf strip and a bit of a confusing walk too but once you got your bearings it was easy enough however most nights we just got a taxi which cost 5euro for all of us to BCM square which is at the furthest end of the strip. Nights out in Magaluf are very cheap especially if you go to BCM or get the MCP club pass. Our most expensive night was 35euro to BCM and we saw dj Sammy, got a free t-shirt and a hat, a free bar all night on all drinks and a foam party.

If you want a holiday that has all the partying side of Magaluf and the lazy days of Palmanova then I think the Don Bigote is ideally located. I would say its not a family hotel, its not suitable for children or if you get angry about doors being slammed at 5am. If you don't like that don't go anywhere near Magaluf But if you are up for a laugh and want a cheap holiday then Don Bigote is perfect :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CharCorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a real gem of a hotel. Perfect for a lads holiday away. Great thing is that the rooms are always cleaned every morning meaning that the chunder over the bed from the night before is cleaned up :D The food served at dinner is always nice look out for the toasties they are quite good! Plus the guy that serves drinks in the suit is cool. The hotel is also close to many shops, check out the spar round the corner serves cheap drink! Anyone staying in room 422 watch out for the shelf in the bathroom as someone seems to have smashed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

stayed at your hotel last week for 4 nights !!! i say nights the days rolled into nights .food was ok room was clean staff were helpful .just abit miffed by the way we were shouted by mr grumpy night security for having a laugh on the balcony !! couldnt believe it as we were kept awake by drunk people / youngsters every night !!.would not stay again . ps loved the area .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#23 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Palomas Econotels
0.0 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Property: Hotel Don Bigote
Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing