We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alua Palmanova Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabau Aquasol(Palmanova)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Don Bigote(Palmanova)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveller rating
827
828
330
91
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
828
330
91
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringnext yearpanda clubgreat holidaysea viewsteep hillfamily holidaythese apartmentsbar staffrefurbished roomkids clubpool areaone bedroom apartmentplenty of sunbedsblue barevery nightplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
1,824 - 1,829 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband, my two year old and myself stayed 5th sept - 12th sept.
Our room was infested with ants, we complained several times and nothing was done, we barely slept all week as there was so many in our room. The room smelled of damp and had mould patches everywhere. The beds were fold away beds, you couldnt really move on as they would flip. The room was supposed to get cleaned 5 days out of 7, but this was a quick going over, they never did the floors and we know this as the dead ants were still there. We got fresh towels 2 days, had to go to reception all other days, 1 day we asked the maid who took them out of another room and didnt replace these guests.
The food was awful, it was fast food all week, very poor variety, chips and pizza every night, and the chicken was raw.
The staff were lovely, the kids entertainment at night was good, and the bar overlooked the sea which was beautiful, this is the only good things.
Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived approximately mid-day and were advised that check-in wasn't until 3:30pm. We'd not previously been advised of this, but it didn't matter as we were given our all-inclusive wristbands and space to leave our suitcases in the room next to reception. The receptionist advised us to get some drinks, have some lunch and then pop back. He said if our room was ready we'd be able to check in early. He noted that we'd phoned ahead and requested a seaview room, and he assured us the room we'd been allocated was worth waiting for.

He was good for his word and we eventually checked in around 2:30pm. We'd been given a one bedroom apartment, with separate bathroom, kitchenette area and lounge/dining room with a balcony. It was very spacious and clean. The decor was basic, but generally comfy. Beds weren't brilliant, 2 single pushed together and not the best sleep I've ever had. But for a 3 Star resort, it measured up OK.

There are 2 swimming pools which were cleaned regularly. We only used the big pool which had an infants pool attached, the other one wes slightly smaller but slightly deeper and tended to be in the shade most of the day. The bigger pool which we used appeared to be more popular with the families and was in the sun most of the day too. Jumping in gives you a bit of an initial shock, but the temperature wasn't too bad for an unheated pool (certainly on a par with other resorts I've been to).

Food was OK. I'd rate it as average. Quality was generally good but the choice was a bit repetitive. However, still on a par with other 3 star resorts I've stayed in. I'd recommend eating out every other night for a bit more variety, but breakfast was very good, with "full english" available as well as cereals and fruit. The snacks were a bit of a let down. Even All Inclusive guests had to pay for burgers and chips, although we did get a reduced rate for showing our wristbands.

The staff were very friendly and efficient, too. It wasn't excetionally busy during our stay, although we'd heard stories of mass queues 2-3 weeks prior to our holiday. So timing (1st week in Sept) is definitely recommended. It was still very hot and sunny all week and averaged 31°C each day! Plenty hot enough to get yourself a good tan. To assist with the tan, a "suncare advisor" visited the hotel every day, offering free advice on lotions and other products (as well as selling them, of course).

The entertainment was OK, although we didn't particiate much as we liked to do our own thing. The kids club looked good, but with just 2 adults in our party, we didn't take advantage obviously. The entertainers did appear to work very hard though, all day and night!

I've saved the best bit til last though. The views. Quite simply breathtaking, see my photos for the proof!

All in all, a fantastic holiday and we would recommend to friends as well as hopefully returning there in the future. 2 hours flight, great weather, reasonable food, and stunning views. Brilliant!

Room Tip: We rang the hotel the week before arriving to request a nice sea view room. It seemed to work!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I must admit I have never written a reveiw about any hotel I've stayed in before but after reading all the narrow minded people leaving bad reviews for this hotel I felt I had to!!!!
Myself, my partner and my 4 children aged 14, 9, 5 and 1 stayed at the Hawaii Torrenova from 17th to 31st August 2011 an we had an absolute blast!!!! We arrived at 11.30 in the morning and had not been made aware that check in is not until 3pm, however we were given somewhere to put our suitcases and also given our all incusive wristbands so that we could go and start using the restaurant and the bar stright away!! I thought this was so kind of them as many hotels would make you wait until 3pm!! We were given two rooms, a one bedroom apartment and a studio, both of which were very spacious and very clean, both rooms were on the 2nd floor and we had amazing veiws from both balconys!!! beds were comfy, sheets were soft and my 1 year old slept perfect in his travel cot that they supplied!! The sunbed thing is always going to be an issue at any hotel you travel to in the middle of August and yes my other half did have to drag himself out of bed at 6am to go and put the towels out but it took him 10 minutes then he was back in bed fast asleep!! It's hardly torture is it??!! The swimming pools are fab, we only used the big pool with the kids pool attached, the other one wes slightly smaller but slightly deeper which was used by a lot of the teenagers, jumping in together and having a laugh!! The bigger pool is used by all the families with smaller children. My kids absolutely loved it!! My 9 year old son learnt to swim properly by copying some older boys who he made friends with, and my 5 year old daughter got nicknamed the little mermaid cause she got in at 10.30 in the morning and got out at 16.30!!! The baby pools are very good, my 1 year old could stand up in one of them and he could sit down in the other and he enjoyed himself so much it was hard to get him out!!! It makes me laugh when you hear people on here saying that the pools were cold, they are cold but only because when you first get in your body is so hot from the sun that you feel it more!! once you are in it is bloody loverly!!!! Lots of entertainment for the kids throughout the day Panda club where they start off inside then finish playing games in the pool, Andre looks after the teenagers and the adults with loads of different activities, but there is absolutely no pressure for anyone to take part which is a nice change!!
Now on to the food, we have never been all inclusive before but i was definately not dissapointed!! Breakfast is delish!!! full english, continental, cereal, fruit, biscuits, yoghurts, fresh crepes and even a big jam doughnut if you felt like it!!! plus all fruit juices, tea, coffee, milkshake etc!! Lunch and dinner were always good and always fresh, very tasty, well none of my lot went hungry put it that way!!! Plus in between all this you could get snacks!! There is food available from the pool snack bar also, however you do have to pay for them, they have a special price for all inclusive guests, it was 1 euro for a bowl of chips so they are very cheap!!! The pool bar staff are fab!! I'm a great believer in if you give respect you will receive it!!! You see some people at the bar moaning about the que or the fact they can only get 2 drinks at a time, but if these barmen were serving 5 or 6 drinks at a time the que would be huge!!!! Aswell as this they work so hard, you see them cleaning up til about midnight, then the same staff will be serving you at breakfast at 9am the following morning!!! But really, everyone we met there was so friendly and they are a part of the reason that I would 100% return to this hotel!!
Drinks - plenty of choice for the kids (slush was a big favourite), plenty of choice for the adults (bacardi was a big favourite!!) Ice cream and ice lollies galore all day long!!
Evening entertainment was good, brill mini disco for the kids 8.30-9.30, then bingo till 10 and show till 11 , some shows were brill, some were ok and some were pants but always a good time was had by all!!!
At the end of the day I know I have rattled on, but I want people to forget all the fusspots that like to moan about anything and everything, and just give this hotel a try! The people are brilliant, you have everything around you that you would need, and if you do have a problem then the reception staff will sort it out for you in a flash!! Please give it a go, you will have the best time - adults and children of all ages!!!! Maybe see you there next year!!! Xxxxxx

Room Tip: tell reception the location you would like and they will do everything the can to accomodate you.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed from 16th to 30th August, and had the best and worst of this place.
The worst was from 16th to about 24th, the best up until 30th, and the difference was quite simply how busy it was.

The worst can be summarised as:-
45 person queue for hot food at dinner time, totally unacceptable.
25 person queue (20 mins) for the bar in the evening. Again totally unacceptable, as contrary to a previous review the drink wasn't "free", I'd already paid for it, which makes the alternative of going elsewhere unpalatable.
Nowhere near enough seats in the bar during the evening. There is only one bar open, the outside pool bar, and all the seats had gone by 7pm, hence leaving only the walls to sit on, or to squat on sunbeds, most uncomfortable. What makes this unacceptable too is the fact there is a large indoor bar that would have been perfect to relax in during the evening, but it was never open, not even at busy time.
There is never enough sunbeds at these places, and here was no exception.
I would rate this hotel during this busy period as "poor".

However, during the slightly quieter period, all of the above unacceptable issues were greatly reduced, and sometimes gone.
During this quiet period I would rate this hotel as “very good”.

Some general observations. The food was 3* and I never went hungry. The drink was 3*, as was the all inclusive selection. The room was very basic, and the “2 bed” room had in fact no beds, only 2 settees. I found this disappointing as it was like sleeping on a park bench, not what I expect for the money I’d paid for, at any star rating. The location is hilly, but not a big one, and the view from the terrace is very good. A perfect location between Palma Nova and Magaluf.

My recommendation is to avoid at all costs at busy times, but ok at the quieter times.

Room Tip: Somhow make sure you get a room with beds!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyYorksMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for a week with my daughter 13 & her friend. We found the place brilliant and so did the girls. The rooms were basic but very clean with clean towels on a regular basis. The food was good, plenty of selection and what you would expect from a 3* hotel. There were people moaning about the food, what I say to them is you want 4/5* food then pay the 4/5* prices!! I was up at 6am for a sunbed, there were always alot available but some people do leave their towels on late at night as they go in...if you want a sunbed just get up a little earlier then go back to bed....simple! The location and the views from the balcony were stunning. Yes the queues at night for the bar were quite long, but afterall its free so why complain, it wasnt an unreasonable wait. The entertainment for younger kids is great, my daughter and her friend made loads of friends so were occupied all holiday and were sad to leave at the end of a brilliant week. The evening entertainment perhaps was a little strange but after afew drinks and good company who cares!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and as for the moaners on here then I suggest you pay that little bit more, after all you get what you pay for! Value for money....Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews