We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gabarda
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in the Gil apartments next door. The staff in the Gabarda were all friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was very very basic, just 2 single beds, very basic furniture and a small shower room. The room itself was clean and staff came in every day. However we felt that due to the lack of fridge and the very poor shower that would prevent us from booking again. Also, although we did not need it on this occasion, it would be unpleasant without air con in the summer.

The breakfast was included and again was basic but fine although it did not include a drink which was disappointing. No fresh juices were available, just really coffee and other soft drinks. We did not like the fact that other guests were smoking at the breakfast tables, although we acknowledge it was outside.

The location of the hotel was great for us, 5 minutes from the beach and the seafront. We enjoyed a walkout to eat each night. It is also easy to find in the car driving in from the main road. The hotel bar was also well priced and friendly for a pre or post night out drink and has free Wi-Fi.

Overall good, some slight niggles but perfectly fine for the money. It is a budget hotel and probably delivers slightly more than we expected for what we paid. However due to the lack of fridge in the room and the dreadful shower we probably will not book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z0zz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Gabarda in the middle of October. First impressions were good as the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Room size was fine and we had a balcony although no view. No air con, just a very noisy fan which we weren't able to have on while we slept as just too noisy and this made sleeping difficult due to the heat.
My main complaint was the beds. I didn't get one good nights sleep as they were just so hard, no comfort from them at all. Also, people were coming in at 4 and 5am and making a real noise which woke us up every night, nothing was done about this.
The breakfast was good from the Scottish cook, no complaints. It is a bit away from the action and you do have a bit of a walk to get into Magaluf but there is still plenty within reach. I recommend this hotel if you aren't bothered about the beds as it is very good value for money but just for the beds alone, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonjayne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A long time ago we decided to take no notice of star ratings for hotels because we have had great hotels with 2 stars or less and not so good with some 4 stars. This October we booked 5 nights bed and breakfast in the hotel Gabarda having read a variety of reviews on Trip Advisor. Let's get the bad points out of the way first - the pool is tiny and only gets sun in the afternoon. Also there is no lift. The good points are - rooms are quite a decent size and are kept very clean , no air con but a good ceiling fan that was more than adequate in early October. All the staff from the 2 English receptionists to the Irish cook (a real character) and the bar staff are very helpful and pleasant ALL the time we were there. The entertainment at breakfast time from Christine (the cook) who had quite a dry sense of humour was absolutely brilliant. If star ratings were decided on value for money quality of food and helpfulness of the staff this place would be worth at least 4 stars in our estimation.So good we are looking to book again next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syspringco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

OK so only a one star because of no lift and no air con-but it does have a fan,is spotlessly cleanand brekkie (you pay for drinks) is good.A little away from magalluf and torrenova but bus is regular and only 1.50 .Palma nova a bit quiet end october but during the day plenty to do but you needed to go further to get live entertainment at places like the fountain bar and finnegans .Back to the hotel-its in three bits-the gabarda where the food etc is,the gil-older property and the Matinez-apartments -all nice and clean..Very helpful receptionists and a brilliant cook -you do need to get your brekkie voucher from reception each morning and a slight queue but its all cooked to order .Buses to palma or magaluf very close ,a 24 hour bar on site ,bar snacks in the day .Any trouble is clamped down quick as to be expected close to magaluff.We went as we wantd a good cheap base to explore that side of the island and it fitted the bill perfectly .would recommend if you take on board my comments

Room Tip: front catches the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hill4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room was on the 2nd floor. There was no lifts. The room was nice and clean, spacious and had a nice view of the mountains. There is a hotel bar which is open day and night and the beer prices are reasonable. The food is reasonable and is freshly cooked.
The hotel is about 10 minutes from the beach and there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. For those who don't drive there are plenty of buses going to Palma with the bus stop just around the corner from the hotel. Its costs about 3 euros a journey. There are only single tickets available though. The staff were very helpful for information for money exchange. There is a small pool there to use, there is also internet available and there is a money exchange available as well.
This hotel is excellent value for money and I hope to visit here again. Though it probably suits the younger adults better than a family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CestAlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we have just got back from a 4 night stay - we booked less than a week before arriving. This was a very cheap deal. We had a 6am flight so arrived at 10ish - was not expecting to be able to check in, but we were - this is a great plus point. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff we encountered. Room was basic but clean, we asked for a low floor and that is what we got. Drinks at the bar were priced ok, breakfast was cooked fresh for you, this again was a plus point, although I do prefer an apartment with fridge kettle toaster and kettle so we can look after ourselves. The only downside for us, was the location, it is a bit far out from where we like to be, but we knew all of this when we booked, we have been going to palma nova / magaluff a couple of times a year for the last 10 or so, we have never stayed at the Garbarda before but have always met people who have, so we thought we would give it a go, I would stay again if it was for a weekend and if the price was right. Well done to all the staff as you are well appreciated by all the repeat guests you have.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Me and my partner only arrived home two days ago and are already booking to go back next year. Our room was on the top floor of the garbarda and it was nice. Some people saying basic or old fashioned but ive been going to palma nova every year since I was six and have stayed in 3 star hotels and the rooms have been worse. It was a very large room and it was cleaned every day with new towels aswell. You will have to queue for breakfast but thats just because its fresh food and not reheated. The staff really are lovely and helpful, ask them anything and they are sure to know the answer. Defo get more than what you pay for. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rush1234darcy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 38 in Palmanova
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
1,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Calle Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#16 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £36 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing