We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“disgusting food”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent two weeks at this hotel. I will start with the good points. Air conditioning was great beds changed every day, towels changed every day. beds quite comfy. Staff were great. now for the bad. Food was disgusting I don't know what other people are used to but we found it to be really terrible. The breakfast, eggs, bacon, were swimming in grease. Sausages ugh, the food was frozen. Air conditioning blowing on to the food. Evening meals were as bad, I don't know what half of it was supposed to be but the very sight of it put me off. We were not the only ones moaning. Complained to the manageress and she agreed the food was cold, she said the air conditioning above the food would be switched of but no joy. There were no hairdryers, I have never been to an all inclusive hotel with no dryers. We had to pay for the fridge and the safe. We also had to buy water to drink and brush our teeth. You could only get water by the glass. We spent a lot of money eating out. The rooms are badly in need of an upgrade. Twice we found cockroaches in the room even after it was sprayed. Would I recommend it, never in a million years. The food started to pick up a bit before we left. I know some people will say you only get what you pay for but I expect to be able to eat some of the food. It's a pity because the hotel is in a great location. I nearly forgot, no entertainment for five nights. What a let down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    364
    202
    86
    81
See reviews for
344
395
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having just stayed a week at this hotel with friends and family, we found it basic. Most of the staff were pleasant but some were also very rude and they made this very clear when they served you. The food was ok if you like eating the same day in day out, no complaints about the alcohol, strong and plenty of it. Rooms were basic but cleanish. The hotel is in a great location opposite the beach not far from shops and restaurants. If we were to go back we would definitely pay that little extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Returned on Sat from Tropico Playa, well what can I say! if I had believed the reviews that some had posted I would not have gone, but you can't please everyone, if you want 4* food ect pay the price and upgrade. I found the location lovely the food was ok with a choice each evening and lunch, breakfast was adequate with toast, croissants, cakes, cereal and hot breakfast eery morning as well as fresh fruit with all meals. The drinks were very good as we were a party of 18 and as we were not restrcited to only 2 drinks per person as in other hotels we have stayed in this meant getting drinks for little ones and others in our party a dream. Pool area was a little cramped but always sunbeds to be found, crisp, popcorn cakes and teas and coffee always available throughout the day from the lovely Lola. Rooms clean, air con free and towels changed every other day with linen on beds changed 3 times in the week. Entertainment was the only thing that let this hotel down but we made our own. I will be going back as it catered for all in our party who ranged in age from 1 to 50, kids loved it. small mention to Pedro in the restaurant who was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Not sure what people are expecting from this hotel as you get value for money!!!! Food plenty of choice, same with all incl drink selection. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly ,we were in a party of 18 and bar staff always let us get more than one (very strong) drink at a time. The rooms were a bit dated but spotless and comfortable and served there purpose!!! As for the location you couldn’t ask for better on a beautifully clean beach with pubs and restaurants all nearby if you were to fussy for the food selection….. I was very apprehensive about going to this hotel from the reviews but would defiantly go back !!! Perhaps all the moaning myrtles out there should save a bit more money and go to a 4* hotel!!!!!1

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

6 ladies on a 3 night break. this hotel suited us. small. staff fantastic friendly very helpful. the beach was just across the road drinks were allowed to be taken over. sun beds on the beach were expensive but it was our choice to sit on the beach.

the food was plentiful and varied of choices each day.

the hotel was clean. yes it is 3 star but the price reflects this.

we intend coming back to this hotel next year as we had such a great break.

Room Tip: a sea facing room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tina_small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenerife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

food not good wine foul the wine was alright the first week and the second week you could not drink it it was white wine but we was talking 2 a guest and they said the red wine was the same and if you are dasabled like my husband it is no good for you be cause the main bar is shut till they open from 12.30 till 3.00 inthe afternoon and rest of the time you have 2 go 2 the pool bar which you have 2 go up about 12 steps and the main bar opens again at 5.30 evening

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazel107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just got back from a week at the tropico playa in palma nova (7 nights 2nd-9th june 2012) and this was our first holiday without the kids. Up to 2 weeks before we went the reviews on here were excellent but then a few bad ones were being added just before we left for majorca so we were a little worried, although not too much because some people will moan about anything.
Here is what you can expect on you stay:-
LOCATION....Excellent, you wont find better, if you are given a pool or sea view you will think you have gone to heaven with amazing views across the bay. the beach is right across the road and it is a fantastic beach. there are shops and bars at either side of the hotel so there is something for every one.
HOTEL...... well what can i say, Tired would be an honest description but please remember that this is a budget 3* hotel, many reviews talk abouts ants etc but the only thing we saw was one little cockroach, but hey this is spain you are going to get the odd one arnt you! The rooms are very basic with no tv or coffee making facilities but the coffee out of the hotels machines was very good. the rooms are very clean and the maids do an excellent service. The furniture down in the lounge and dining rooms need replacing as they are getting old. one of the best parts of the hotel is the patio area outside the dinning room as you can sit there with a drink and look out over Palma Nova bay and watch the world go by.
FOOD...... Ouch... Again its a 3* budget hotel and many were complaining about the quaility. apparently they are on there 3rd chef this year lol, If you like salad, soup, chips or deserts then you are fine, but there seems to be a big lack of seasoning or imagination with main meals.
Breakfast is ok if you want continental and the bread is loverly, but as with many spanish hotels they cannot do bacon or sausage to save there lives, and the beans were allways nearly cold.
DRINK.... I was quite suppried at the drinks, we have been all inclusive before and found most hotels water the lager etc down. Not the case here, found the lager ok and wife drank black russian cocktials all week. Dont have any ready made cocktails though as they are disgisting and come out of a machine, the wines not the best either but is drinkable.
STAFF AND ENTERTAINMENT..... Found the staff very friendly and helpfull expecially the dining room staff and bar staff. the entertainment was poor and the kids entertainer resigned within 2 days of us arriving, although that didnt bother us because we didnt have kids with us. There is however loads of entertainment in the local bars etc.
OVERALL...... Would we go back ? Yes. we had a great holiday especially the location of the hotel, it was just food and entertainment that was a little let down.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jntsaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#32 of 39 in Palmanova
3.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing