We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gabarda
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The two receptionists adele and tania made our stay fantastic they would advise us on how to have the best holiday at the lowest cost, inform us of where the best places were to go and how to get there! The women also reminded us on a daily basis to keep our belongings safe from theft, which I believe was very considerate of them both! The bar men spoke very good English and were happy to cater to any need, day or night! And the chef Christine is the funniest woman, was always up for a bit of crack but also provided food of a standard that was better than you would expect for that price. In regards to the comment 'You get what you pay for' I believe you got an awful lot more than what you pay for at the gabarda hotel, I am not saying it is the Hilton, it is a basic hotel but it is a great hotel with amazing, friendly staff. In their comment they complain about things that are written on their website, things such as having to pay for your drink at breakfast, and that the hotel is not family friendly, that their is one bar.. For god sake, read about your hotel before you book, and if you choose not to then don't complain about the hotel for your own stupidity. As people are aware, Palma is a 5 minute drive from magaluf, therefore 99% of the people visiting were people on a drinking holiday! So yes it is a bit noisy at night time, and you do have the odd knob causing trouble, but is this the hotel staffs fault? No! They are there to do a job not to mother the people who are just trying to enjoy themselves!

Ranting aside, I would definitely recommend this hotel, it has all the facilities needed for a great holiday, a clean pool and is overall hygienic, close to the beach bars and the shops, it's also just a twenty minute walk from the magaluf strip, or a 5 euro taxi, decent food and absolutely fantastic staff who are attentive, helpful, and good crack!

Room Tip: I would advise a room on the 3rd floor or away from the pool area and main entrance to minimise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    143
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
51
207
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in the Gil part and it did seem very dated but very quiet apart from one night and we spoke to the receptionist who took our noise complaint very seriously. We would definitely return to this complex. Cleaner every day. Pool area very small but lovely beach only a short walk from hotel. Really friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kt12Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A group of 6 40+ gents stayed here in July and found the hotel to be excellent, the bar is open 24hrs so no matter what time you get in there's always a drink waiting, a very small cold pool but it was red hot when we were there so it was very welcoming, the rooms are small so I wouldn't say suitable for families but for a group it's more that suffice, my favourite person was the little Irish women serving the food I had a great relationship with her and a little banter followed by a thank you goes a long way, would I go again... If I stayed in Palma Nova without a doubt

Room Tip: Wi fi in reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisejolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed here several times and no doubt will stay again. Value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. Christine is a great laugh-she does a great breakfast. Coffee/tea available for €1.50. A second home :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

At first the girls on reception came across very professional but it was the number of hidden rules which made our stay dreadful. Firstly it appears that before you check in you find the bar and sink a couple of pints endears you to the staff as against those who prefer to freshen up and find your bearings. It is advisable to find a local shop which sells cheap booze, and arrange a room party for those who have travelled with you.

If you stay in the sister hotel the Martinez it seems to be a rule to jump from the balcony into the small pool injurying yourself and considering this hotel is left unattended apart from a security guard who has been told to overlook any dispruption.

It is also a rule that when drunk you should go round in the early hours of the morning knocking on any room that takes your fancy especially those with families, older people. What is more you should also try and force your way into these rooms once the door is open.

As there is only one bar and one reception for these hotels and that this area is open plan the hotel is rowdy and noisy at all times and some bright spark had come up with an idea that keys could be left at reception when you are on a night out so every night we drunk lads piling in groups to collect their keys and showing no real reasoning that there was other people trying to sleep.

Should you be the sort of person who complains it seems to be a rule that you stand in reception and listen while the afore mentioned receptionist talk utter B******* about how it never happens, that the young ones leave their brains at home, and that they will speak to the culprits and remind them that there are other people staying in the hotels and that by Spanish law they should be somewhat quieter at night. There where at lease 3 complaints about drunken youths knocking on doors at night in the week we was there, so clearly there is a problem.

If you are bed and breakfast the breakfast is somewhat limited and would benefit from a little imagine how about tomatos instead of beans a couple of days a week, also there is nowhere near enough of it, and should you want a brew you are charged extra for a small cup. Having said that Christine was awesome and seemed genuinely concerned when we mentioned our sleeping problems.

It was also a underwritten rule followed by many of the other guests to leave their rooms so untidy that even the cleaners wouldn't touch them.

We understand by chatting to a lady who lives closed by to these hotels that the management need to pull their socks up, she told us that many neighbours have complained of petty theft and vandalism, but the management doesn't care as they go home at night and leave they groups in the hotels to their own devices.

Personally I think some basic sound proofing to the stairs and corridors and along with a door between reception and the bar may make a little difference but if it gets done it will be too little too late

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni L, Manager at Hotel Gabarda, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank all our guests for their comments / reviews – they are always appreciated because it helps us to improve our services wherever possible.
In this case however we are totally perplexed by what seem to us some very ridiculous and totally untrue comments. It seems paradoxical that one is capable of writing a hotel review yet incapable of reading reviews and necessary information prior to booking that hotel.
We can assure all of our guests, and we are sure that those that can read, are fully aware of where they are coming to and what to expect. Most of them are pleasantly surprised by the standard of service, cleanliness and professionalism of ALL of our personnel – especially when taking into consideration the star rating of our hotel.
Point by point we will not bother to respond to some of the comments in this review as it seems obvious that the review was written and posted without much forethought to the ridiculous and totally illogical accusations made. However regarding “hidden” rules – we must just remind you that like ALL hotels, we have check-in and check-out times. If you have arrived earlier than check-in time and your room is not ready, (which must have been your case) it is entirely your choice if you wish to leave your luggage in our custody and go for a walk / sit around the pool or sit in the bar and drink beer or have a cup of tea. Most adults are able to make those kind of decisions for themselves. Similarly as in ALL hotels, keys are left at reception when guests go out. This is completely normal.
Likewise, on all of the web pages, it is stated quite clearly that drinks are not included in our breakfast. This is not hidden. We charge € 1,50 for an expresso café latte (in a mug – not a small cup as you should remember) – the same for brand named British tea. Most of our clients think this is great value considering the price of expresso coffee in UK. Judging by most of our reviews and comments from our guests, a full cooked English breakfast is more than adequate to start the day although some prefer the lighter options. However, we accept that it is impossible to please 100% of the public when it comes to food. The 24 hour bar is advertised on the websites and proves very popular.
We do not deny that at times we have groups that can be particularly rowdy, especially on their first nights – however we do our best to control the situation and any complaints are dealt with in a correct manner. There is a security guard who patrols all night. We are not, however, babysitters and we cannot be held responsible for the education (or lack of it) of some of our guests. It is not possible to escort every guest to their room at all hours of day and night. At the end of the day we are a hotel not a correctional institution. We are recommended for groups and couples. We state quite clearly on all our web information that we are not recommended for families with children.
We regret that you have not enjoyed your stay here at the Gabarda Hotel, however, we strongly suggest that, in the future, before reserving a holiday, you first check the reviews and read the comments and conditions on the web pages. Hotel holidays are obviously not for you. We have an extremely high percentage of repeat guests (both couples and groups) that enjoy coming year after year. We pride ourselves on this fact. We have won the Trip Advisor Award of Excellence for the past 3 years running and currently are rated in the top 8 of 38 hotels in Palmanova. For this we thank all of our guests. While we appreciate that we cannot please EVERYONE, we would hope that any negative comments or suggestions should at least be made founded on reason, logic and, above all, truth – not on total B****** and idle gossip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room spacious and airy brilliantly clean comfortable beds. Ceiling fan helped with cooling the room good balcony with outside chairs and table. Young groups of people partying. 24 hour bar. Pool small but ok.
A choice of 5 different breakfasts all cooked to perfection by Christine. Good back bacon much like home.
This place is clean everywhere, credit to the cleaners.

Downside:
You had to pay for your tea at breakfast (1.50 euro) or indeed any drink you wanted at breakfast even pure juice. Bit of a rip of. wouldn't be good especially if your a family with 2 or 3 children.
Noise at front entrance late at night.

I would go back to Gabarda in May, apparently its more couple orientated at that time and less young ones. We are aged 50 and 48.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say about this hotel? It was such a pleasure to stay there, I could not believe I was going to a 1 1/2 star hotel, never having been to one before I only really do 5 stars. This hotel should have 5 stars it was so clean, friendly and well positioned, only 10 minute walk to the beach and bars. Yes you looked out over a road or flats but we were never really in the room so it didn't matter.
The lady who cooked breakfast will make you laugh while she is cooking, every breakfast is cooked fresh and was so good, and she was so lovely. Yes there are lots of hens and stag dos but there are also couples and families, not that I would take a child to the hotel as it could get quite noisy.
We were on my daughter in law to be hen do and ages ranged from 22-67 and none if us could complain about anything.
Drinks aren't expensive from the bar and you get a lot in your glass.
5 euros in a taxi to Magaluf which shall I say is an experience, my 19 year old daughter was horrified her 50 year old mother had been to Magaluf.
Again all I can say is lovely hotel, lovely food and lovely people, I hope to return to this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydogWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#28 of 39 in Palmanova
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Property: Hotel Gabarda
Address: Calle Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#17 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing