We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were 4 adults with 2 rooms,

We have had many trips to Majorca but only once before at an all inclusive hotel, our last experience put us off it, but this year we thought we would try again. The location of the hotel is great just across the road from the beach. There are an abundance of shops either side of the hotel with plenty of seating along the front for those who want a sit down inbetween shops, all on flat ground very easy for walking. The hotel has a few steps into it and there is another flight of steps to some of the rooms that use the lift at the rear of the building which is where we were. We had a fabulous uninterrupted view of the sea over the pool. If you tell the hotel before you go that you cant manage steps they will arrange for you to be in a room that uses to lift at the front with no steps. The rooms are cleaned and fresh towels every day except Sunday, our room was done every day before 10.00am. The dining room is a delight especially when Pedro is on duty (Pedro - thank you for the birthday cake) Every dish we had at dinner was perfectly cooked and plenty choice every lunch time and dinner time, breakfast was always plentifull, no dish of any kind was allowed to be empty for any time. If you see the spare ribs make sure you try them - yuuummmm. Only occassionally we were asked to wait about 2 mins for a table to be ready for us which we didnt mind.

The bar staff were pleasant and quite funny, only two drinks per person per visit to the bar which was never a problem even though there were 4 of us, there was never a long queue and the drinks were powerfull. Vodka and lemonade one night had to get some lemonade to add too it cos it was too strong. Although not masses of seats on the lovely terrace outside at the front of hotel we never had any trouble getting a table to sit at when we wanted one. Lola at the pool bar very nice where you can get hot and cold drinks sandwiches cake and crisps but after the dining room breakfast and lunch we never had to have a snack before dinner.

Absolutely going back next year. It is a 3 star hotel and in our experience it deserves another star. Staff were all cheerful and helpful, rooms were clean, water hot, food good, view fab, drinks not skimped, entertainment varied and the fabulous Pedro looking after you in the dining room.

Room Tip: There is about 25 extra steps to the rooms serviced by the rear lift, specify you cannot use steps i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    368
    203
    86
    83
See reviews for
346
406
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break (4th - 8th October 2012) and have a wonderful experience at this Hotel.
The location is perfect for beach lovers with a 2 minute walk to a lovely sandy beach. The staff at the hotel were all very efficient and friendly. The restaurant was clean, lovely hot food and a good variety, and for vegaterians too. Lots of yummy deserts and the drinks were on tap and you have a good choice of alchol or soft drinks. Keep up the good work Pedro!
Just enough entertainment to keep you occupied and good seating arrangements.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and cleaned daily.
Don't listen to negative reviews, we will be going back. Good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tropico Playa from the 2nd October to the 9th,Beautifully located,food excellent,staff all pleasant and friendly,The rooms were clean, but dont expect maid service on Sundays,which was no problem, no T.Vs in the rooms again not a problem for us, if we'd had t.v we would have used it, but didn't miss it,Very Generous free flow drinks,we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book you are in a block with a lift, as one block has no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winkleDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was my first holiday abroad and I thurally enjoyed it all the staff are very helpfull especially pedro in the dining room he will give u a laugh every day a very pleasant man . The hotel is in a great location as its straight across from the beach and only a short walk into magaluf . The entertainment isn't great but we found a little bar across the rd called the stadium bar and its great place for drinks especially in happy hr lol . All in all a very enjoyable stay in the hotel Tropico playa and would defiantly stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klevans1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Don't listen to the reviews I checked them out before leaving for my holiday and was a little worried but we just returned on the 4th October and we had a fab time all the staff from reception bar bedroom dining room were all fab made you feel very welcome great location just to sit and watch the world go by food good and always hot and plentifull. Thomas and bar staff great and Julie on reception all looked after us entertainment was better than I expected I would return to this hotel with no hesitation Helen /Thomas Rose

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildrose1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Arrived back Saturday, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Some staff very helpful and cheerful especially Julia at reception who treated us like old friends and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Also Pedro put a smile on your face when you entered the dining room but Julia should get a gold star. Hotel requires a wee bit of TLC in the decor and linen department but that is easily remedied. Location an ideal base to travel to other areas. Food choice was getting a bit repetitive towards the end of our stay but that was our taste and choice to eat out a couple of times but there was plenty of good food on offer if we wanted to eat in the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our first attempt at all inclusive, we found that the food was good and plentiful, our only concern was that it did not cater very well for childrens food, grandson is a funny eater so he lived on chips and bread and a mcdonalds at night, other than that very enjoyable.You can not fault most of the staff, they were all very friendly, the hotel is in a prime position, just across the road from a lovely beach, and in the centre of the promanade.the pool is small and does not open till 9-30am which is a bit late, but it has to be cleaned daily, it is a stuggle to get loungers when hotel is full, but we managed. All in all we have rebooked for next year so we must have enjoyed it and would recommend this hotel for a cheap friendly holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerryhop1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#21 of 39 in Palmanova
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#27 of 39 in Palmanova
1,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#32 of 39 in Palmanova
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing