We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late deal excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 25 August 2010

a general purpose hotel close to shops,bars,and transport., around the area plenty of entertainment,good job as hotel has none,not really catered for young children.... good choice of food,clean towels everyday and all areas clean,all staff friendly...the rooms are all small with no tv,ketle etc,but i personally don't go on holiday to watch tv..well worth a visit for a cheap beach holiday in palma nova...........

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

Me and my boyfriend were in D. Bigote 18-25 August 2010, and liked it a lot. The location could not be better: literally 3 minutes from the lovely beach! It is near the center of Palmanova, where are many bars and shops. It is 3 minutes away from the bus stop that goes to the city of Palma (€ 2.85 ticket). Magalluf is a 10 minute walk, and is a pleasant walk that can be done by the beach, or in th streets that are full of shops, bars and nightclubs. Magalluf is a bit confusing place at night, but you can have a drink, dance and watch the animation in the streets!
Some of the other reviews talk about the noise of young people especially when they are coming from Discos and bars, around 3-6 a.m. We had no problem with that.
The food at the hotel was good: breakfast was always the same, but had variety. Dinner was good, with variety of foods, from pasta, meat, soup, etc.. The only drawback is that not every day there was an option of a fish dish. The hotel bar is a nice place with friendly barmen, but could have more daily animation.
The hotel staff was always very friendly, attentive and helpful. Once again none of them could speak Portuguese, so we had to speak another language, whether Spanish or English.
The hotel is very clean, the rooms are clean whenever you want. The rooms are not huge, but they serve perfectly, and all have balconies. The bath water has not always hot.
D. Bigote is not a luxury or very modern hotel, but it is very clean, friendly and very good for a 2 stars. I would recommend it to my friends, no doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariadefatimafalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

After reading the reviews especially the ones about the how popular hen and stag parties were at the Don Bigote, I was slightly worried. However there was certainly no need for worry. We went in the middle of August and travelled with 2 teenage sons. The hotel was quiet for the ten days we were there and the hotel catered for people of many ages from families with small children, to teenagers, couples and the elderly. Fantastic location literally 2 mins to the beach/shops/bars. Loads of shops to look around, though things are quite expensive. Palma Nova really is a lovely place. The views over the sea are breath taking. The hotel itself although a 2 star should actually be a 3 star+. The room was basic (what more do you want on holiday) clean sheets/towels daily and we had a lovely sea view. The food was great especially the evening meal, lots of choice, from salad, fish, spaghetti, lasagne, curry, different meats, potatoes, casseroles, roast beef dinner, chips, so lots of choice for even the fussiest of eaters. The pool area wasn't the nicest I'd been to, it could do with a bit of re-vamping but was sufficient. Hire of a safe was quite cheap only 2 euro a day (plus 6 deposit which we got back). Hire of sunbeds on the beach was expensive (22 euros for 4 a day!!) so we bought a parasol and lilo's which cost 30 euros for our whole stay. The beach is fab, really clear water and stretches for miles. Dont take any notice of the horrible things said about this hotel, it really is very nice, the location is excellent and I would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelle196412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Just returned from 1 week in this hotel with my wife and 14 year old. Excellent value for the money, clean and very friendly. Don't be put off by the negative reviews, everything was just fine. The location to the beaches and the main street was perfect and if you want the bustle of Magaluf then it is only a 10 - 15 walk away. No fighting over the sunbeds at pool, the food is of good standard and eat as much as you like .Only downside was noisey revellers returning back at 3am! All in all I would recommend the Don Bigote.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boner1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

stopped here begining of august read the reviews:( but like to make my on mind up rooms where small and air con was as much use as a chocolate fire guard but clean. Maid service every day clean towels ever other food was not bad staff were friendly and helpfull. very few kids:) however teenagers returning from a night out were noisey and very inconsiderate to other guests.Thought hotel could be more organised about room allocation and give these male and female p*ss heads a floor of there own to shout and swear on.Pool was big enough for all who wanted it plenty of beds with no fight to reserve them.Location was good both for palma nova and magalluf. Days out enjoyed golf and western warer park do these on sat or tue if you can these days lots of people coming to or going from the island, get there early 10.00 as they open, taxi about 6 euro to water park but market was crap unless you wanted copy watches and sunglasses stall after stall aquarium was good but expensive and all the buses seem to arrive at same time about midday avoid this by catching service bus or get taxi to palma saying all that enjoyed holiday. lloyd our rep (thomas cook) was helpfull

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

back in UK so time to write review:) Hotel its very clean with good cleaning service, new towels every day etc. Food nice and fresh but a bit greasy and dont expect grilled prawns or mussels in wine. It is more about pork and chicken but there is fish every day. Restaurant its rather canteen style so waiters dont ask if you like their food or wish you good day but they still expect to be given tips specially WAITER WITH GREY LONG HAIRS whom better to avoid, not nice man. DRINKS NOT INCLUDED in HB price so if you want water expect to pay 1.6 euro for 0.5l bottle plus tip:(, There is big EROSKI grocery just on top of the hill (2 minutes walk) and Lidl outside the city ( 0.19 euro for 1,5l water). Reception lost page from my passport so nothing good to say about them. Hotel and street in the night are not quiet, clubs are just on the corner. Swimming pool with loud music, and small. There is NO wireless internet in the hotel. Good bus service in Majorca so its nice to go around. We have rented a car so it was even easier. Try to see Palma, Andrax, Soller (train from Palma), Valldemosa, cap de formentor best take a coast road around island amazing views. We didnt need GPS, roads full of road signs but narrow so be careful. Have a nice trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just got back after I stayed here for 3 nights from 15th July.
The hotel is in a brill location for the beach and the many bars restaurants shops etc.
The food was great, Breakfast served from 8am, no queing, selection of cereal or english
breakfast. Evening meal was very good, there was a vast selection as well as deserts, i ate at 7pm and did not wait for very long at all.
The room was basic but all i wanted it for was to sleep at night.
I will be honest and say I was awoken each night/morning around 3-4am with returning party people. This did not last very long and had no experience with banging on doors or shouting down corridors. I was on the 6 floor at the end !.
I would say not recommended for children or families.. lots of same sex groups.
No childrens entertainment in the hotel.
If you have children and have booked this hotel, if your wanting no noise and entertainement for your children at night then you will be disapointed.
Apart from that, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean, food was great and all in all had a wonderfull break.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Cazc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#18 of 39 in Palmanova
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#24 of 39 in Palmanova
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
BelleVue Vistanova
BelleVue Vistanova
#38 of 39 in Palmanova
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range: £30 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing