We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of AluaSun Torrenova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AluaSun Torrenova
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive. Despite research there was no mention anywhere about being out of season. Everything was closed including snack bar, Italian restaurant, kids pools. Food was awful, geared up for the Spanish oaps. When I booked I paid extra for balcony and air conditioning - on arrival was told that all rooms have both at no additional charge! Also because it's out of season it's only heating not air conditioning anyway.The laundry room had one washing machine working and the instructions on the wall were incorrect, I had to go to reception 3 or 4 times to get it working, to be told that they knew the instructions were wrong! The oaps were extremely noisy and woke us up several times during the night having their chats outside the rooms at midnight, might just be a bad soundproofing design. Didn't let the hotel spoil our holiday as the area itself is lovely but certainly won't be going back and don't recommend this place, not 4 star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa_jayne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Mrs Lisa_jayne08,
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
For your information, OAP's season in Spain is from October to May .
Pools, snack , Italian restaurant are opened from 1st of May
Sometimes it is quite difficult to manage such a different nationalities and ages to satisfy your needs but we try to do our best.
We hope that these explanations are satisfactory for you and look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

As others have mentioned DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL OUT OF SEASON......Have just returned from a week all inclusive, very disappointed. The hotel keeps itself open for bus loads of Spanish OAPs who descend on the place. The food is totally for them and any entertainment at night is for them. Ballroom and Line Dancing...They are half board so sit all evening in the entertainment area playing cards, dominoes etc with no drink. There are so many of them that the all inclusive people have to make do with sitting outside, on top of pool tables, or taking their drinks to their bedrooms.

I realise that hotels have to make repairs etc but this should be clearly indicated. We travelled with a 7 yr old who was looking forward to the pool, kids area, kids club etc. There was nothing for her. Both kids pools were closed, as was the kids area and there was no kids club. There was electric cables strewn all over the walkways, open manhole covers, and the sound of drilling from morning to evening.

This hotel only was given a two rating due to the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoddyMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Mr Roody McPherson,
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
For your information, OAP's season in Spain is from October to May .
Pools are opened from 1st of May
Sometimes it is quite difficult to manage such a different nationalities and ages to satisfy your needs but we try to do our best.
We hope that these explanations are satisfactory for you and look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

ive seen recent reviews from people whom have been to the hotel saying the food is not good,i asked when we visited and was told it mainly caters for the Spanish at this time of year then changes for the uk tourists nearer to end of may.so if you've booked to go in summer have no fears on the food it is superb,i thought I would share this,ps weve booked to go again in june and I think somebody put on here they are doing some improvements to the hotel id appreciate any info as the last time I was there was 2012,many thanks scott

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jockonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here I read lots of reviews before booking I wished I had just read the bad ones and not booked, believe me the food is really bad aimed mainly at the Spanish pensioners staying there I dont speak Spanish but even I could understand there complaints in the dining room the food is dreadful 4 star no way. The hotel is in need of a big refurb all areas no activities on at all kids pools empty snack bar closed on going work on poolside toilets so they were not open the rooms are tired and dated. This hotel is situated at the top of a steep hill be warned if you have mobility problems, we never complained the reason being all complaints about food etc was just shrugged off by the management as I saw, they just were not interested at all once you have paid and arrived your stuck. We spoke to a couple who stayed here in October 2013 and told us they couldn't understand what had happened to the hotel they had taken there daughter and grandkids back with them and felt terrible that it was so bad. Luckily theres plenty of decent places to eat but when you pay for a holiday you don't expect to have to eat out nearly every meal which is not cheap now. I could keep writing until I run out of space but simply save yourself from disappointment and just don't go here at all.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels which means don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blade65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Mr Blade65
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
For your information, OAP's season in Spain is from October to May , all over Spanish coast ,
High season starts 1st of May . The pools are empty and snack bar are closed until that date.
Sometimes it is quite difficult to manage such a different nationalities and ages to satisfy your needs but we try to do our best.
We hope that these explanations are satisfactory for you and look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

just came back from a 10 day all inclusive here and needed to write my first ever review would like to start with saying the staff were excellent very help full but there was no mention any were off it being a OAP CONVENTION FOR THE SPANISH i really dont have a problem with oaps but if we had known the whole hotel apart from about 5% english was spanish we would have booked else were everybody is entitled to a holiday like us we work hard to afford a holiday every year.the whole hotel was geared up for them the entertainment, the food was something else now im not a fussy eater but i really struggled to find something to eat some days, felt really sorry for the english familys with little ones as there was really nothing for them to eat except chips and even then not every day i had spoke to the few english that was there and they all felt the same way there was no italian restaurant dont open till may no snack bar dont open till may the kiddies pools were empty and dirty there was cables hanging out out of the concrete by the pool, the photos that people have put on here didnt look like nothing we had to eat and thats why we booked this hotel as it had everything we wanted but didnt get none of it im sure as the season goes on it will be more geared up for the english but be advised it is not what we had looked at on here i feel bad in writing a negative review but people should no what they are getting for there money

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Mr Mark B;
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
For your information, OAP's season in Spain is from October to May , they fill the hotels in low season all over Spanish coast , when abroad tourist seldom used to come to Majorca.
Sometimes it is quite difficult to manage such a different nationalities and ages to satisfy your needs but we try to do our best.
We hope that these explanations are satisfactory for you and look forward to hearing from you.
We look forward to seeing you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel end of March for 1 week, on arrival we were unsure if we had entered a hotel or old folks home as the hotel was FULL of Spanish OAP'S! We were aware we was going out of season but to say Palma Nova and Magaluf was like a ghost town day and night is no stretch of the truth with majority of bars and restaurants closed! The hotel itself was ideally situated in between Palma Nova & Magaluf, very clean and friendly helpful staff. Food was ok but certainly nothing like photos I have seen on this site, no beans or mushrooms at breakfast and no bacon one morning! On one occasion there was cows kidney and pigs trotters on the menu! I have had worse food and there was always something to choice from so we were ok with the food. Drinks were nice for AI, snack bar closed as out of season but they offered tapas instead. For the amount we payed can't complain and would return but in season next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I holiday a lot and have never written a review but felt I had to as this hotel really let's the side down !! 4 star !! They cannot be serious ! Just stayed for 4 days all the pools are empty wires hanging out heaps of sun beds piled up but need a wash etc. if they are willing to be open and taking people's money they need to pull there fingers out !! No free wifi ! And yet it's free on the beach ! I would not suggest this hotel to anyone ! They even quibbled about us asking for a pint of water !!! We asked for water not vodka !!! Such a shame as the staff ( Carmen behind the bar all alone I may add !!!! Makes the very best sangria and was so sweet) the guy on reception the room staff were all so nice and generally the hotel is quite nice and spotless. badly run I think !!!

Stayed: March 2014
5  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear JAN R,
Sorry for this late reply.
We regret that Marina Torrenova did not meet your expectations .
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
Thanks for this review and the mention to our staff
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Alua Palmanova Bay
Alua Palmanova Bay
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Palmanova by Melia - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSun Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSun Torrenova

Address: Avenida Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £57 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSun Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AluaSun Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
AluaSun Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing