We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabau Aquasol(Palmanova)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alua Palmanova Bay(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
1,118
271
83
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,118
271
83
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext yearcarton of milkneil diamond tributepalma novaline dancingrepeat guestsentertainment managerpool areasea viewgreat holidayyear after yearhome from homelovely hotelaverage ageage grouptea and coffee making facilitiesevery night
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back from Mallorca 11th April 2014
The son Matias beach is a very nice hotel right on the beach in palma nova. The rooms although not the biggest are well equipped and all have a sea view. The hotel is spotlessly clean as is the pool area with lots of sunbeds and some very comfortable double round beds. There is a no towel policy but some welsh people (you know who you are) who came a couple of days after us ignored that and took up one of the round beds daily even though they spent very little time on it. The food is probably amongst the best that I have had in a holiday hotel excellent choice very well cooked with a very large selection. We went half board and enjoyed every meal.
The staff are helpfull and attentive and all have the time of day for you. The reps were on hand every day with lots of helpful information. The clientele is shall we say more mature but this in no way takes anything from the hotel. It is adults only with live entertainment every night although we didnt actually see any as we headed off into Magaluf every night (only two minute walk from the hotel). I would definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evoNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent hotel, stunning position right on the beach, very, very clean, so, what's with the too British (my husbands comment), based on the fact that they had a roast dinner every night which was freshly cooked and very high quality meat, some meats were cooked in front of you freshly most nights. No, I agree they cater for the Brits. although there was always a good selection, you would be very hard to please if you could find nothing., but what would you prefer, food that you had no problems with or, unidentifiable dishes that you would probably avoid. your on holiday and a good meal at the end of the day and an excellent full english piping hot! decide for yourself!.
Agree that the line dancing with the same tape every night was wearing and I'm a country music fan, had ELVIRA on my brain for a week!.
Usually hire a car but with the public transport so readily available and efficient we didn't bother,
To sum up, if you want a hotel close to the airport, beautiful beach on your doorstep, easy access to all parts of the island without a car and mostly better food than I have had in some 5* hotels, plus not being put off by being so close to Magaluf which we didn't have an issue with
I'd would highly recommend this hotel, Oh! yes and the staff were lovely too.

Room Tip: Only negative with our room 5----? this side of the hotel did not get the sun, my husband has to stay out of the sun so I suited him where I would have preferred a sunny balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chillidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

There is little that I would disagree with the other reviews on this hotel so my review will focus on things not mentioned by other reviewers. I hope that you find what I say useful and helpful.

If you can afford to upgrade to a Junior Suite then do so. The extra room in the suites will help make your holiday. However you need to be aware that some of the suites have been modified for disabled guests who can’t use a bath and need a walk-in shower. If you want to ensure that you are allocated a suite with a bath and shower, contact the hotel in advance who will try to take your wishes into account.

Do consider paying 20 euros per week for use of the safe and if you don’t remember to bring a 2 pin adapter plug you can borrow one from reception for a deposit of 5 euros.

If you are familiar with a Premier Inn breakfast you will know what to expect in the morning. Sadly the coffee, from a machine, is no better than instant coffee from a jar which is a real pity as decent coffee at breakfast makes a hotel breakfast. The bacon is very thinly cut streaky bacon except on a Sunday when back bacon is also available. There is plenty of fresh fruit available but you have to peel it yourself, which is a bit of a bind if you just want a slice or two of fresh orange with your cereal.

The evening meal is very British which suits most guests. There are plenty of salads on offer and there are always 2 cooked meats on each night with turkey, chicken, beef, lamb and pork appearing in different forms. Fish is always available and potatoes prepared in different ways. The hotel excels with its puddings: bread & butter, rice, crumble and fruit pie appear regularly and all are cooked in the way we have them at home. Different types of gateaux are available each evening along with ice cream and fruit. The only disappointed for me was with the cheese which was in the form of thin slices which resembled the sort of cheese that goes in burgers and the lack of some type of blue cheese.

If you arrive late on your first day, you should be aware that although you can enter the restaurant until 8.45 pm, all food is cleared away promptly at that time.

Drinks and food ordered outside of meal times can be put on a ‘tab’ using the room card which you pay off when you leave.

At 4pm there is a Tea Dance. Nobody danced when we were there but the tea and biscuits were appreciated by many of the hotel guests.

Liz and Jess do their best to organise and entertain every one with varying success. The 9.30 pm guest acts vary in standard but be warned that some of them think it amusing to pick on those leaving before the end which can be embarrassing.

The 5 stars awarded for my review might suggest that this hotel is perfect which is not the case, but it is better than 4 stars. The lack of children more than compensates for the average age being well above 60!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Suite 507

We arrived back yesterday from a weeks stay at the Son Matias Beach hotel. Have to say we were impressed.

From reviews we had read before we booked we were expecting a good experience and we were not disappointed. We had booked a suite and e-mailed ahead to ask for a suite on a high floor, they replied immediately to say they would do their best to comply.

On arrival they apologised that the only suite that day was on the first floor but tomorrow they could move us to the fifth floor.

The suite on the first floor is adapted for disabled guests with a really spacious wet room/bathroom and a huge terrace, ideal for wheelchair users.

When we transferred to the fifth floor the suite was identical except the bathroom was a standard size with an over bath shower and twin washbasins in a large vanity unit, small but adequate.

The balcony was the same depth as all the other rooms but as the suites are on the corner of the building the balconies are three times the length, plenty of room for two chairs and a table, ONE sun lounger, although there was room for two and a standard pool chair.

Panoramic views along the coast in both directions from this room and the first floor room, obviously better from the fifth floor.

Although there was a premium to pay for a suite we felt it was well worth the extra.

The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of supplies. A starter pack of water and milk in the fridge, which apparently is FOC this year. In room safe for which there is a daily charge.

As most reviewers state the food is good and we always found it hot, sometimes the plates were too hot to handle. The salad bar is very comprehensive, the dessert selection is fantastic, several excellent entrees each day. We were impressed with the quality and selection. We don't say this lightly, we take 7/8 holidays a year and this is one of the better buffets.

The pool area is fairly basic but at the time we were there (1st-8th April )we were able to get a sun bed quite easily when we wanted one. No need to get up at the crack of dawn.

We liked the information screens around the hotel, reception, bar and outside restaurant. Reception staff always happy to help and were friendly and efficient so too were bar and restaurant staff.

The hotel entertainers Liz & Jess worked hard, long hours. Most of the professional acts were good and most suited our age group( 65-70). 1960's music played (quietly) around the pool area.

The hotel is only a fifteen minute gentle stroll to Palmanova centre but with a good selection of touristy shops and minimarkets on the doorstep for essentials.

A bus stop outside hotel with several local buses into Palma and beyond, taxi ranks close by.

All in all a good hotel in an excellent location.

We shall definitely be back sometime.

Room Tip: Suite worth the extra
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Reception area small but effective, receptionists helpful. Room clean, balcony safe, towels changed regularly. Restaurant staff helpful and friendly, can be busy at peak times. Food was freshly prepared and was hot where appropriate. Food quality was good although I would have liked more Spanish food, the paella was a disappointment. If you like "English" food you'll love this hotel. The pool looked clean although I did not use it as it was a bit chilly. Stops for local buses right outside the hotel. Would have given five blobs if the food had been more Spanish.
One word of advice though...avoid the free "blanket trip" unless you want to sit through a two hour presentation.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the first floor over the kitchen extractor fans
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews