We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Son Matias Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$150
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$183
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Globales Palmanova(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$209
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Lunamar Apartments(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$85
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
1,103
265
82
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,103
265
82
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext yearcarton of milkneil diamond tributepalma novaline dancingrepeat guestsentertainment managerpool areasea viewgreat holidayyear after yearhome from homelovely hotelaverage ageage grouptea and coffee making facilitiesevery night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hi I have just returned from a three night stay from Palma nova and Felt I should write this review of this hotel. The son matias hotel is directly on the beach in Palma nova. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in the past but have to say this is by far the best I have had the pleasure of staying in so far. I would even rate the hotel 5 stars! Upon entering the property you are greeted by the beautiful lobby area and reception. Checking in was very prompt and friendly. The hotel is all on the flat so no nasty steps to climb and would be very good for wheel chair access. The hotel corridors leading to the rooms are immaculate with newly fitted carpet. The rooms are of good size and very modern with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities are also supplied in the room. There is a fridge/ minibar which can be hired if you so wish to do so. All rooms have spectacular sea views. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has been done to a very high standard. The restaurant is beautifully finished and has views over the beach. There is also a lovely outdoor terrace to eat your meal. The food was the nicest I've had from any hotel and a good selection for all. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The pool is lovely with a jacuzzi beside it. The beds are very modern and they also have 3 circular beds to lounge on which are brilliant. You also have direct access onto the beach from the hotel pool area. I now understand why this hotel is highly rated on trip advisor. Anyone looking for a great hotel in Palma nova don't let this slip through your fingers! There is entertaiment provided every night in the beautifuly finished lounge and bar area. The only negative point I could make about this hotel is is adults only. Most guests are of and older generation any mostly repeat guests. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the hotel staff especially the restaurant staff for all their hard work and making me feel at home and the chefs for the Fanastic food they prepared for us every night. I look forward to seeing you all again very soon and can't wait for my next visit to this gem of a hotel.
Many thank mr t.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MRTENERIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned from our 4th stay at this hotel. We had a fantastic room on 8th floor, amazing view
over the bay, All of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Lovely choice of food for breakfast and dinner and everything hot and fresh. This is the only hotel we've ever stayed in to watch the entertainment which was always excellent. We especially enjoyed Mark Richie and Graham Dee. Most of the guests have been to this hotel several times which goes to show what a fantastic hotel this is. Thankyou to all the staff and we will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent view and less noise
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

First holiday at the son matias, wonderful location overlooking the beach. Rooms ok staff very friendly. This time of year guests tend to be of the not so young variety,(myself included). It must be said that the hotel entertainment reflects this.As the summer arrives the age of the guests falls and the again this is reflected in the entertainment.
Other reviewers have waxed lyrical about the food.,We found the choices rather limited.
It is an adults only hotel, and fairly close to magaluf.Bar prices rather high, so is the cost of a fridge and safe.
You can walk for miles along the promenade, some great beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very impressed with the cleanliness, decor and location of this hotel. Room was average size with the 1st floor having a bigger balcony. There was a wide choice of food at meal times and very nice too. The age range of guests got younger towards the end of our week's stay. Visiting acts were very good and there were plenty of organised games during the day. Arrived whilst raining to find 10 pin bowling on the Wii in progress. Room had tea making facilities with 2 tea, 2 coffee, 2 sugar and 2 milk sachets so when you had made a drink you had no milk sachet left so 4 would have been a good idea. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Lots of repeat guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbWarrington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I would echo what others have said on here, but disagree with the staff's treatment of 'non-regulars' as the team treated us very well, were always helpful and very polite - we were about 40 years younger than the majority of guests so perhaps they were just pleased to have a younger audience!!! We stayed for a 3 night short break and found the hotel great for what we needed, particuarly as we only paid £41 per room per night half board courtesy of Thomson's accomodation only webpages. If you want to sit around the pool or bar area all day and all night then I am sure you will meet the 'regulars' detailed on other reviews, but we didn't have any negative experiences. We would go running in the morning, return for breakfast around 10am (which although near closing there was always plenty of food remaining), sit on our balcony until lunchtime in the sun and then head down to the pool for more sun if we craved it (there were always sunbeds free), then do our own thing until dinner, which again we would go to later when there were less people around (most were already sitting in the bar waiting for that night's show) and then we would go our into Palmanova and return for one drink just as the bar was closing. No problems, good standards, helpful staff and great value for money. I would return to this hotel again for this type of trip and we have stayed in a large number of 5* hotels around the world. To sum up, I would say the hotel is a solid 4*.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisaandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews