We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Palma nova”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from Son Matias 8th June. This hotel was probably one of the few hotels we have visited that we didn't have too much to grumble about. Got to agree with VMR12's post about the luxury beds being booked by the same family all week, so much so that my husband thought you had to pay for them in advance and that was why the same family had them all the time. We did actually use the beach quite a lot as I just don't agree with queuing up to book sun loungers but it does happen in all hotels. We were booked to go to another hotel but an offer came up 3 days before we went which made this hotel a real bargain. This has to be the friendliest hotel in Spain we have stayed in. The staff were excellent. Food was first class but felt evening meal was a little early, especially when it is still very hot but we always managed to sit outside which was lovely looking over the sea. Our room was very nice and the views were out of this world. Never saw our cleaning lady but she did a magnificent job. Entertainment was excellent also and we particularly liked Phil Collins. The hotel certainly has an older clientelle but we thoroughly enjoyed their company especially the lady who dressed up at breakfast for her friend's 70th birthday lol. We will be returning to the Son Matias next year if we can.

Room Tip: We asked for a high room and were on the 8th floor. All rooms have excellent sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Son Matias Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just returned again from Son Matias, apart from this hotel having the best location in Palma Nova, it is also adults only. My Husband and I were pleased with the refurbishments to the restaurant and bar area. Also the new sunbeds at the pool, which included 3 luxury beds with pillows, although unfortunately the week we were there the same family bagged these every day, sending Granny down early each morning with towels.

Although I agree the saving of sunbeds is a problem the sticker system seems to have become a bit of a farce, as people are receiving stickers on beds when they are in the pool and playing games organized by the hotel staff.

Although there are new chairs in the show area which can swivel, they are not utilised properly as the people who stay in the hotel all evening sit at the back, leaving whole rows of chairs unoccupied and people are scared of sitting in front of other people. I was surprised that the management did not get this sorted before the 10pm entertainment began,

The Il Divo, Phil Collins, & Neil Diamond tribute acts were very good, not so good the comedians Graham Powell & Graeme Dee.

Hotel as clean as ever, plenty of variety of food, and good service

Overall this is a great hotel ,this was our 7th visit and had a great time. I think the hotel would benefit from a few more 40/50 somethings booking,as the average age is probably around 70.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, would advise higher floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VMR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for a week from 26th May. This is a lovely hotel in a really nice setting if you are 70+. The hotel caters for this age group iI.e. Food, entertainment and activities. Meals are served from 5.45 to 8.45. If you choose to eat at 8.00 you are left with dry food that has been left out. Variety of food was limited, the menus were also aimed at the elderly population - roast dinner every day followed by rice pudding, bread and butter pudding or trifle! You have to be quick to get a sun bed as the elderly people are quick off the mark when it comes to this! However, the hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony and sea view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hbilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My partner and I have just returned from the Son Matias after a 3 night B&B break. We are in our forties and having read reviews about the older guests, I can honestly say that I would rather share a hotel with sixty something's rather than younger something's as Magaluf is a 15 minute stroll away!! Although you wouldnt even know it. From the outside,it is the most modern looking and impressive hotel I have stayed in and indeed in Palma Nova. Inside is clean and contemporary and the service professional yet friendly. The breakfasts are superb with everything you could want to eat. It's location is fantastic with views of the beach and sea. The rooms are clean and modern and couldn't be faulted!!! The best hotel in Palma Nova, book it if you can!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

On first impression it looks like a great hotel clean tidy great location right on the front no roads to cross to get to the beach. The food was ok on the first night but very british we had a bottle of wine but did not finish it so they put it in the fridge you us for the next night with our room number
on the a tag. Then on the next night things went a bit down hill as they gave us the wrong bottle of wine after a bit of searching they found it. This when we found out the the food is the same style as the night before a bit boring but hay ho may be different tomorrow no chance of that same food every day we went out for dinner after this better food in Vercroys next door or the burger bar outside the hotel if you want a snack. Now on to the pool area 9am is when the fun starts the older guest of this hotel like to wait by the door at 8am the door will not open till 9am
if this is there idea of a holiday waiting for the doors to open and run as fast as you can just to get a sun bed then you need to re think you life out your on holiday to relax not
induce a heart attack. As for the bar in this place it is ok but watch what you ask for my wife asked for Courvoisier Brandy and was given the local stuff and when we complaned the bar maid said you asked for this no chance of that we know what we like and when we was talking to the bar man she also told us to shoosh why the place was nearly empty as the group they had on that night was that bad every one had left to go to the hotel up the road.
If you are thinking of going to this hotel ask your self two things are you over 65 and do you like eating the same thing every night if you are and if you do then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool as watch the 9am show.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sutton-womble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to the Son Matias hotel ( for our honeymoon ). We found all of the staff extremely friendly, professional and hard working. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful view of the bay. We found there was an excellent choice of food in the restaurant and as it was served over a 2 - 3 hour time period there was never a wait for a table and we found that food was constantly replenished, so the full choice of menu was always available.
The pool area was very clean and we never had a problem in finding a sunbed whatever time of day we arrived there.
The entertainment is definately aimed for the more mature traveller but we expected this and it was enjoyable - Ruth works very hard both day and night to ensure all runs smoothly.
The regular guests were very friendly and helpful.
We would definately recommend this hotel and will be returning in the future as we could not fault the hotel or the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thenewlyweds250512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is next to the beach.In a morning(weather permitting) you can sit on the terrace & have breakfast whilst watching the world go by.The rooms are adequate with a kettle & complimentary tea & coffee replenished daily.The only down side is you have to hire the fridge.The stairs & corridors are all carpeted so cut out any noise from people walking on them.The food is very good & varied with plenty of sweets to choose from.But beware of the dinner plates they are VERY HOT.The entertainment was first class but you had to be in early to get a seat as they let non residents come in to listen.You can also have the services of a hairdresser who comes to your room by appointment.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definately go back. This is an adults only hotel.It is also family run with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vanmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#18 of 39 in Palmanova
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £148 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing