We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Everyone friendly & obliging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Everyone friendly & obliging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

All the reviews we have read previous to coming to Hotel Son Matias Beach seemed to be true, except the Entertainment Staff seem to spend most of there time talking too and conversing with the people that had been there before, when approached they seemed to want away from you as quick as possible.The rest of the Staff where near perfect, would we be going back to this Hotel, of course we will, Last but not least, Lucy the Thompson Rep was wonderful

Room Tip: Watch out when in the Shower, its very slippery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoySid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    216
    76
    19
    8
See reviews for
104
939
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Just returned from a week at the son matias hotel(retirement home)We would not class this as a 4 star more like a 3 star . There are good and bad points.

Good Points

The view was fantastic from our room cannot fault it, and the shops, restaurants etc are within easy walking distance.
The food was good mainly english dishes but could have been more variety.
The restaurant manager was excellent, friendly and polite.Also bar staff good.
Reception staff bar one were also good.

Bad Points(where do we start)

On arrival at the hotel we were given our room on the top floor and had to wheel our own suitcases there , shame it was the wrong room. Back down to reception to sort the correct room out . We had booked a suite but were given a double room, the guy on reception was very sorry and gave us the correct room but as it was on a lower floor we wished we had stayed in the top floor room. Reasons being that the room is just above the entertainment area which meant you could here the singers etc even if you did not want to.(we think they keep the best rooms for the returning guests)
The hotel is geared towards the age group (60’s to 70’s) and the entertainment reflected this. Old time music.
They may have been old but woe betide you if you tried to sit on one of their seats that they had been sitting on since about 6.15pm. They would go to dinner as soon as the restaurant opened which was 5.45pm and they would not move from their seats in the entertainment area until 11.00pm when the acts had finished. We saw one woman actually holding onto her chair whilst dancing she was so worried she would lose her seat. One table used to put their bags on the chairs whilst going to dinner to make sure no-one took the seat.
The reason we chose this hotel was in the hope that we would get a good nights sleep as the older people like to go to bed a bit earlier but unfortunately we were next to a group of young women who thought they were in a club 18/30 hotel. All we could hear was shouting ,laughing and the sound of high heels stomping across the floor. The noise from the other rooms w as very bad you need to bring ear plugs.
The cleanliness was ok but she would never hoover on a daily basis so if you are staying longer than a week do not expect the hoover to see the light of day until after you have gone. We found broken glass on our balcony which had not been cleaned from the previous guests.
There was only one rude receptionist , he knows who he is and you will find out. We found him to be rude and lacking in customer care.
The Thomson reps were ok. Whatever you do , do not go on the excursion which involves markets it was called venture north . The first market was full of tat , and fruit that was it. Then we discovered that as it was a Sunday most off the shops were closed so you had to fill in your time doing nothing. The last stop had a market but as we got their when they were packing up to go home there did not seem much point in going.
Take the free excursion as it was quite good even though you have to listen to sales pitch the women in charge on the coach was great. The wine tasting was great fun. The orange blossom train trip is cheaper if you book outside the hotel nearly half the price.
If you could move the view to another hotel then it would be great but we would never come to this hotel again.
I will never fly with Thomson’s airline again as the seats are too small even for the average sized person.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it is not all it seems , too many favours for the vip guests and not enough care taken for the newbie’s.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerfeetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Would I go back to this hotel?
No, No, No.

The hotel has one of the best locations I have experienced in Europe, bang in the middle of the pedestrianised promenade of Son Matthias Beach. Just a skip from the sand. There are plenty of shops, foodmarkets, bars and eateries around, but the breakfast at the hotel is as eclectic as any I have seen and the evening meal was tremendous both in quantity and quality, but so very British. No Spanish dishes to try out.

Beware the snack lunch menu as the portions are huge and fill you up before dinner.

It is just a gentle stroll to Palmanova, and a lumpy walk to Magaluff beach, but the strolls are along this paved and clean promenade are very pleasant.

The pool area is cleaned within an inch of its life every night and is very pleasant, but quite small
.
There is a good sea view from all the rooms although the rooms are about the smallest I have encountered in a 4*, with a miniature bathroom and balcony, although the toiletries are good and well presented.

The beds are horrid, cheap platform beds with thin mattresses and pillows like rocks. They are pushed together singles and made up like hospital beds, with the bedding so tight you either can’t move or you pull it out and it ends up on the floor.

The transferred noise from the adjacent rooms is loud, and unfortunately our neighbour had a bad cough, so when he wasn’t coughing, he was snoring like he was in the room with us. I was glad to come home for a good night’s sleep, albeit with a bad back.
There is a wall of noise as you descend to the ground floor, to the (tiny) foyer and the lounge. The dinning room is also noisy and for the first time ever in a 4* we had to queue for a table. The lights were very bright at all times, so dinner had no atmosphere for a romantic evening.

I assume the lights were because of the regular clientelle. We are in our 60s, but they made me feel young. The regulars are very pushy and organised things like the various table top game and boules were dominated by a clique and it was impossible to get a game or a look in. They were first to the dining room and first in the queue for afternoon tea.

Summary. Like a Premier Inn dumped north of Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonRedshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

WOULD RETURN IN A HEARTBEAT
There isn't much more I can add, because the GOOD reviews on this hotel pretty much say it all. 

Many English channels to choose from. 
Rent the fridge and the safe together or separately. 

Outstanding views from the rooms. we watched the sun rise over the sea each morning from our bed. 

Rooms cleaned each day. Nice clean balcony. I came armed with ant spray after reading a review, but happy to say, it wasn't needed. 

Nice modern and very clean toilets/shower room on the ground floor. 

Room to weigh your cases also. 

Pool table outside next to jacuzzi. 

Holiday reps always on hand. 

Very nice mixed bag of guests. All ages. 

The entertainment is what it is. You either accept it or you dont. No need to moan about it. 
The Four Top performed while we were there. There was a magician and lots of bingo, among other things. 

English speaking Staff always smiling and happy to help. Hotel and elevator clean. Tasty food with good selection each day. 
Unfinished wine can be put away for the next meal

English papers on sale in reception along with currency exchange, post cards and a post box. Free wifi also. Ask reception for password. 

I can say, with this hotel, it's home from home. Come, relax and don't worry

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yfw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week early November. We went half board and it cost us £350 with Thomson (we bought flights seperately through Monarch) and found it to be amazing value. I could not fault this hotel at all. Service was great, food was great, the room was excellent (with free fast wifi). The clientel is elderly but we found this to be a bonus, no rowdy kids! I cannot stress how impressed I was.
This was our fourth holiday this year, we have been to Tenerife, Menorca and Ibiza with our kids but wanted a quiet break on our own. This is the first hotel in years that we have visited where we would gladly return.
There are events all day but we did not koin in any of them we just relaxed and went for walks and the odd beer. We never eat out of the hotel because the food was so good. We had a massive English breakfast (too full to bother with lunch!) and a nice evening meal. I have seen people moan about the food but on the first night we had soup then my wife had roast beef and yorkshires etc and I had sausage, mash and yorkshire puds with onion gravy followed by profiteroles and cream, How could anyone complain about that? You can stick your beefburgers and chicken nuggets we loved the English food. Absolutely the best.
Five Stars

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrIanDEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

All these lovely comments are all true, but not EVERYTHING is as it should be.
I loved the Hotel and Holiday overall but there are some things you may want to know before you go:-

ROOM – The double glazing is not of a high enough grade to cut out the noise from shouting youths at 1 and 6 o’clock in the morning. EAR PLUGS will be useful.
Pigeon droppings en-mass attract BITING insects to the Balcony (bites that cause infection) and the Maids do not automatically clean it up! Yuk! Phone Reception every day to get it removed.
The Fridge is a little cramped for standard 75cl Bottles of wine and water etc.

RESTAURANT – Some of the BLACK serving Spoons become extremely hot under the food heating lights! I had to drop them instantly a few times to prevent burning my hand.
Some of the Meat and Fish dishes become overly dry under the heating lights try to get a fresh one!
When the meal time is over the available Food is QUICKLY whisked away without warning, so keep your eye on the time if you don’t want to miss out on your favorite sweet!

BAR – Quite often the sliding window to the Smoking Area is left slightly open and Smoke drifts right around the Dance Floor.

SHOWS – The seating is limited because the Tables have 4-seats but are usually occupied by 2 people only and newcomers don’t like to impose on others.

POOL – More Parasols needed as at every other Hotel.

BEACH –Because the Sun Loungers are not stacked away and chained up like at other places they attract noisy disruptive youths at 1 and 6 o’clock in the morning! (see ROOM comment)

EXCURSIONS - the free excursion is disappointing, too long in the sales room and not long enough at the sites of interest. Go on a paid excursion if one is available, it's not worth wasting your valuable Holiday time!

These points are why I can only give 3 stars, 1 for the Lovely Staff, 1 for the Magnificent Building and 1 for the Location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

This was our third visit to this hotel,I can not praise it enough.We meet up with many returning guests. Thanks to the hotel team the holiday was so relaxing and brilliant. Javier,Josepha,Carlos,Fidela you are so customer focused. A big thanks once again to Claire entertainments manager keeps every one busy if that's what you want.Food is very good something everything night for even the fussy eater.We also popped into the Miramar for lunch and drinks a couple of times Pedro ,Paco and staff greet you as long lost friends and the foods good too.It's up towards the marina.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
3.4 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing