We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just returned from an october stay”
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabarda
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
pershore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“just returned from an october stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

OK so only a one star because of no lift and no air con-but it does have a fan,is spotlessly cleanand brekkie (you pay for drinks) is good.A little away from magalluf and torrenova but bus is regular and only 1.50 .Palma nova a bit quiet end october but during the day plenty to do but you needed to go further to get live entertainment at places like the fountain bar and finnegans .Back to the hotel-its in three bits-the gabarda where the food etc is,the gil-older property and the Matinez-apartments -all nice and clean..Very helpful receptionists and a brilliant cook -you do need to get your brekkie voucher from reception each morning and a slight queue but its all cooked to order .Buses to palma or magaluf very close ,a 24 hour bar on site ,bar snacks in the day .Any trouble is clamped down quick as to be expected close to magaluff.We went as we wantd a good cheap base to explore that side of the island and it fitted the bill perfectly .would recommend if you take on board my comments

Room Tip: front catches the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    144
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
51
207
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room was on the 2nd floor. There was no lifts. The room was nice and clean, spacious and had a nice view of the mountains. There is a hotel bar which is open day and night and the beer prices are reasonable. The food is reasonable and is freshly cooked.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the beach and there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. For those who don't drive there are plenty of buses going to Palma with the bus stop just around the corner from the hotel. Its costs about 3 euros a journey. There are only single tickets available though. The staff were very helpful for information for money exchange. There is a small pool there to use, there is also internet available and there is a money exchange available as well.
This hotel is excellent value for money and I hope to visit here again. Though it probably suits the younger adults better than a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CestAlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we have just got back from a 4 night stay - we booked less than a week before arriving. This was a very cheap deal. We had a 6am flight so arrived at 10ish - was not expecting to be able to check in, but we were - this is a great plus point. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff we encountered. Room was basic but clean, we asked for a low floor and that is what we got. Drinks at the bar were priced ok, breakfast was cooked fresh for you, this again was a plus point, although I do prefer an apartment with fridge kettle toaster and kettle so we can look after ourselves. The only downside for us, was the location, it is a bit far out from where we like to be, but we knew all of this when we booked, we have been going to palma nova / magaluff a couple of times a year for the last 10 or so, we have never stayed at the Garbarda before but have always met people who have, so we thought we would give it a go, I would stay again if it was for a weekend and if the price was right. Well done to all the staff as you are well appreciated by all the repeat guests you have.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Me and my partner only arrived home two days ago and are already booking to go back next year. Our room was on the top floor of the garbarda and it was nice. Some people saying basic or old fashioned but ive been going to palma nova every year since I was six and have stayed in 3 star hotels and the rooms have been worse. It was a very large room and it was cleaned every day with new towels aswell. You will have to queue for breakfast but thats just because its fresh food and not reheated. The staff really are lovely and helpful, ask them anything and they are sure to know the answer. Defo get more than what you pay for. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush1234darcy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for seven nights at the Gabarda's sister hotel, the Gil. The rooms are pretty basic with springy beds, spare blankets and a simple bathroom. Cleaners attend daily and leave the rooms neat and clean when they're done. The only problem we had with our room was the lack of water pressure in the shower at peak times in the morning, but it was such a small complaint we didn't feel the need to raise it with the hotel admin.

Reception, bar and food service staff are friendly and usually polite. The bar food and breakfasts are reasonably priced, but the drinks are overpriced. We were able to leave feedback on check-out, so this might change in the future if enough people agree?

The pool at the Gabarda is quite small and directly next to the outside dining area, and separated from the street by a wall with decorative gaps in. As far as I could see it was also in permanent shade, so probably quite chilly. Never saw anyone in there for any long period of time.

The hotel does have free WiFi and a charging point in reception, and a couple of pay machines if you struggle without your daily internet intake. The WiFi however doesn't extend much further out, so the Gil was an internet black zone.

Local services include bike hire (€10/day), Mercadona (local supermarket) and a Lidl. The beach front is also a five minute walk away, with all the bar and food places you'd expect.

All in all, the hotel is very well priced for what you get.



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordgrimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

we were a group of 8 girls wanting a 4 day drinking break couldnt fault the place rooms were basic but we were not in the rooms for any length of time, breakfast was good and the staff were fantastic really friendly, hotel was ideally placed magaluf was a good 20 min walk away or 5 euro in a taxi. brilliant stay would deffo go back.

Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were five fellas travelling together and ranged in age from 18 to mid-forties and stayed in the Garbada for 8 nights in October. We were accommodated in the Gil part of the complex and the rooms are basic but clean and tidy. Towels were changed daily and toilet rolls etc replaced.
The staff are by and far the strongest suit for this hotel. We were rowdy on our first night and deservedly received a warning the next morning ( apologies to other guests ) but we found we were treated fairly and certainly no grudge was held by staff. All the staff in the hotel that we encountered were polite and always ready to help. Salvadore the barman is hilarious once you understand his humour.
The hotel itself is situated less than ten minutes walk from the beach with have a dozen lively bars perhaps a further ten.
We had breakfast included which was very nice each morning but be prepared to queue. This hotel offers extreme value for money and I would highly recommend it if on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviedover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 39 in Palmanova
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Property: Hotel Gabarda
Address: Calle Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#17 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing