We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
tarn
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed for a week in June.
décor dated but clean enough, bath/shower fine, bedding & towels changed 6 out of 7 days.
excellent sea view,

staff work extremely hard so simple good manners isn't too much to ask, for once it wasn't the brits i felt embarrassed for!

breakfast was very good, only once or twice did the other meal times have nothing that appealed to me, just don't eat for the sake of it, better off going out, (did laugh at a person who had bacon & egg on top of a orange?)

didn't have any problems getting a lounger,
pool big enough to have a cold dip, perhaps the pool bar could stay open later than 5pm though,
they keep a few sandwiches there too, also you can ask for a packed lunch (day before) to take to the beach (or airport) which has bread chicken fruit water etc.

only saw a bit of the entertainment, not my cup of tea, but didn't seem too bad what i saw.

would return again , but take extra euros to have a few meals out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    372
    207
    87
    85
See reviews for
352
414
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in June as a couple. The hotel was clean and towels/sheets were changed every day. The food was OK, what you'd expect for the cheap price and nothing to complain about. We tended to eat out most of the time though for dinner as eating at the hotel every day would get extremely boring (we mainly made the most of the all inclusive drinks).

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Literally right on the beach, it's a perfect base for a holiday in Palmanova.

On a negative note, I did seem to lose some of my money on this holiday and after reading previous reviews it is worrying to see that others had their possessions stolen from their rooms. I can't say for sure how I lost it but i did leave my money in my case in my room occassionally and so I can't rule out that possibility unfortunately.

That thought aside, we had a great stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here in June hotel spotless, clean towels every day and sheets every 2 day.
Food great, lots of choice at every meal, entertainment good some acts better than others.
Lovely views from the hotel.
Staff helpful and friendly, only complaint on the day we were leaving our key would not work after breakfast the maid let us in, we paid 20 euros to keep the room as we had a late flight so the key was updated. We opened the safe at lunch time to get some money out and it would not re-lock went to reception and said we would have to pay for another day to use the safe. One of the reasons to keep your room is so your passports etc. are in the safe, therefore to end the safe before you leave is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a sea view one nearer to the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the 4th time i have been to this hotel and once again had a great time. we met up with friends that we have made at the hotel who like us return year after year. Do not listen to the moaning Minnie on here. I do agree it is basic and the food could be a bit better but you can always find something to eat. They have nice crusty rolls so you can always make up ham cheese or salad roll for lunch, and to b honest in that heat it was 41 when we were their in June so a light lunch is plenty. The staff are always nice and they work very hard. Hotel is in a great location opposite the beach and shops restaurants are all on your doorstep. I will defiantly be returning again next year.

Room Tip: any sea facing is good but if you go for any room in the 06 07 08 it is cooler in the morning if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waccymaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just back with my wife ,very nice hotel with great views we were in room 524 possibly the best room for views? Rooms were very old fashioned and could do with an upgrade but heh it's just somewhere to put your head at night, food was a bit mixed, sometimes lukewarm, but on a whole was ok, pool area was very small and tight and could do with new loungers, staff were very friendly, overall great wee hotel mainly for couples, would consider going back again, one downside 18 euros a week for safe is a bit on the hefty side but then again am a tight scotsman☺

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Myself & my husband both stayed here between 19th -26th June, on arrival we were met by lovely receptionist who was very helpful. He showed us to our rooms which was room 428, a beautiful view over the sea. The rooms are very clean and the maid service is excellent, although we did find the beds a little on the hard side (nothing like your home comforts). The staff are all lovely and polite and always willing to help, in particular, Olaf (the pool bar man), I cannot understand earlier comments on here about them been miserable, because this clearly wasn't the case, they work the longest hours, so I expect the word used would be tired. The food in the restaurant was gorgeous, there was something different everyday with lots of choice. There is also champagne served for breakfast should you wish, once again the staff there are very helpful. Despite their long hours they were always polite and smiled, they kept the small children amused, gave them balloons etc, always had lots of time for you. The bar area on an evening is very comfortable and the entertainment was very good. After the bar closes there is local bars that you can go, with fantastic entertainment (the Stadium). Is a must. We will definitely be going again, thinking of going a little later in the year, perhaps October time.
Many thanks to all the staff that made our holiday a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: A room with pool and sea view are the best, I cannot comment on any other rooms as this was my first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaldieDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 12-26 June 2014.
Firstly , ignore those who have given this a bad rating /review as you get what you pay for and I thought it was excellent value for money.
Staff are very friendly which gives it a good atmosphere
The hotel is opposite the beach and close to lots of shops , bars and about a 15 min walk to Magaluf .
Bus stop is close by on opposite side of hotel to Palma , they run regularly and costs €3.15 each way. Bus 106 is the express bus that doesn't have many stops.
I found the food to be good , the full English breakfast was delicious , lunches I thought were better than the evening meal but there was always a good choice.
My stay was all inclusive , you help yourself in the restaurant , there is a pool bar and a bar in the main hotel , good selection of soft drinks ( Pepsi & sprite etc) and good local alcoholic drinks . They give you massive measures so beware ! You don't wear a wristband but the staff remember you and what your favourite tipple is! There is a terrace where you can sit with your drink which must be the envy of every other hotel and bar as it over looks the sea and you can people watch .
My room was 523 and had a fantastic view of the whole bay. Towels were changed daily and bedding twice weekly. There is no TV or hair dryer and take an extension cable as no plug near the dressing table. Rooms cleaned daily except Mondays and were spotless., comfortable and a good size.
The pool area is small but never had a problem getting a bed if we wanted one but we preferred the lovely beach opposite and they didn't mind you taking drinks , ice creams and lollies from the bar .
The entertainment was ok but not great, they had a few tribute shows , parrot show and an illusionist. The best night was when they had a young DJ who played chill out music.
There is wifi in the hotel but is expensive , go to macdonalds across the road where it is free .
The only thing that let the hotel down for me was that there was often dirty plates amongst the clean ones in the restaurant which they need to address .
Overall this hotel is basic and could do with some updating but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and felt I received very good value for money .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Laters5aby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 39 in Palmanova
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Palmanova Apartments
Marina Palmanova Apartments
#29 of 39 in Palmanova
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing