We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms do need updating but still had a good holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rooms do need updating but still had a good holiday!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We went to playas cas sobeners in June 2011 and we did enjoy our stay but the rooms are old and there are some things that needed doing to the room.

The pool is really big... although... we didnt like the taste of it... tasted horrible... maybe it was salt water??

entertainment was purely for the kids, so we didnt really bother watching it, we liked to heat out to restuarants and have walks along the beach at night time anyway : )

The rooms on the outside looked nice, just on the inside, we had cracked tiles outside on the balcony, the bathroom was really old fashioned, could of done with a new shower, bathroom tiles where cracked, and somethings did need a scrub....

But saying that.... me and my boyfriend really are not fussy about things like this, we spend most our time out of the apartments anyway so what does it matter?? it was a cheap holiday so you get what you pay for

Some other people are different though so i thought i'd better mention it : )

Other then that, palma nova is a gorgeous place, really really lovely, lots of things to do

would return but probably not to this hotel

Room Tip: Im pretty sure all the rooms are the same, all of the rooms have a balcony view of the pool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    334
    129
    27
    30
See reviews for
418
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

just returned from 9days at these apartments and i have to say these were dirty and old the entertainment was terrible most of the staff were nice with exception of 1 who was on the reception he said his name was jemma very rude man not at all helpful on the plus side the pool is lovely and palma nova is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantBeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASSABONERS, Manager at Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners, responded to this review, 20 January 2016
Dear Guest,

We are currently under a new management and we have addressed some of the things you mentioned. We have a new entertainer and a new activity programme.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

APARTMENTOS PLAYAS CA'S SABONERS:
My Wife and I (37 & 33 yrs respectively) have just returned from a very last minute, 5 night stay at Apartmentos Playa Ca's Saboners.

We stayed in Palma Nova 9 years ago, and were happy to play it safe with a Resort we knew, but were willing to experiment with the accommodation. I have to say that Ca's Saboners was a gamble that paid off.

Having booked solely based on Trip Advisor reviews and the photos of the pool(!) we were initially impressed with the overall presentation of the complex upon arrival at 1am. The welcome was warm and the check-in was quick, smooth and without surprises.

The independent Travel Agent with which we booked did mislead us a little, and hereby lies the only warning we would offer:

We booked a 2 person Studio Apartment, which we were reliably advised would be equipped with either a double bed, or two twin beds that could be pushed together. However, the apartment we were allocated had instead two large bench-style sofas, which although reasonably comfortable could not safely be moved together - the result of which was husband & wife sleeping on opposite sides of the room... and we hadn't even had a row! A nicely equipped and decorated room, as they all seemed to be, and perfect for two friends travelling together, but not ideal for a married couple. 

We asked the nighttime Receptionist if there was another room available, and although he advised us that the complex was full, he assured us that a large number of guests would be leaving the following day, and if we returned at 8am his colleague would almost certainly be able to help us out. We duly spoke to the wonderful 'Rebeca' at 8am, to be advised that for a very VERY modest fee we could upgrade to an alternative room, which would be ready as quickly as 9:30am. So, after a stroll along the beach and a quick breakfast we returned to Reception and were delighted to be handed a key to see the new room first, to make sure we were happy! Imagine our delight to be met with a separate Bedroom with King Size Bed, spacious living room and nicely secluded balcony. Perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, particularly Rebeca, whose understanding and professionalism is to be applauded.

And so to the complex itself: Essentially a horseshoe configuration of apartments, across three floors, which in turn affords every guest a balcony with a view of the pool & gardens. This lends a unique, almost 'community' feel to the whole place. If planning to stay with children, the ground floor properties open out onto the pool deck, so Mum & Dad can safely supervise from the comfort of their terrace. Our apartment was on the first floor, which, for us, was perfect.

As much of our decision making process was based on the photos of the pool area, we were really impressed to find it to be actually BETTER than depicted. Well thought-out, nicely maintained and cleverly designed - the bridge creates a natural divide, separating the shallow end & enclosed kids pool from the deeper 'grown-up' end. Admittedly, we were there at the end of the peak Summer season, but we we fairly confident of being able to float about in the deep-end virtually undisturbed at most times during the day! And with plenty of loungers, almost all-day sunshine but plenty of shade, we spent an AWFUL lot of time by that pool!

Sadly, we didn't actually eat in the complex bar (we only had five nights and a whole resort to re-explore) but the Menu looked pretty comprehensive. However, the 4-hour Happy Hour on selected cocktails always set our evening off to a tasty start! It was also a treat to return to the poolside bar on the first evening to find the area beautifully lit, and many of the guests staying to enjoy the resident entertainment - which was varied and catered for all. ALSO - the complex enforced a policy of little/no noise after midnight, so after 12 all that could be heard were the crickets!!

During our stay, there was no one real 'group' of people. Our fellow guests ranged from newborns to the elderly (but spritely) and from all over Europe - but that week predominantly British.

As a final word on Apartmentos Playas Ca's Saboners itself, the little things which made a difference for us were:

- Room Cleaning - whenever requested and very throrough
- BBC1 & BBC2!
- Aircon in every room (just make sure you close the balcony door!)
- Serious, secure safes in the rooms - essential for passport & jewellery based peace of mind.
- The friendly service throughout the entire complex
- This complex is definitley in Palma Nova and NOT in Magaluf as often advertised, but close enough to be a short walk if your plans include wild nights out!

In short, the purpose of this short holiday for us was to completely chill out and relax after a pretty traumatic year... and almost single-handedly the Apartmentos Playas Ca's Saboners allowed us to achieve this. And then some!

PALMA NOVA:
In addition, we spent a fair bit of time on the 3 beaches, the closest of which is just a 2 minute walk away. Soft, clean sand, plenty of loungers and parasols (€10.80 per day for 2 loungers and a brolly!). Each of the three beaches is equally well maintained and equipped, with easy footpath access between them all. 

There are lots of bars, all very different and more subdued than neighbouring Magaluf, but still with plenty of life - plus lots of beachside shops, selling the expected lilos and flip flops, as well as more traditional Spanish mementos and duty free cigarettes, alcohol, jewellery and fragrances.

When it came to eating out, we chose quite carefully to make each of our few evenings count, and although the below contains only a few personal recommendations, there are DOZENS on varied places to eat:

Cafe Bar Canto: Varied menu, close to Ca's Saboners, in it's second year so very fresh and inviting. Went specifically for the Tapas Platters (wife's first experience) and it was fantastic.

La Pizetta: Intimate family-run Italian inspired restaurant. Harbour view, AMAZING pizzas!

Restaurante Maritimo: Established restaurant, with extensive menu. Elevated beach view, and renowned for it's fresh fish & seafood.

Godfather's Beach House: OUR FAVOURITE - extremely smart Beachside restaurant. Great vibe, very friendly (mostly British) staff, exciting menu, superb value. Steaks and Paella not to be missed. Chilled out, romantic and intimately informal. Also great for people watching!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProPresenterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASSABONERS, Director General at Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you very much for your nice words. We would like to see you again next year.
Next year we will have the same smile and ...more facilities :) We will offer also in all the apartments free WI-FI and hairdryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was our 2nd stay at these apartments and once again we really enjoyed it! The staff at reception were really friendly and even though their were 15 of us (family group) they checked us in really quickly and we were able to access our rooms straight away. There was a slight problem as one of our rooms was double booked for the 1st night which we sorted out and they offered us 2 nights money back. They thanked us for being nice about it and upgraded our studio rooms to 1 bed apts which we appreciated. The rooms are spacious yes they could do with a bit of updating but they did for us. We had children in our party so it was great to have a kettle, toaster, microwave and BBC 1 and 2 for cbeebies in the morning. We never found it a problem getting sunbeds in the morning and we all loved the pool even though it was cold! The kids pool was a bit dangerous getting in and out because the ladder was really lose but other than that no complaints.

Overall this is a good accommodation that doesnt deserve some of the bad reviews, im a travel agent and would sell this to any of my customers. Its cheap basic and suited all our needs and we definately would return again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M11UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASSABONERS, Director General at Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you very much for your nice words. We would like to see you again next year.
Next year we will have the same smile and ...more facilities :) We will offer also in all the apartments free WI-FI and hairdryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed there for the 5th time September this year, excellant place for families and alike, staff where wonderfull and helpfull , I am disabled and they helped in every way they could. I will be back again and again!!!

Room Tip: Whatever your needs contact the apartments direct and they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Have just returned from 8 days here and it was ok but we wouldn't go back. The apartments are in Palma Nova, not Magaluf and in a good quiet position above the resort. Staff were friendly and the pool was big, although absolutely freezing. The apartment was quite spacious and the air-con very good.

The apartments are tired and could really do with a refurb - badly fitted kitchen units, cracks in sanitary wear, grimy looking tiling in the bathroom and rusty bits in the bath and shower. They could really do with a lick of paint, new shower rails and curtains and just a general overhaul. Doors were flimsy and battered and a lot of floor tiles in the communal areas were cracked and broken. A number of sunbeds around the pool were also broken but not removed, although we never had a problem getting a sunbed by the pool, even later in the day.

The majority of people staying there were British and were a combination of families, couples and groups. The only issue we had with groups were late night arrivals which were noisy and inconsiderate when you were trying to sleep. 2 young guys were throwing themselves in the pool and yelling at 5am one morning and one evening a group of girls were flashing at some guys on a balcony who were flashing back - nothing was done about these incidents at all by staff or security.

We struggled to find decent food in Palma Nova and this is the main reason we wouldn't go back. Most places catered for the British and were just churning out burgers, chips, etc which we don't eat at home, so wouldn't choose on holiday. We'd recommend the Happy Chinese on the front, we ate there twice and got a set meal for 2 with a bottle of house wine for 24 euros. Viceroy steakhouse was very good food but very expensive and we also ate at Zen cafe on the front which was great on the first visit but disappointing on our return visit.

Overall, Palma Nova has become too commercialised and for that reason, we wouldn't choose it again for a holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor was great for direct access to the pool however you could hear people in the apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julesv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASSABONERS, Director General at Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you very much for your nice words. We would like to see you again next year.
Next year we will have the same smile and ...more facilities :) We will offer also in all the apartments free WI-FI and hairdryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed there in July this year and had no complaints what-so-ever, other than the creepy elevators! Even though we went as a group of 8 girls we were looking for somewhere to relax through the day in the peace and quiet whilst at the same time being pretty close to the night life of Magaluf. We were not disappointed!

Through the day we were able to relax, sun bathe and enjoy being round the pool without it being too rowdy or full of party mad idiots, then on a night we only had to walk 15 minutes down the hill (past an amazing pizza shop!) and we were in Magaluf!

We'd return home between 3-4 am each morning and the apartments were silent! It was great. We could get straight into bed without having to listen to other groups parties and sleep without trouble. We had read reviews before we went that groups could be heard until the early hours but we never heard anything, even if we had, what do you expect staying in apartments only 15 minutes away from one of the best nightclubs in europe?!

The rooms we're clean, tidy and everything we needed! We had a fridge, hob cooker, tv, comfy beds, clean bathroom and air-con! And as a group of girls with too many clothes we were impressed with the size of the wardrobes!

The bar and snack bar were great. Fab food and friendly staff! We ate there most days when we couldnt be bothered to walk out the front of the hotel to the supermarket! (the one on site is rather expensive!)

Overall I was massively impressed with the Ca's Saboners after I had read such negative reviews. To not enjoy your stay here you must be a bit of a snob! A great laid back, family friendly hotel that I'd recommend for anybody that wants peace and quiet but still enjoy a bit of a lively atmosphere! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one on each side of the complex as we didnt ask for them together. Both rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASSABONERS, Director General at Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you very much for your nice words. We would like to see you again next year.
Next year we will have the same smile and ...more facilities :) We will offer also in all the apartments free WI-FI and hairdryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#5 of 39 in Palmanova
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners

Property: Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners 7, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#14 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playas Ca's Saboners Aparthotel is spacious, comfortable and equipped with television, full kitchen, fridge, toaster, kettle, microwave, air conditioning and a large terrace. We also have a beautiful, crystal clear pool which is surrounded by millenary olive trees, palms and gardens, where you can relax and soak up the sun. In the apartments in Majorca you'll find an ideal place at an exceptional price to enjoy a family holiday of all the wonderful attractions of Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playas Ca`s Saboners Hotel Palma Nova
Apartamentos Playas Cas Saboners Hotel
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing