We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hampshire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a short break for 3 nights just as hotel reopened beginning of March. Hotel is 20 mins from airport and facilities such as a bus stop to palma and a spar supermarket are right outside the front of the hotel. Check in was seamless, reception were extremely helpful and the room, on the seventh floor was roomy with a glorious view of the seafront. Entertainment was geared to the older adult, and most of the clientele were indeed older adults, but we were still v happy with all that was provided. The food was great, probably some of the best we have ever eaten on our travels. Lots of choice, always hot and not too many queues. Pool is small, but hotel is right on seafront. Hadn't realised how very close to Maguluf the hotel is, but as we went out of season, there was no noise and a lot of the shops in the area were still closed. Not sure if i would fancy the location in the peak of summer ! but we are planning to return next year, same time to this fabulous , friendly, well kept hotel.

Room Tip: Above floor 5 has best views. Choose either front facing sea room, which has sun till noon, or pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushwackers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    216
    76
    19
    8
See reviews for
104
939
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Have now stayed at this hotel 7 times and cannot fault the hotel, staff are brilliant, hotel spotless. At least people cannot leave towels on there sunbed all day while they go out and about preventing anyone else from using them, if you leave them a ticket is placed on them and you have 1 hour to return, if you are not back then the towels are removed, which i think is fair to everyone. Food is good and plentiful at both breakfast and dinner. I would like the evening buffet a bit more varied as it is the same as the first week but cannot complain as there is plenty choice an it is always piping hot and is checked regularly by the chef. Fantastic views from every room and right on the beach with a choice of palma nova or magaluf for night life, bus stops just round the corner and goes to other resorts as well as palma city. Will be returning again as this hotel is hard to beat

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank sunnydays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

No wonder the same people return to this Hotel year after year, once you have stayed here you would not want to go anywhere else.All rooms have sea view and it is situated on the beach with fantastic views.The Staff were fantastic and the food was first class.wouldn't find a better Hotel on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank LadyDoc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed here twice now & re-booked for 2014. The standard is first class, reception extremely helpful, all rooms have a sea or pool view, its an adults only hotel, the food is the best, so fresh and something for everyones taste and plentiful. The pool is a little on the small side but you have the sea directly outside the gate. PalmaNova is a pleasant friendly place, flat for walking, local buses are cheap and easy to use. It is only 2hrs from the UK which is great and the sun is always shining!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Touristleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the end of October. Clientele were definitely of elderly variety so entertainment geared to them Got a little tired of the playing of same line dancing music night after night. However view fromsea view room was superb. Staff were very helpful and friendly. A little disappointed that the resort began closing around us.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is our second trip to this hotel and we were very impressed by the improvements that have been made since our last visit. The hotel has a modern, contemporary feel and could not have a better location - right on the beach. The flat screen TVS in public areas provided useful information about the entertainment and daily menus etc. Our room was very comfortable, including the beds and even the chairs on the balcony. Our room was quiet and because we did not go in high summer we did not experience the noise at night from the promenade as has been suggested during summer months. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The only slight negative is that the food was a bit repetitive and we were very disappointed that we were only permitted 2 teabags, 2 coffees,2 sugars and 2 milk per day in our room. Not good for a 4 star hotel.What really annoyed my husband was the fact that every time you went to the bar for a bottle of water or a coffee, the change was presented in a 'tip saucer'. No one minds tipping good service but just passing you a bottle of water is hardly deserving of a tip. Having said that, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RandG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our first visit to Son Matias Beach but it won't be our last! All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar and restaurant areas were clean and comfy. The food was just superb, more like a 5 star hotel. We stayed for 14 nights and not once did we have a disappointing meal. For us, the bonus was being able to eat breakfast and our evening meal out on the terrace, overlooking the beach.
Our room was clean, comfy and spacious, overlooking the blue/green sea, with a big balcony with table and chairs.
The Bali beds by e pool were lovely. The evening entertainment was good too.
Overall, one of he best holidays we have had, with the hotel exceeding our expectations!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, with uninterrupted views of the beach/sea and the pool. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
3.4 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing