We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once we got a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“once we got a room”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

we booked and travelled with jet2 holidays that review will come later......... we arrived at the hotel only to be told there was no room available till the next day but there was a room for us at their sister hotel in santa ponsa..we had booked in january with jet 2.Any way we refused and said we were going to get a flight back to the UK this seemed to work as we were then given a room,but i believe later arriving guests were all moved for 24 hours ..
THE REVIEW..... the hotel is in a perfect location, the staff are all excellent and hard working they are an asset to the hotel..the 2 drink rule works very well plastic glasses during the day glass ones in the evening the pool area is smallish but the beach is only 10 yards from the hotel and you were allowed to take your drinks to the beach..the food was not all chips as some reviewers have said there is ,soup salad bar , pasta veg meat dishes potatoes boiled mashed and yes chips rice fish sweets icecream etc etc etc the snacks were poor for an all inclusive hotel popcorn crisps and sandwiches and when they were gone at about 5 pm there was no more but i am sure they will get that right next year. the only people who could complain would be the ones wanting 5 star service at a three star hotel.. the rooms were all cleaned every day
On the whole a good quality 3 star hotel and i would certainly come again but would book through thomsons or thomas cook if only to ensure a room thank you to all the staff for giving us a good holiday to the senior management of grand isla hotels invest in a new booking procedure and stop blaming the dammed computer
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR FAMILIES AND COUPLES

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mackem3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    372
    207
    87
    85
See reviews for
352
414
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed here 13 - 27 September, with my daughter and 2 grandsons, and we all loved it, We had room 311, 3 single beds and a cot and still plenty of space to move around, the room was cleaned every day by a very friendly lady, the food was always hot and a fairly good choice. yes the pool area is small but with the lovely beach across the road who needs a pool? the staff are very hard working and brilliant especially gail and Vicky ( thank you). Will definately be going back next year. A big thank you to all the staff for helping to make our stay enjoyable x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhianwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kissimee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

First time in Majorca. Tropico is in a good position far enough away from Magaluf for a peaceful holiday but near enough by taxi if its night life your wanting. Special mention to Mari the entertainment lady. She is a fantastic ambassador for the tropico, pity some of her charisma couldn't rub off on miserable Miguel but hey ho theres always one bad apple.
Rest off the staff fab well done their always very busy but always manage to cope with a big smile. Rooms basic but very clean lovely views of the sea. Pool busy but the beach is over the road and the beaches are excellent.Only draw back for me was the beds are so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deby90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have just returned from the tropico playa and to be honest prior to going I had read all the reviews and was a bit concerned to say the least.

On arrival my mind was put at ease a speedy check in and a quick wander around I knew it would be fine.

The hotel is smaller than alot of resort hotels but I think this added to the holiday , The pool area isn't massive but with a beach 25 yards away most people when i was here used the beach.which is great. The pool bar serves sandwiches crisps etc which were good if you wanted a quick bite to eat.

The room was fine a typical layout with balcony and a view over the pool and beach it was on the 4th floor ,the maid service was excellent. The hotel was kept clean and tidy and with regards to the decor it seemed fine to me it certainly wasn't tatty.

The main bar area leads to the front outside terrace which is a nice place to sit enjoy a drink and watch the world go by and chat with other guests. The bar service was very good and the drinks were standard all inclusive fare more than drinkable.

The restuarant is a bit on the small side but there was always a table available ,there was a good choice of dishes available for breakfast,lunch and dinner ,albeit not as many as some larger hotels I have stayed in majorca.. But more than enough choice for me..

I found it quite amusing that some guests while i was there were complaining after a meal that there wasn't anything thing to eat ,these were the same people who were going up two or three times to refill there plates and then on to the desserts..

The hotel is in the quieter end of palmanova which was ideal for me,but for the nightlife of magaluf it is a bit of a walk and if your in high heels it's really a taxi ride..


I loved this hotel because it was small and personal I meet alot of nice people,from dorchester ,ipswich and all parts of the uk there was a good atmosphere.

This is a nice hotel in a great location for an excellent price and it is a 3 star. If you want 5 star accomadation and cuisine pay 5 star prices don't blame the hotel .

I will be booking for next year as I had a great time

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My family stayed at the Tropico in August this year and I cannot praise it enough, the staff were so warm and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were cleaned every day and the restaurant had a very good selection. The childrens entertainer Mari knew every child by name and made sure they all had fun.
We would definatley consider staying there again

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor the balcony was a generous size and the views were fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

we had a great time at this hotel we have just rebooked it for next year rooms were clean food was good, drinks were great pool was nice ans clean staff were very nice

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the tropico last year and had a really chilled holiday bit outdated but cheap and cheerful and has a great location just over the road from palma nova beach. We went this year begining of september they have since made it an all inclusive hotel big mistake for a start of it, s too small for families around the pool area it was too full outside on the patio area you could not get a seat, the hotel is not big enough for all inclusive in our opinion. We arrived on the sunday and was told they had overbooked along with 3 other couples we where sent to sant ponsa to there sister hotel for the afternoon and night as you can imagine we was not pleased this apparently happens often we were vey stressed out and it ruined the start of our holiday.To be fair when we went back next day (they paid for taxis) we got a nice room and a free safe,fridge and wine.

Felt sorry for the receptionist as they obviously take all the flak and the staff are lovely.
Not sure we would go again though not keen on all inclusive but since we got a good deal we could,nt afford to turn it down.

Sharon

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 39 in Palmanova
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing