We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Lunamar Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just booked for my 4th stay at these fabulous apartments. Staff wonderful, cleanliness first class and plenty of room and beds round the pool. Roll on September. Found the staff extremely friendly. Don't feel like a big meal one night go to burger bar outside hotel Son Matias as they do pizzas baguettes and kebabs. We drink in the Bar Orion as we have been coming to Palma Nova for 25 years. So roll on 24th September we are coming home lol

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    254
    95
    26
    14
See reviews for
107
341
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at Sol Lunamar and overall had a really positive experience! We were a little put off on arrival by what can only be described as a grumpy old man on reception (he didn't improve either!) who did the bare minimum to check us in... we had to return later to find out about Safe / Air Con / TV remotes etc. Be ready for a 72 euro deposit!! Cash only as well so that was quite a hit for the first day.

Rooms are, as everyone else describes them, basic but they do the job just nicely - pool view definitely recommended. The beds are fairly hard but not that bad you can't sleep thankfully! We had some extra visitors arrive after our first night(!!!) but once reported were cleared up so quickly and never seen again.

Pool area was always kept clean and tidy, bar staff always lovely, however you do get the usual sunbed reservers... We witnessed 2 beds + parasols reserved from 9am and left unused until 3pm!! Staff don't seem to enforce the no reserving rule but I've yet to see it used to any effect in any hotel I've stayed.

For the most part, as the hotel is a nice distance from the Magaluf strip it attracts a nice crowd of holiday goers, however as per previous review we did experience a couple of large groups towards the end of our holiday who spent the whole time by the pool drinking and the rest is obvious. Great to see they're having a nice time but not at the detriment of other people's experience, particularly as Sol Lunamar is a more family orientated hotel.

Word of warning for departure - don't ask grumpy old bloke on reception to print your boarding passes, he did not want to help!! That was until I asked where else I could go so I could actually go home and he suddenly changed his mind. Doesn't hurt to crack a smile and be helpful as all the other staff were!

Would recommend Sol Lunamar to anyone visiting Palmanova :)

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms for the view however they do only get the sun in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Laura S,

First of all thank you for your kind words about your experience with us. We apologize if you did not find all our staff up to your expectations, we are working to improve.

Also we take note of your sunbeds comment to make it better but true is that if we have no complaints we use to leave all belongings on top this beds just for not disturb other guest if it is not neccesary, next time do not hesitate to tell right in the moment to our bar tender your worries and we will try to answer in accordance to our internal rules and your needs.


Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, the first time was excellent, cannot fault the cleanliness, friendly staff, and very happy with the hotel, location etc. The back gate exit is very good to get to the beach quicker. Returned yesterday from just having spent a week there and I was very disappointed this time, the only reason for this was groups, they were situated above and below us, shouting to each other. The noise was terrible, kicking the doors at 06.00 in the morning, shouting, it was a nightmare with these large groups. There was so much noise most nights and during the day. We did not even bother to sit around the pool as the groups were pretty much there all week and was absolutely drunk every day and just hung around the pool area drunk, asleep and generally a pain. I was really fed up. I chose this hotel as it was so quiet the time I went before and trusted it would be again. Its a shame as a family hotel it is superb, but groups of lads drunk and generally being a pain in the butt and harassing people, being rude etc is not acceptable. Sol Luminar try and stay as a family hotel or you will lose reliable returning customers like myself!! I have booked my next holiday to Palma, and sadly it is not with your hotel, we won't be returning any time soon unless you stay family orientated (no groups)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Angela J,

We are sad to know that you did not enjoy as you should with us.

As you know, for other stay and for other guest review we are a nice place to relax and have a good time, true is that we can not choose our guest and we do not take groups reservations in high season, anyway it is impossible to us to reject individual reservations that they finally appear as a group of friends.

We hope you enjoy your next visit to Majorca and we invite you to give us another chance whenever you think we deserve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here as a young couple aged 22. The location is perfect, 10 minute walk from Magaluf strip and Magaluf beach. Just out the back gate your in Palma Nova. You can't get bored, with 3 different beaches to walk along and lots of places to eat. Including famous attractions such as Pirates,Katmandu and the water park all about a 5 minute taxi cab away. I actually walked to Pirates it took me 20 minutes, and walking to Katmandu took me only 10 minutes.
The hotel however, does deserve a 3*. The rooms are clean which is what you want, But very basic. we only had one plug, no microwave..I mean if your self catering what hotel doesn't provide microwaves?! We had to hire out the hairdryers so ladies TAKE YOUR OWN! Room card was rubbish, the electric kept turning off randomly in the middle of the night! Shower was rubbish, not powerful at all. No entertainment and own food and drinks not aloud at the pool area.

ONE receptionist in particular was EXTREMELY rude. I said hi to him and he blanked me and turned away. He would greet me with a "yes" as if to say what do you want?!

Overall hotel very clean but can see why it's a 3*, don't expect much from the rooms if you go. Would come back to area again but try and see if I can find a better hotel.

Room Tip: Word of advice; some rooms have been refurbished therefore are nicer and have more utilities, we how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Rachel H,

We would like to thank you for taking a bit of your time to tell your impressions of us and your holidays.

First of all we apologize for our stuff behaviour and we will talk seriously with the staff for do not have the same situation never again.

We do not know if you do not were inform, but we have Superior Rooms that you can book where you will find in addition to ther facilities microwave and hairdryer.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any direct comment to tell to us, our intention is to improve every year and provide a nice holidays to our guest.

Thank you again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Needed a quick cheap holiday and chose the Sol Lunamar Apartments, average score is based on a cheap hotel expectation.

Had a ground floor room looking out onto the car park

Pool area was fine and near to the bars and restaurants in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULRMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear PAULRMiltonKeynes,

We are happy that you find in us what you expect and we would like to thank you to share it with everybody.

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Traveled as a couple ..stayed here 19-26/6. I would agree with most of the previous reviewers in that the Hotel is in an excellent location,the back gate being particularly useful. The beach is only 5 mins away and the centre of Palma Nova & Magaluf 10-15 mins walk.
As to the hotel itself,again I would agree with a lot of the previous comments. The bedroom arrangement is strange, 2 sofa type beds (that are hard) a dining table and a large(unnecessary in my opinion) coffee table . Softer mattresses would help . The kettle takes an age to boil but the toaster was excellent,The fridge is adequate and the bathroom spotless. The shower was dated and needs upgrading.Air con also very good.We had a room on the 2nd floor with a road view. We didn't find it particularly noisy but there were some nights when younger residents were having a party!
The pool is nice but whilst we were there it was rather taken over by the younger residents in the afternoon. Plenty of sunbeds though again I think they need upgrading and the pool area would benefit from a few more umbrellas.Only used the pool bar once and have a bit of a wait to be served.Could do with another bar person.Poor choice of draught beer,but a good choice of bottled. Didn't eat at the hotel but the food I saw looked fine.
Reception were very efficient at both check in and out .
All in all,reasonable value for money

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for an upgrade to one with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 7 nights, we absolutely loved the location, a short walk into magaluf for the nightlife, or plenty on offer a bit quieter close to the hotel.
We did however get disturbed quite a lot by groups of younger people staying here and coming back in the early hours of the morning, shouting and banging doors, which was annoying. They also took over the pool area quite a bit and were being disrespectful when people were trying to relax.
We weren't expecting this, we purposely stayed in a hotel that wasn't in magaluf so we didn't get the noise all the time, so it did surprise us.
That would be my only complaint. The hotel was spotless and we loved the view from the balcony. Request a room on the 4th floor or above with a pool view, we did and we had a gorgeous view of the pool and the sea in the distance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefe Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Lunamar Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear LR0809,

We thank you for taking some time to share your experience with everybody, we are not used to have big groups in the hotel, but sometimes it happend.

Hope next time you will enjoy a more relaxing time with us.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Lunamar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lunamar Apartments

Property: Sol Lunamar Apartments
Address: Avda Cas Saboners, 8 | Calvia, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Lunamar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Lunamar aparthotel is located in Palmanova, on the southwestern coast of Majorca. Privileged sea-side location less than 50 m from the Mediterranean sea and right in the city centre of Palmanova. 4 km from reknown Puerto Portals and the Casino Paladium, and very close to the sports facilities in Magalluf. Surrounded by various golf courses within 2 to 20 km distance, in an area ideal for R + R. 13 km from Palma and 24 km from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Sol Lunamar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lunamar Apartments Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing