We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money in Current World Economic Climate & Austerity Measures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
On tour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value For Money in Current World Economic Climate & Austerity Measures”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Have read all the precises re negative reviews and cannot concur - can only praise this establishment - Website :- Granisla.com - look re virtual tour firstly. Hotel is 3 star, but nice and friendly. Staff extremely helpful at all times. Dining room a tad small, so at peak times, can`t accomodate clientele ` en masse `! Waiters, senior in years, do an admirable job! - Juniors - well what does one say, if that were applicable! Meal times are neither too late nor too early.Food extremely good,varied,and hot! `Rotting fruit ` - where?.Breakfast ` juices` are via concentrate dispenser - like you would receive from any fast food outlet in the U.K. - a certain brand of cola being prevalent here!Ambulent/heavy bagge access good via ramp to side of front steps. Pool, correctly maintained, a little small, usually full of children but depths clearly marked. Approx. 30 sun loungers in area, usually ` taken ` early - progression from the German synopsis many years ago! Baby and toddler pool ideal - if under adult supervision. Rooms/bathrooms basic. Mattresses firm offering good lateral support. Pillows soft. Additional beds being ` z - bed ` type with mattresses. Balconies standard dimension with uPVC riveted safety rails in main building only. uPVC double glazed windows and doors leading to balcony area. Air conditioners - isolator switch maintained plus door contactors.Remote contols for same NOT in room - understandable since too costly to replace if dropped, damaged etc. hence FULL CONTROL OF AIR CON inapplicable. Vertical and horontal diffusion done manually!Wardrobe/drawer space acceptable. Towels - plentiful - drop on floor if spoiled, for replacement next day.Midi size safe in all rooms, available to rent, likewise table top refrigerators.Door entry via 1st Generation, encrypted, keycard system - susceptible to failure, if exposed to mobile telephone or digital camera nearby - NEEDS UPGRADE to modern standard, whereby aforementioned eradicated!The hotel itself is ` L ` shaped - main building and annexe. Looking at design, was built either in late ` 60`s or mid ` 70`s. Lift access to all floors in either segment, plus stairwell and emergency stairwell. Emergency lighting appears to be maintained, but one might expect the odd ` power out ` occasionally, for a few minutes!Rooms are RCD protected and power via 2 pin Shuko plugs ( U.K. 2 pin adaptors WILL fit - but remember - DO NOT exceed their rating! If using appliance OVER 2KW consider buying specialist adaptor, ie. Shuko to U.K. 3 pin earthed, available from specialist outlets. If you use the other type, it will fail! Clientele mainly from the U.K., but expect others. Suitable for small children, toddlers, couples, singles, senior and junior alike. Hotel literally across the main road from one of the two beaches in Palma Nova, and in a somewhat ` quiet` area.If you are a ` Clubber ` - then this is NOT for you - too far to the Discos of Magalluf - especially on foot! An ` Excellent Vale For Money Hotel `. REMEMBER - THIS IS NOT A 10 STAR SUPER LUXURIOUS TOWERING CONDOMINIUM, OFFERING FRESH EVERYTHING! -MORNING ORANGE JUICE INCLUDED! - YOU WANT THAT? - THEN PAY THE APPROPRIATE PRICE! - AND GO
ELSEWHERE IN THE WORLD! Thanks once again Seona, Vicky, Angel, Antonia and Miguel, not forgetting everyone else whose mames evade me at the moment, for a very enjoyable stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a ` small and friendly ` hotel on the island, and especially in the current economic climate, combined with the prevailing austerity measures. BIG IS NOT BEAUTIFUL! - WE LIKE ` SMALL AND FRIENDLY `! Mucho gracias Amigos !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truefacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    377
    208
    87
    86
See reviews for
360
416
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Just home from a trip with my sister. We both found this hotel very good for many things. It has a great location very central and a stones throw away from the beach. I travel at least 3 to 4 times a year and can honestly say the food there is the best that i have expericenced on my travels!!!! lovely lady that runs the hotel and she will make you feel very welcome. I will defo be back. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazeld25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Have just returned yesterday from the Tropico Playa and only one word can descirbe this hotel!! AMAZING!! Excellent locoation, brilliant food and great freindly staff!! I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone!! I travelled with my mum & dad, and 2 young children 7 & 2 and everyone had a brilliant time, food was great full english breakfast, with fruit and pastries in the mornings, and meat, fish, pastas, salads, desserts for the evening meals!

The staff are out of this world and so freindly, you really feel welcome in every part of this place!!

Right opposite the beautiful beach, with a strip of bars and restraunts and shops a stones throw away from the hotel!

Also Just up the road come out of the hotel turn right and you come across a great bar called North & South if you have young children this is the place to go!! They have a big bouncy castle, and loads of toys for them to play with whilst you can sit and relax in the sun!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Where can I start about the little diamond that is the Tropico Hotel in Palma Nova? This was our second visit and even better than the last one. The staff could not be more helpful and made us feel like family. My yougest daughter cried on the way home because she would miss Miguel and Angel so much.
We will definitely return to the Tropico.
+ Great food choices
++ very personal friwendly service
+++ 25 metres from the cleanest stretch of beach in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decoelcabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

second time at the tropico loved every min , had a room overlooking the sea as requested . the staff were brilliant , especially the receptionist who got me a late check out room ( she pulled out all the stops for me) the food was very nice , soups were very good and the roast beef like being at home , never had a bad meal , all the staff very helpfull n polite , i think miguel the head waiter is an asset to them and angel a delight in the dining room . for people watches which we are there is a good sized terrace at the front where you can watch the world go by , plenty of shops n bars close by , we used the venetian and castaways mostly where you allways got a cheery welcome , will be going again

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianpmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have just returned ( 21st June ) from a couple of nights at the Hotel Tropico in Palma Nova - the short stay being due to having two spare days prior to our return flight following a cruise.

This hotel is in an excellent location in Palma Nova across the road from the beach. We found the reception staff and management exceptionally helpful in every way both prior to our arrival and throughout our stay up and even after we had checked out on our last day by keeping our hand luggage secure and providing towels for the shower room which is near to the pool bar area. The dining room staff were also friendly and likewise our maid on the 4th floor. We requested a pool view /sea view on the top floor and the Manager and Receptionists went to great lengths to meet this request. For some people the room location is not important – for us it is a top priority.

We therefore had no complaints about our room but would point out that if you want a tv in your room there is none and nor is there a hairdryer ( but there is one in the shower room mentioned above). We thought the food overall was fine for the class and price of hotel. Plenty of choice and most of it was hot when it should be hot ! The hotel was not full on our visit and we would imagine that the swimming pool and surrounding area and the dining room too would be stretched to cope with a full hotel but our review can only be on what we witnessed and enjoyed and that was everything about our stay here.

There are very few hotels in the Palma Nova and Magaluf area with potential and this has to be the one with the most. If only it was possible for the hotel to have the land taken up by the crazy golf and the Tropico Cocktail bar integrated in to its own area then this hotel with further bedroom investment, a new latrger pool and pool area and larger dining room could be escalated into the top 3 in Palma Nova.

Evenings :- There appears to be some visiting guest act entertainment on about 3 nights a week plus bingo.

For people with limited mobility there is ramp access to the hotel and the surrounding area is quite flat too.

We stayed during the world cup and many other hotels seemed to be full of football fans with flags etc on the balconies – I only saw one at this hotel. The guests were all couples or families at the time of our visit – thankfully no stag parties / hen parties or gangs of lads banging doors in the early hours. The hotel may be just a bit too far away for the core of those who are primarily seeking the nightlife in Magaluf but in the end all hotels can get some of this.

At the time of our visit over half of the guests were British / Irish with the rest seeming to be Spanish on the whole. The hotel is also used by Panorama which is part of Thomas Cook.

This is only a brief review but we would recommend this hotel which we booked on its own website. It is part of the Granisla group. We would certainly go back again and will check with the hotel when we next wish to visit Palma Nova. All in all we would strongly recommend others to try this hotel if you are seeking accommodation in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HuddersfieldTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

After reading the above reviews we were worried about this hotel, but we cannot agree with anything bad said about it.
The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help and are a credit to the hotel. Our room was larger than other places we have stayed and cleaned on a daily basis. We found the food lovely and plentifull. The location is second to none, sat on the terrece looking out to sea sheer bliss!
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a relaxing holiday that wont break the bank, its not a young couples hotel as the nightlife is quite quiet.
All in all in our opinion the above reviews should be ignored.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbarnett011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#23 of 39 in Palmanova
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 39 in Palmanova
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Palmanova Apartments
Marina Palmanova Apartments
#29 of 39 in Palmanova
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing