We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveller rating
1,209
299
90
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
299
90
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next year carton of milk neil diamond tribute line dancing palma nova repeat guests entertainment manager pool area year after year rooms have a sea view great holiday home from home lovely hotel age group average age tea and coffee making facilities evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
1,055 - 1,060 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Thank you Richard,Keith,Javier,Sue,Inaki,Restaurant Staff & Jessica who all contributed to a great stay again, nothing was too much trouble. The weather was lovely with only one overcast morning. The yummy food dealt with many dieters and tastes, you could always put a meal together from the hot or cold buffet whatever your choice including healthy options ,gluten free or diabetic. The rooms have recently been decorated with the use of fridge now included which is a nice touch .Buses were running very regular,the Palma bus tended to fill up quickly and was very popular at only €3.This hotel is a gem and we will return next year.

Room tip: All floors have good views and sunny balconies
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Touristleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked this hotel with Thomson Holidays at the very last minute and were slightly concerned by some of the reviews which suggested that the hotel was a clique controlled by frequent guests. Nothing could have been further from the truth. The hotel is in a prime beach position with stunning views of the bay, including sunrise, from all of the rooms. They are of a reasonable size, had been recently redecorated and were kept spotlessly clean with frequent change of bedding and towels.
Staff were very friendly and efficient. Special mention must go to the reception staff who helped us above and beyond their remit during our stay, also the entertainment rep Liz who is a real asset for the hotel , working tirelessly throughout the day to make our stay special.
Many of the other guests had stayed 20 to 30 times before. Everyone got on well with each other and we made many friendships while there. We certainly weren't sidelined in any way or treated and differently from the regular guests.
There is an incentive scheme where frequent clients receive bar discounts etc dependent on number of visits. I can't see anything at all unfair about this.
The restaurant has views of the beach and there is a good variety of food which was well cooked and presented, in pleasant surroundings.
Son Matias Beach is situated just over a headland ( Approx 1/2 mile ) from Magaluf resort. Cannot say whether there would be any problems as when we stayed, Magaluf itself didn't appear to be open at all.
I enjoy walking and found a selection of hiking routes available at the nearby Tourist Info office for 2 euros very helpful. Try Calvia promenade which is a linear garden walk / cycleway between Santa Ponza and Portals Nous. Ideal for cycling away from the busy roads.
Puig Galatzo is highest in the area and known as the Majorcan Matterhorn.

Room tip: All rooms have a beach view but the quality of the view improves the higher you go
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is, in my opinion, one of the best hotels I've stayed at. I've been here many times. Food great, staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable. Only one problem it's so popular you may have difficulty getting a room so book early.

Room tip: Ask for poolside room you get Sun most of day
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fantastic holiday again at the son Matais beach hotel , the hotel 5 star staff excellent ,food excellent rooms spotless had another great holiday met up with all our friends again we have already book up for October 14 & April 2015 pauline&mick holmes

Room tip: Any room will do as they all have sea view or pool view
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel for me and my partner was just really good. The room, and view from it was stunning, the sunrises were just there to be photographed. We looked out each morning and commented how lovely it was. The food was so good and varied we looked forward to going into the dining room every time. Also being to take meals outside was a bonus for us, it helped to make the holiday special. We were fortunate to enjoy two weeks of good weather, we were there from the 8th April for two weeks. We walked up the road from the small marina and onto the path which runs alongside the top road and down into Magalluf. This is a pleasant walk and cycle path, about 3 miles maybe and it was quite green then walk back into Magalluf and along the front back to Palma Nova. The nightly entertainment was good generally some acts were very good. It was varied too.

Room tip: All rooms look over the bay, we were on the second floor the other side of the pool and like that side. But I wouldn't mind any room.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews