We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, but think twice before booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This hotel has many positives and the location is second to none, virtually on the well maintained beach at Palma Nova. The building design means that every room has a great panoramic view of Palma Bay.Obviously the higher the floor the more this view is enhanced. During warmer weather the self service dinning area offers the opportunity to eat on the veranda "El fresco" for about 20+ covers.
The rooms are small but include good amenaties, kettle, safe flat screen TV and all rooms have a balcony.
The food choice in the restraunt is good and varied but geared very much to UK tastes. The staff are very effecient but the "Maitre De" is nothing short of a bully sceaming at staff to clear the tables for the next dinners. If you eat early the food is hot, but the later you dine it tends to be tepid.
The pool area is good but very small and suffers from the towel on beds "syndrome" and regular guests think it is their divine right to occupy the same bed every day of their stay.
The hotel has a 4 star classification and on a larger site has the potential to be 5 star, but for the following reasons the hotel in my opinion, is a typical 3 star and only its superb location justifies the 4 star.
The major issues are as follows.
The hotel policy is to encourage guests to return year after year and this policy offers price discounts, gifts etc to regulars. This policy and location attracts the older British guest many of whom lack mobility and a lot of them have the attitude that they own the hotel.
Many guests never leave the hotel during their stay and they develop this attitude of thats my chair and thats my lounger. They sit in the lounge area from 7.00pm until the main entertainment commences at 10.00pm with a bottle of water and when more guest enter the lounge seats are a premium.
The two large ladies (English) entertainers are very friendly, but focus only on regulars if you are not known they ignore you completely, which could be a blessing! The entertainment standard is fairly good but again all the acts originate from the UK and all use awful backing tape systems which has the feel of "kari -oki" In the two weeks of our stay we never saw any Spanish entertainment.
There only two lifts in the hotel and because of the age of guests these are fairly busy most of the time.
Other downsides include quite basic things such as 24 euro deposits for pool towels, if you want a fridge and a safe deposit box then you will required to depart with over 100 euros which is a fair chunk of anyones' spends budget in 2 weeks. Most of it is refunded but that money is not much use when you are departing for home.
There are kettles in every room but they limit you two one tea bag and one coffee satchet per day per person which is a bit mean especially when the weather is bad.
In summary we enjoyed our stay the weather was good and as stated the Hotel location is unbeatable for the beach and local ameneties, but the hotel is geared for UK guests and no under 18's are allowed once inside you could be anywhere in the UK. We paid over £2,000+ for 2 weeks (inc flights), but weather apart we felt as though we were in a British retirement home.
If you do go make sure you book a trip to Soller (by 1920's train/tram) which will provide you with a scenic delight and a real insight into true Spanish culture. Book via local agents in Palma and not your travel agents and you will save a chunk of money.
Dont be frightened of leaping on the local buses (TIBS red/cream) to see this beautiful Island. They are cheap and cheerful and very regular

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mancity010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

Visiting the Son Matias Beach hotel for the first time, the GOOD BITS we found it a very clean and pleasant hotel with lots to do, the entertainment was absolutley fabulous, Clare and Heather in charge of the games and entertainment were the best I have known, they were just suberb. The rooms were clean and bright with fantastic views over the bay, the pool area was excellent with sunbeds always available. All staff were very friendly and helpful. NOW for the BAD BITS, the food was a let down, with not much commitment from the kitchen, luke warm veg with not much of a selection to choose from,at breakfast the bacon was burnt, the fried eggs hard and sausages not cooked through properly, main meals mashed potato was instant and looked like porridge - all runny, the roast meat is hacked into chunks, and on roast lamb nights its kept under lights so long the meat was so dry it resembles tree bark. We did not see anyone check the food temperatures until a letter of complaint was written to the manager who never had the decency to reply. We complained to our rep who was most helpful, he helped us fill in a satisfaction form, only then did the meals improve a little.Many other guests also commented on the quality of the food and said the meals had deteriorated since their previous visits, The desserts were not too bad on the whole, but I think serving the same hot dessert ( there was always a choice of 2 ) on 4 consecutive evenings was a bit much. The salads were ok but could do with more choice. We understand that the Son Matias Beach is hoping to obtain 5 star status..... as it stands now, I think this unlikely due to the way the food is presented and the choice available. Lets hope Thomson Holidays and the two brothers that own this hotel pull their socks up because the location is fantastic and the hotel cannot be faulted in any other way. This is an honest assessment of what we experianced

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charliemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My wife and I had 10 days in late August, on arrival put into room above entertainment lounge very noisy, next day asked to move, staff very obliging.
Overall great hotel, great location, lovely beach. Only dissapointment was the food, not presented very well, eggs in the morning were cooked and left keeping warm.Got a bit monotinous towards end of stay,same menu.
We laughed each morning when the wrinklies ran to grab a sunbed (doors open at 9), good idea about removing towels from unattended beds during the day.
Beach loungers bit dear (10.80 euros a day), usually found a bed round the pool after the regulars claimed theirs.
Great having adults only making it a relaxing ,kid free holiday.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopcatKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Just returned (9/10) after 11 days at this hotel. Went with 2 friends who have stayed here the last 2 years. Well what can I say, my wife and I thought it was a fantastic hotel!! The location is superb, the rooms perfectly adequate, the staff were excellent and as for the food we thought that it was very good especially the breakfast. There was usually something to suit all tastes.
We also enjoyed the evening entertainment and can honestly say that only a couple of acts were average, with one comedian being very poor. The daytime activities including quizzes, french boules etc were well organised by Claire and Heather the hotel entertainment team.

The bar prices were a little bit high as were most of the drink prices throughout Palmanova!!! However, the food prices at the pool bar were very reasonable and the portions were huge!

The size of the room was adequate and the range of UK programmes on the tv was excellent. We had a couple of small problems with our room which were dealt with immediately.

There are 3 or 4 places that you can go and sit at outside but still within the hotel grounds and relax in the shade with a drink and a book and in very comfortable chairs. We enjoyed many afternoons sitting watching the people walking on the promenade casting envious glances our way!!!!! There were always sunbeds available most of the day and perhaps the only small negative was the size of the pool.

We liked it so much that within 2 hours of arriving home we had booked next Sept for us and our friends!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazzer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for 20 years (or more)it ticks all of the boxes and more.
It is a child free hotel,right on the beach good location for disabled travellers.Staff are wounderful,we even get to do lunch with the owner !!how good is that.would not go anywhere else in Palma Nova.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aud227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Returned to hotel for 22nd year in july.Now its 4star the new reception is very good But the new restaurant is something else.It is quality throughout Staff really made a great effort as my wife Avril due to a injury is in a wheelchair.Nothing was a trouble to any of them.A big thanks to Andres for our VIP meal its the personal touch which really makes this hotel.This is a no risk holiday when you work hard all year to come somewhere its always clean always good food and staff why take the chance on hoping your choice of holiday is up to scratch when at the Son Matias is allways perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob-walker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Not long back, lovely holiday, I could go out of the secure gate onto the beach and swim in the sea, or the pool which was lovely.
Food good but got a bit repetative, brilliant location.Rooms a tad small, could get all British chanels on tv if we wanted the news etc.
As has been said, a lot of clients had been going since the year dot, some were very lovely, some were downright ignorant, completely blanking "newbies"We ALWAYS got full marks in the daily quiz, but the same people seemed to win every night.Great idea to ticket the sunbeds every hour and removing the towells after 2 hours, but found some staff only ticketed the newbies.
We will go back but doubt we'll get the siver, gold or platinum cards.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noreenrolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.1 mi away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.3 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £61 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing