We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things considered real value for money”
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have just returned from Palma Nova staying at Don Bigote.I had read reviews before going and just hoped they were exagerated.I was greatly surprised on arriving there to find a hotel so close to the sea/beach.The staff helped us alot as I am disabled and I even managed to hire an electric scooter from a lovely young man called Timmy.This all took place within the hotel foyer.The room was basic but very clean.A good assortment of food at meal times and the seating around the pool was good.We enjoyed ourselves and intend returning next year

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABCCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

Firstly I want to dismiss all of the bad reports people have published about the Don Bigote - it is all a load of rubbish!!!!!!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in August and had the best holiday ever. I really don't understand some of the nonsense people are writing. Firstly, this hotel is in a superb location just 2 mins walk to palma nova beach and about a 7 min walk to Magaluf - what more could you ask for?? Secondly, we never had any concerns with the cleanliness, when we arrived our room was immaculate, our bed was made up every day and the room cleaned. We stayed on the 6th floor with a pool view with plenty of sunshine. You are not looking onto wasteland.

On the subject of the hotel food:
BREAKFAST: There was a cooked breakfast every morning. Fresh fruit and yogurts, toast, selection of cheese and cold meats. Tea, coffee and juice.

DINNER: Tables were set!! Waiter service for your drinks which you pay for. Every night they had different dishes which we enjoyed, ok its not the Ritz but you get what you paid for!

All in all this is a fab wee hotel we enjoyed everything about it, it was clean, friendly and in a fantastic location.

If you want a low budget holiday this is the hotel to go for!!!! Also visit the Kompas cafe just opposite the beach, almost every day we went here for lunch and never disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smartyblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We booked this hotel via an on line hotel agent and were not sure what to expect. The receptionist was friendly and gave our keys etc. We had a smallish room with a balcony - and a view of the pool to one side, and the sea to the other. Excellent. Rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels were provided. Breakfast consisted of buffet continental and also buffet style English. The English breakfast was not very good, so we usually had beans on toast etc. I do not think it was particularly a case of not good food, but simply Spanish bacon and sausages that we were not familiar with. Evening meals were excellent - again buffet style and consisted of soup, rolls, buffet salad, buffet hot courses - various choices and then sweets - icecreams, cakes and fruit. Roast beef and Yorkshire Pudding even popped up! Excellent value for money and we are booking again. The hotel pool was regularly cleaned during our stay. Evening entertainment too!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kontikikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

All i can say is what do people want for a fantastic price. We used this hotel because of the location and price (£262 HB, 2 people, 7 nights. 21-28 Sept). Booked through hotels4u.com and requested a room with a pool view on an high floor which was granted...
Staff at reception were spot on and quick to get us sorted. The rooms are small, basic looking, a bit dated with wafer thin walls but if you can see past that they are cleaned daily and fresh towels put in. Our maid was superb, friendly and even tidied up. Small balcony was great to sit out on and warm up with a bottle of vino.
Restraunt was basic, brecky good with choice of cereal's, yoguart, toast and the full monty, great for soaking the grog up, suggest getting down early its not as busy. We went with the intention of eating out every other night and did so. Food was basic but there was something for everyone.
Pool area was a treat. The staff at the pool bar were spot on and the poolside snacks great. Cheese burger recommended. Drink and snacks not bad priced too. Kept entertained by a few groups of lads/lasses that were still flying in and out for a few days.
LISA Yeah Man! you are a nutter....... a fag and a bottle of Smirnoff ice for brecky!!!!!!!
Venture out and the beach is just 2 mins away, swing left for some nice restraunts and right for the bright lights of Magaluf 10 min stroll. Taste of India good for a nose bag if you fancy a vindaloo after a couple too many up that end.
All in all superb all round for the price we paid. Be prepared to pay the price for imported drinks when you hit the bars average £10 for 2 drinks Magners & G&T......... 2 pints of San Mig about £5. Everyone was going on about the price of things now, with the pound the way it is against the Euro.
Would i go back to the Don Bigote YES, will i be back to euroland in the near future NO.
Time to look further afield for better value........

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

me and my girlfriend when on a last minute break and we got a half board for a week for only £225.. and we didn't expect any thing amazing.. 1st night we had a room on the 1st floor with 2 single beds, loud neighbours , week view for window and 2 leak!!! we instanly complaint and got a different room without any porblems.. 2nd room was great.. although not the cleanest.. this room was in the 4th floor and much better.. breakfast was the same everyday (orange juice, tea, full english, sugar puffs) but the evening meal was much better.. got times.. place set.. different meats each day.. (the waiters aren't friendly as a smile wasnt seen all week and they don't speak much english) bar is reall nice.. staff friendly in there.. its an okay hotel.. great for £225 but after all.. its what you make is so i had the best holiday ever!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Me and my partner stayed in the Don Bigote from the 1st Sept for 7 nights. The reviews i had read on here were not encouraging, but we were pleasantly surprised. The worst thing i could say about the hotel is the rooms are very small, with hardly any storage space (be prepared to use your suitcase).The rooms are cleaned every day unless you hang out the do not disturb card. The Hotel in general could do with a bit of tlc, but nothing that would affect your stay. The reception was always staffed and are very helpful. We had a room on the 7th floor facing the road, and didn't hear any noise, (we kept the door closed and the aircon on). The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of food for all tastes with vegetarians well catered for. The staff at the evening meal were very quick to serve you if you wanted a drink with your meal. I cant comment on the pool as we never used it as we went to the beach, which is across the road. As stated in other reviews "DONT USE THE SPAR ACROSS THE ROAD" its prices are a ripoff. Instead go out the front door and turn left and you will come across a supermarket called eurosky, which is a lot cheaper. The other spar around the corner past Banana Joe's is also good for supplies. The bars in Palma Nova are good especially Banana Joe's with Magaluf a short walk or taxi ride away if you want something a bit more livelier.
The buses to Palma are always full, but only cost five euro's. A word of warning about buses if you go anywhere on them, the spanish do not queue and will just push their way to the front to get on first!.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mansellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was close to the beach, bars, shops etc. Hotel and room very clean. Rooms cleaned daily. Staff helpful. Room smallish but perfectly serviceable (we didnt go to sit in the room all holiday). We done half board. Same breakfast every day but loads of choice so you could have something differnt every day. Evening meal good and plenitful. Always meat, salad, vegetarian choice.
Pool was clean and cleaned daily. no problem getting poolside chairs/beds.
half hour or so from airport (bus €5 each - taxi about €33).
There were very few kids (we saw about 4) and the boy/girl groups were well behaved.
i would definity choose this hotel again if we go back to Palma Nova.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette28c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 38 in Palmanova
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Balear Beach
Apartamentos Balear Beach
#30 of 38 in Palmanova
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Las Palomas Econotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#22 of 38 in Palmanova
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing