We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Not sure what people are expecting from this hotel as you get value for money!!!! Food plenty of choice, same with all incl drink selection. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly ,we were in a party of 18 and bar staff always let us get more than one (very strong) drink at a time. The rooms were a bit dated but spotless and comfortable and served there purpose!!! As for the location you couldn’t ask for better on a beautifully clean beach with pubs and restaurants all nearby if you were to fussy for the food selection….. I was very apprehensive about going to this hotel from the reviews but would defiantly go back !!! Perhaps all the moaning myrtles out there should save a bit more money and go to a 4* hotel!!!!!1

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

6 ladies on a 3 night break. this hotel suited us. small. staff fantastic friendly very helpful. the beach was just across the road drinks were allowed to be taken over. sun beds on the beach were expensive but it was our choice to sit on the beach.

the food was plentiful and varied of choices each day.

the hotel was clean. yes it is 3 star but the price reflects this.

we intend coming back to this hotel next year as we had such a great break.

Room Tip: a sea facing room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tina_small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

food not good wine foul the wine was alright the first week and the second week you could not drink it it was white wine but we was talking 2 a guest and they said the red wine was the same and if you are dasabled like my husband it is no good for you be cause the main bar is shut till they open from 12.30 till 3.00 inthe afternoon and rest of the time you have 2 go 2 the pool bar which you have 2 go up about 12 steps and the main bar opens again at 5.30 evening

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazel107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just got back from a week at the tropico playa in palma nova (7 nights 2nd-9th june 2012) and this was our first holiday without the kids. Up to 2 weeks before we went the reviews on here were excellent but then a few bad ones were being added just before we left for majorca so we were a little worried, although not too much because some people will moan about anything.
Here is what you can expect on you stay:-
LOCATION....Excellent, you wont find better, if you are given a pool or sea view you will think you have gone to heaven with amazing views across the bay. the beach is right across the road and it is a fantastic beach. there are shops and bars at either side of the hotel so there is something for every one.
HOTEL...... well what can i say, Tired would be an honest description but please remember that this is a budget 3* hotel, many reviews talk abouts ants etc but the only thing we saw was one little cockroach, but hey this is spain you are going to get the odd one arnt you! The rooms are very basic with no tv or coffee making facilities but the coffee out of the hotels machines was very good. the rooms are very clean and the maids do an excellent service. The furniture down in the lounge and dining rooms need replacing as they are getting old. one of the best parts of the hotel is the patio area outside the dinning room as you can sit there with a drink and look out over Palma Nova bay and watch the world go by.
FOOD...... Ouch... Again its a 3* budget hotel and many were complaining about the quaility. apparently they are on there 3rd chef this year lol, If you like salad, soup, chips or deserts then you are fine, but there seems to be a big lack of seasoning or imagination with main meals.
Breakfast is ok if you want continental and the bread is loverly, but as with many spanish hotels they cannot do bacon or sausage to save there lives, and the beans were allways nearly cold.
DRINK.... I was quite suppried at the drinks, we have been all inclusive before and found most hotels water the lager etc down. Not the case here, found the lager ok and wife drank black russian cocktials all week. Dont have any ready made cocktails though as they are disgisting and come out of a machine, the wines not the best either but is drinkable.
STAFF AND ENTERTAINMENT..... Found the staff very friendly and helpfull expecially the dining room staff and bar staff. the entertainment was poor and the kids entertainer resigned within 2 days of us arriving, although that didnt bother us because we didnt have kids with us. There is however loads of entertainment in the local bars etc.
OVERALL...... Would we go back ? Yes. we had a great holiday especially the location of the hotel, it was just food and entertainment that was a little let down.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jntsaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

spent 10 days there with some friends in may,hotel excellent allround,staff very helpfull

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

well we stayed in this hotel from 29th of may 2012 we got there early hours andthe front desk strait away peeed me of by not speaking A WORD OF ENGLISH! we go to are rooms with a key entering the room to find no tv aircon not workin mold and balcony facing a wall and steps wher maids carry the rubbish past every couple of hours very attractive no kettle. the letter thomas cook sent me every payment said all this was included in the rooms... i go back down to the front desk and explained the aircon not working i got back sort out another day. then the safe he give me the key and said il get money of u another day?.. ok.. food rubbish drinks rubbish staff absolutely shocking... i asked for a drink of water of one staff and he said thers a swimming pool around there? and walked of! salad was brown and the plates knifes etc was manky...luckly we took money to spend out of the hotel the area is onlythe best thing about it.. wouldnt go back hell no.... leaving hotel the staff were the nicest by see you soon blah blah dont no wether that was for a tip or what!!! i got a charge on my safe key cos it wasnt paid in on time and the guy that gave it me was of...shocking dont go watever u do!!!

Room Tip: dont get stook with room 119!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mad355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I are returning to the Tropico for the 4th time this Oct, having just returned from there in May.
The staff are friendly, ideal location, and the food is so varied, that It should suit everyones tastes. For the people who complained about the food, I would just like to know what they are used to back at home, this is a 3 * Hotel afterall. The public areas could do with a slight revamp, but this Hotel is fantastic value for money, and we now book direct with the hotel itself.
A great deal of people we met last year, were there again this year, and they love returning there the same as we do.
The Nightly entertainment could be improved, but the Stadium Bar is just up the road

Room Tip: Book direct with Hotel, and request a good room, i.e Pool View etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJRobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 38 in Palmanova
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#23 of 38 in Palmanova
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#17 of 38 in Palmanova
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £65 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing