We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL WE'VE STAYED IN BY FAR!!!”
Review of AluaSun Torrenova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AluaSun Torrenova
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Myself (22) and my girlfriend (21) travelled with our 3 yr old son and 2 other couples. We wre Recommended this hotel by Thomson as we wanted a quiet family hotel, close to the beach, with a kids club, nightly entertainment and also within walking distance to Magaluf.

THIS HOTEL HAS IT ALL.

FIRST impressions of the hotel were good as the main lobby and reception area were immaculate. Check-in was done quickly and efficiently by a friendly gentleman who then directed us to the lift.
The rooms were big enough to sleep the 3 of us and also came with a fridge, televison and hairdryer. A safe is available for a deposit. Bathroom was also big enough to accommodate us, with excellent shower and the balcony was of a good size to. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels everyday..

There are 2 pools at this hotel. There is the main pool and also a separate kids pool. On a daily basis there are lots going on around the pool with aqua aerobics which was well organised by the Thomson reps and there were games and quizzes to. The pool area can get busy at times but we had no issues in getting a sunlounger everyday. Kids also have an onsite playpark which is advantageous. There is a snack bar at the pool selling toasties, burgers etc and is reasonably priced.

At breakfast and dinner times the food was of a good standard. There was always something we could eat. Kids had their own separate buffet which also had a great selection. The only downside was the orange juice machine could do with being re-filled as most days it was just cloudy water coming out.

Nightly entertainment was also available and on 1 particular night there was a Queen tribute band who were fantastic.

The hotel also boasts a laundrette where you can do your washing and ironing. Tokens are available from reception for a small charge. There is also a creche for infants and a games room for toddlers aswell as the usual pool table and gaming machines. There is also internet access in the main lobby for 1 euro for 10 mins.

And Now...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................THE HILL........ Well to be honest it wasn't that bad. We had a buggy with us and we still managed it up and down without any struggle.....However i wouldnt reccommend anyone with walking difficulties to stay at this hotel.

During our stay we visited western waterpark and went on a glass bottom boat trip. The waterpark was great however the boat trip wasnt worth the money as all you could see was cloudy water.Pirates is a must and although very expensive is an excellent fun-filled night out for all the family. For the more adventurous thrill seeker why not try out the sling shot. Myself and my girlfriend went on this and you get a dvd and 2 t shirts for 25 euro. You are guaranteed to have a laugh when showing family and friend the footage back home.

In my opinion Mgaluf and Palma Nova are great resorts with plenty to see and do. Palma Nvais the quieter resort and Magaluf is alot livlier. By staying at this hotel you can have the best of both worlds. The Hotel Marina Torrenova is close to both Palma Nova and Magaluf beaches and is sited close to all local amenities.


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will most definately be returning in the near future.

Enjoy your stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bankie-boy-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

let me start by saying this hotel is defo in magaluf and is set on a very steep hill and let me tell you i walk mountains (its steep). Firstly the maids do not come every day and although the hotel seems clean look closely enough and you will see infestations of ants. If yor after a laugh you should get up at 8.15am to watch the brits run for the sunbeds its hilarious! bar prices are expensive but it is a hotel and thats what you would expect! its basic budget accomodation that accomodates brits that don't care about their reputations for a week or two so if thats what you like then you will be ok here

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sali-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

overall this is a great little hotel, we stayed all inclusive for £200 each for 4 nights via travelsupermarket.com so shop about for good deals! (flights booked seperatly)

food was suprisingly excellent - plenty of variety on the 4 nights we stayed and they actually cater for english tastes - i had the best roast beef i've ever had!!!! one night had roast beef, yorkies and veg followed by apple crumble and custard!!!!! an english dream lol!!
beer is served ice cold and they put on daily cocktails too.
pool is good and they have a seperate small kiddies pool away from the main one. sunbeds are a free for all and you are packed in quite close though!
rooms are clean and tidy but the beds i found are a tad hard - bit like campbeds!

there is always games and stuff to play by the reps/animation teams but the night entertainment is mostly for kids then its either bingo or karoke!

wifi availble in reception area and there are the pay as you go terminals available too

this hotel is a 2 minute walk to a beach and 5 mins to magulluf bars/nightlife

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This is the 4th time that our family have stayed in this hotel - and I have to say we were a bit worried before we went based on the previous reviews. After we booked our holiday, we were advised by Thomsons that the family entertainment had been cancelled so I looked for reviews and was shocked at the comments regarding the non family element of the people visiting. However, the entertainment to be honest was better than in previous years - it wasn't quite as 'in your face' and the childrens clubs run by the hotel were a lot better as they were mainly based outside - it was the only year that my children have joined in.

The food in this hotel is fine - you have to remember that it is a 3* hotel so you are not going to get the best food in the world. Some nights were better than others but you could always find something to eat - this hotel is cheap so say how centrally based it is so all in all it is good value.

We weren't at the hotel every day in the daytime as we like to go to the beach (if you go to the beach - Katie's is a must for your lunch as it really is good food), so to be all inclusive when you're not there in the day is pointless, but for the last 5 days we went all inclusive as our children wanted to stay at th pool and it is definatley worth the money if you are to stay at the hotel in the day - 15 euros for adults and 7.50 for children.

The hotel was nice and clean and rooms cleaned daily, the rooms were ok for space but all you do is sleep in them at the end of the day so they were fine.

One thing I must recommend is the Pirates show (we never went before but on our 4th visit here we said we wuold and it is definatley worth the money). We got a taxi there (it is practically next to the waterpark and about 5 euros) and we went for the option with food - you get drinks as well - it was about 149 euros which is quite a bit but I can say it is well worth the money - very funny and entertaining show.

I have to say that there were no stag or hen parties on our visit, there were a few small all male and all female groups but were not any bother really. I was however woken up on the 4th night but this was from a small goup of lads that got into their room and after 2 or minutes max I heard nothing more. On the 2nd week we were kept up by the family next door to us who kept their tv on from 12.30 - 7.00am - they left the next day!

All in all, I am glad that we went back to this hotel, the location is great, the beach is great, the childrens entertainment is great and we all had a good time again - good value for money. Special mention to Sally and Julia for their fantastic kids shows and entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Just back from the Marina Torrenova, and really am pushed to find any fault with this hotel.Very clean, food good, breakfast the best ! No noise to speak of, nearby apartments where someone else mentions them chucking stuff over balconies....... Never even saw anyone in them in the day! No stag/hens either....Pool is lovely, staff very friendly and helpful..kids club in afternoon, which my son loved.. plus the evening entertainment, which ok after 5 nights I'd had enough of, but I sat outside! Sally and Eva were very good , bingo on every night, kids can play too!Yes it's a bit of a steep hill, but only noticed it when it was really hot. Very near to beaches, Palma Nova etc......I would definately return here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momofaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our 10 night stay. We had a pool view on the 5th floor as requested. The room was very clean and had ample wardrobe space, TV with english channels, hairdryer, phone, fridge etc. Maid service was daily. It was the first time we had been on a half board basis as we have always been self catering and it was definitely the right choice for us. The hotel food was outstanding with a different menu each night and plenty to choose from. They even had a children's food section. We decided against all inclusive as it was going to cost 37.50€ per day to upgrade. To be honest we only spent around 12€ over the lunchtime on light snacks and ice cream as our days were spent on the beach. There was a cheap supermarket a few minutes from the hotel where we would buy the 5 litre water bottles and 2 litre fizzy drinks bottles which we kept in the hotel fridge and then just filled up smaller bottles to take to the beach with us every day to save money. We felt the hotel was in a central location with amenities within easy walking distance. There is an incline which you notice more when you head back to the hotel especially when you are pushing a buggy but thought of this more like exercise working off all the food I had been eating, it certainly would not deter us from staying here in the future. The hotel had a good variety for the children with daytime activities, pool, soft play, arcade games and two playgrounds on site. We only stayed in a couple of times for the evening entertainment which was very good but we wanted to try alternative places. We found a fab pub called the OK Bar with very friendly staff, reasonably priced drinks and great music too. Our daughter left her doll in the hotel room on the last day and after contacting them once we had returned home the staff promised to send it back to us as they knew how much it meant to her. They did in fact keep to their word and we got the doll back 5 weeks later. This was our first family holiday and we had an amazing time. Would definitely return to this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clare_1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Having read the horrendous reviews on various websites it was with trepidation that we went on our holiday which was booked late 2009 and a bit of a bargain I have to say.

We did see Stag and Hen parties, but as mentioned these didn’t impact greatly on our holiday, some overzealous behavior when returning late at night but nothing else.

The property that is adjacent to the hotel is full of twenty something boy/girls who will spend the whole day and night using bad language, shouting, removing various articles from their rooms and depositing them over the balconies and lastly generally damaging the place. This did wind me up as there was nothing you could do and it is not something the hotel/tour operators can deal with. Although, I would say that they must be aware of it and the language you hear over the wall is too much even for me.

The hill or as a certain tour operator would say a "slight incline".
If you look up the definition of a slight incline the definition would be "little" or "insignificant". The hill is neither of those and by the end of your break you would have shed some of the pounds from around your backside and hips because it it is fairly steep and not recommended for older people. My children are fit but even they struggled some days after frolicking on the beach all day. Nothing to stop you booking; but just be aware of it.

The hotel is spotless clean throughout the common areas and the maids do a good job keeping the rooms clean. The furniture in the rooms has seen better days and the towels are also not always in good condition.

We stayed in a family suite which sleeps 2 - 5 people and was perfect for our family of 5. For the little extra it is worthwhile trying to secure one but there are only a small amount of these rooms.

Entertainment was a mixed bag, the obligatory mini disco is on for 4 nights out of the 7 with the other 3 nights used as animal shows (snakes and parrots etc). On the upside they had bingo most nights with a full house paying circa 100 Euro's, kids could join in as well.

Some of the main acts left a little to be desired but if you fancied anther run up and down the hill you can always pop into Palma Nova or Maguluf to find alternative entertainment.

The food as mentioned is bland but catering for 4 or 5 different nationalities cant be easy, I did struggle some nights to find something to eat but what else can you expect.

We like others paid the extra 15 Euros per day per person (7.5 Euros for children 2 – 12) and it saved us a fortune, would highly recommend it if you have a large family.

All in all not brilliant but I have stayed in worst places.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GavT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alua Palmanova Bay (ex Intertur)
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSun Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSun Torrenova

Address: Avenida Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £60 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSun Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AluaSun Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
AluaSun Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing