We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL RETURN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2011

we went to the son matias straight after a weeks cruising. We found the standard just as good as on the ship.The hotel is in fantastic location, right on the beach,within easy walking distance of bars restaurants and entertainment. The hotel itself has a great entertainments team (Claire Heather and Kerrie). These girls organise daytime activities and quizzes if you want to join in . Also arrange for good evening entertainment you must see ABBA AGAIN, they are the best abba tribute band we have ever seen. and they also inject humour into their performance. The hotel itself is very clean with all of the rooms enjoying sea views. The staff are all very nice and polite and nothing is any bother to them. Also we must mention the food which we thought was fantastic and was even slightly better than the ship of which was also of a very high standard. S and A NEWCASTLE

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

Hello! Myself and my husband spent a week here in early May, and whilst we enjoyed our holiday to Palma Nova we wouldn't stay here again. I know it's an adults only hotel but it was more like the Son Matias Retirement Hotel full of very rude and very arrogant regulars who were most displeased if a "newby" happened to sit in one of "their" places in the lounge or dining room, which by the way is way too small for the number of guests. The food however was delicious, well cooked and plenty of variety although a little to British for us. The staff on the whole were very good one notable exception being a rather surly and unpleasant gentleman who turned out to be the restaurant Maitre. The entertainment staff did little to engage with new visitors, preferring instead to concentrate on their regulars. Line and ballroom dancing were the order of the day and night, as were quizzes and bingo. The location can not be faulted, being close to bars and places to eat and only about a ten minute walk into nearby Magaluf, check out the Prince William pub great atmosphere and superb cocktails! All in all this is a lovely hotel if you are over seventy, it even has a bank of mobility scooters parked outside which says it all really.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nevlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

excellant hotel, all staff excellant made you feel very welcome, food fabulous very good selection. Entrtainment very good as were entertainment staff , CLAIRE & HEATHER, who workerd very hard throughout the day with a varied programme of activities, and encouraged all to join in if they so wished, so impressed we have already booked a return visit for next April
from Wilf & Maggie Co. Durham

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hookey1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Just returned from Hotel Son Matias yesterday,six pounds heavier! Food was delicious, hence the weight gain. Everything is catered for your comfort, can't think of anything that could be improved upon. Hotel spotless, staff lovely, can't wait to go back. Barbara, Belfast.

Room Tip: Loved my room 402, brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

just back from our first visit to this hotel .cant wait to go again ,it is first class .and if you have booked dont miss the abba show which is fantastic .food rooms staff apart from claire go along way to make your stay enjoyable,found claire only interested in people she knew from previous visits.need to give us newbys a chance ,would have liked to have joined in some of the pool games ,but she only ever went to her regulers .but apart from that it was five star all the way .thank you will return

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barceloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a few days in April 2011. In terms of entertainment, the hotel is ideal for people aged 60+. They have activities throughout the day like quizes, bingo, line dancing etc. In the evening around dinner time they play music for dancing, like waltzing and the tango and so on. The older generation get up and dance. Then there is bingo or race nights or a quiz followed by the main entertainment in the form of a band or singer.

The food was faultless. everything fresh, hot and there was something for everyone. Even had special dishes catering for diabetic sufferes. On our first night we arrived at the dining room at 8pm (dinner on til 8.45). The staff starting taking the food away and turning of the lights at 8.25 while we and others were still there, we were totally rushed out of the restaurant without having desert. staff were extremely rude!

a negative about this hotel is the staff. there are a few who are friendly and helpful but overall the reception and restaurant staff are very rude and dismissive.

The room we were in was on the 2nd floor. It was small but spotlessly clean and fairly modern. We also found it quiet which we were surprised about as it was on the 2nd floor.

The location is also very good, in the middle of Palma Nova and Magaluf. There is a supermarket and bus stop right outside the main entrance.

The pool area was nice, right on the beach front with nice views and a lovely decking area.

I am in my 30s and would stay at this hotel again, even though its catered for the over 60's it was a nice peaceful break.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor level for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I went with my mum last June, I was 18 and she was 44. Staff are very polite, very clean hotel. Small pool though, had to pay to go on the beach a few times. As I said the hotel is for the older gen - they were all 60+ and me and mum were the youngest two there. The entertainment was horrific to be honest. Awesome location though, super close to Magaluf, and you do hear drunks in the nights, the walls are paper thin - had to complain about the people next door who were talking so loud. I'm going back this year to Palma with my friends, but wouldn't stay here again and neither would my mum.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelKelly7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova by Melia - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £64 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing