We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy hotel yards from the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A happy hotel yards from the sea”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Had a three day break at the Tropico last weekend. We had a fabulous stay. It's a three star hotel and the rooms are three star standard. However the staff are four star! We stopped on half board for a fabulous price - the food was excellent, a huge choice at breakfast, ranging from bacon and eggs to fruit, yoghurt, cereals and chocolate bread. Evening meals were also good and varied - we had three good courses every night. Drinks were priced very reasonably for a hotel. Service excellent. We were given a sea view room above the pool. Fabulous!! As previous reviews have noted the pool area is a bit small - we had no probs getting a lounger but I guess it would be a different story in high season. However the sea is only a few yards from the hotel and the beach is superb. All in all a great place to spend a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    363
    202
    86
    81
See reviews for
343
394
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I had 4 nights/5 days stay at this hotel which was right opposite the beach. The room was tidy, clean, good side sea view overlooking the mini golf next door.
Why people chritisise the food I will never know, good english breakfast, bacon,egg,sausage,tomato,beans, toast, cereal, fruit and a brew, what else do you want, as far as tea was concerned, there was something for everyone and the soup and rolls were fantastic.My wife is a fussy eater, but there was something every night she could eat and enjoy, and the staff were great. The reception staff, cleaners and restaraunt and bar staff all deserve praise, they couldn't help enough.
The hotel becomes All-inclusive next year, so a trip in May or October would be great, where as in summer it maybe hectic.
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend as we had in October, the weather was great, and very relaxing.
This is not a 5 star hotel, it's what you pay for, clean, decent food, good location and friendly staff, if you want the 5 star treatment then you will have to pay a great deal more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Decided to stay in this hotel when looking for a cheap short break for a few days restful sun soaking.
We paid an apsolute bargain deal for flights and this hotel and I am aware of the saying 'you get what you pay for' but this is not true of this hotel.
For what we paid, this hotel was more than adaquate, it was very clean, lovely staff, it is fairly nice looking inside too. Our room was basic, with no TV but very clean. We also had a fairly nice side view of the beach. We had breakfast every morning which was made up of a great selection of foods which was all pleasant.
It is very ideally situated across the road from a lovely beach which is what I was looking for in a holiday, there is a wide variety of gift shops and restaurants in the local area, the gift shops are all much of a muchness selling the usual tat. The restaurants we ate at were all nice.
The weather was awful for a day or so so we craved a british cup of tea, if you like to go to little england restaurants and cafes then I would recommend a little cafe just 2 mins walk form the hotel called The Hideaway but plenty of tapas bars etc if you want to go native.
It is only 15 mins walk from Magaluf whereas Palma Nova tends to accomodate the older tourist and familys which suited us fine.
This hotel tended to have an older clientele too, I think we were the youngest there being in oour late 20's but meant for a nice trouble free quiet hotel which is perfect.
All in all, perfect hotel for a cheap beach break where you can expect a good clean hotel with good service and good food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsH31_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

we have been to palma nova at least 10 times and decided to give this hotel a go .knowing the beach was 50 yards from the hotel great location very freindly staff (you treat them with some respect they respect you ) even though they were short staffed they tried there best to look after you . rooms cleaned every day and a changed of towels when needed food not bad but eatable miguel one of the staff was very friendly and always tried his best to accomadate your needs in the resturant or at the bar my opinion is to give this hotel a go for the price you pay cannot grumble we will be re-booking this hotel for next season thankyou tropico from taylor family

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejune30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My friends and I spent a fantastic September week at the hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. We are all in our early 20s and were the youngest at the hotel by a long way. Although we didn't find this a problem, if you are expecting a lively atmosphere, you may prefer to search for other hotels.

The hotel itself was nice - buffet breakfast delicious and staff friendly. Our room was very dark and didn't get natural light so felt a bit stale at times. But, the room was cleaned thoroughly, beds were comfy and shower was good. We had a very cheap deal and got what we paid for and were happy with that. The swimming pool was small but nice - we found the sun stayed until about 3-4 when the tall buildings cast shadow so tended to move across the road to the beach then - not a problem.

Location was perfect too!

I would recommend this if you want a cheap and cheerful hotel with a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2010

just arrived back from the tropico palma nova with my family, we all had a fantastic time, all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the maids cleaned the rooms every day, the pool area was on the small side,but very clean with a little play area for young kids. we stayed half board the food and service was excellent, there was entertainment every night, the hotel was in an excellent location over looking the beach, definitely going back. hola to all the staff from ian christine and carla x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontipine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

hotel rihgt on beech front .beech very clean .hotel staff very helpfull,from reaception to bar and restraunt .food good,room clean ,swiming pool smal side but good to just chill out in .would reaturn for a stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#32 of 39 in Palmanova
3.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing