We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was a good hotel with all the basics provided for half board option - also easy access to beach.
Poolside sunbathing (and shade chasing for those like me) was quiet and peaceful - helped through being adult only.
Food was good - starting with a great roast beef dinner on day of arrival (never afterwards quite matched though!).
Room facilities ok - but why oh why does this hotel (like some others) think charging extra for a safe that is actually IN the room acceptable?
Frankly - it isn't. Change this now please - it can't cost that much to include it in - or even charge a refundable deposit for the key.
Would return if this feedback is acted on and prominently stated in description of what is on offer.
Staff were pleasant and helpful - and cheerful as well.
All in all - a good break!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Son Matias Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great hotel for Brits it's if you want to be with other Brits but if you wang to experience a Majorcan hotel , you won't .
We were only here for 2 nights , having stayed at Andratx and Palma previously . Staff really pleasant and helpful ,rooms fine . Breakfast was plentiful and full English on offer .
As other reviewers have mentioned , the hotel is very popular with older people and very well equipped .
There is even entertainment every evening and lots of activities during the day . We spent a couple of hours by the pool waiting for our room, no problem with beds or umbrellas but much preferred the beach as it was quieter , no road noise or from other bars .
It has a great location with a fabulous view & liked the fact we had a fridge so could buy beer and sangria from supermarket opposite and keep it cold .
We stayed 2 nights and emailed in advance that we would like a late checkout as had late flight . We asked again when we checked in and were told to ask on Saturday , then had to change to another room for the afternoon . Bit of forward planning wouldn't go amiss . However they are helpful and obliging .
Hope this has been helpful , happy to answer any questions

Room Tip: higher rooms have better view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Son Matias Beach for 1 week half board from 29th July to 5th August 2014. This hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague and I am so glad i booked. Our flight was on time and our transfer to the hotel was very comfortable in an air conditioned coach. We were greeted at the hotel by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. We stayed in Room 311 which had a beautiful seaview. The room was spotless and was air conditioned, plented of wardrobe space and a tv which had English channels. The pool area was very nicely decorated with plenty of beds and umbrellas. The food in the restaurant was first class and the hotel staff were very professional. Special mention to Kelly and Jess (entertainment reps) and Sue (bar staff). I cannot wait to return to this hotel as I could not fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fiona_mcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Keith and Louise from NORTHERN IRELAND.
We had a great holiday, the hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The shows were excellent, the staff were out standing and went out of their way to please you. We have never got treatment like it. The food was delicious, it just got better and better. The rooms and views are breath taking ,very clean and are of a very high standard. This Hotel is better than a Five Star, you cant go wrong. Book the Son Matias today!

See you soon, Keith and Louise.

Room Tip: Suite Room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was clean, had a good bathroom and plenty of storage. No iron in the room though! In general the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Pool area was good but watch out for the sun lounger rush at 9am! There are notices not to reserve sun lounges but this is pretty much ignored. It became quite a spectator sport in the mornings watching them. One big downside for me was the food. It's very British. It was roast meats every night. Not one Spanish dish in sight. Very disappointing.
To summarise, the hotel is more for the mature crowd who like their home comforts. We are in our 40's and felt very young! The location (right on the seafront) gives the hotel that extra edge but that's about it.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Palma Nova for our family holiday for the last 12 years and have always wanted to stay in this hotel but as we had 2 children we weren't able to. Our daughter turned 16 this year so finally we got the chance. It was certainly worth the wait! Lovely hotel, fantastic location, friendly and helpful staff especially Kelly who kindly brought her kindle charger for me to use as I had left mine at home!

Reading previous reviews people complained about the pool area saying people were queuing early to reserve beds on a morning which they were but there was always enough beds to go around so not sure why people felt the need to do this.

The hotel operate a 'sticker' system where they put a sticker on beds that have towels on but not occupied. The towels are removed if the bed is still empty after an hour (even though we never saw them remove any towels) this is a good idea but I felt that they were a bit quick putting stickers on i.e. When you went to the toilet or went in the pool.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will be returning again in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a week at the Son Matias early in August and have just arrived home. We had a BRILLIANT time!!! This was our first visit to the hotel and we chose it because of all the good reviews/ratings on Tripadvisor...it didn't fail us. Spotlessly clean, modern, high-tech...the positives go on and on. It had the best food we've ever had on holiday too. A highlight for us was the varied evening entertainment, our favourites being Il Duo and The Four Tops tribute. The hotel had a friendly, relaxed feel and we can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Left-hand side of hotel has better views. Ask for a high floor (7+) when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighlandsMolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
991 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#18 of 39 in Palmanova
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £148 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing