We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but standards could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Agua Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agua Beach
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but standards could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Spent 1 week on an all inclusive basis at this hotel. Rooms are basic but we had a sea view which was fantastic and worth paying extra for. Room was cleaned daily. The location of the hotel is great for the beach.

Pool was small and only about 60% of it gets sunlight. There were usually sunbeds available, i assume because many people only stayed there for a brief time before moving on or they just preferred the beach. There were youngsters there drinking around the perimeter at times, but no trouble. It can probably be a good area for children outside the busy season, our main issue with the pool is that, for want of a better word, it is an ugly surrounding. Green foliage climbing the 2 walls and an unsightly dirty roof at the one end. The Beach is a far better option.

Drinks are served in small plastic cups, the type you would usually associate with children’s parties. You can ask for a glass in the evening, but getting one depends on who serves you and what side of the bed they got out of that morning. It’s fair to say I don’t think the bar staff enjoy the all-inclusive experience. Also,I can understand the need for plastic cups during the day when so many people carry their drinks across the road to the beach , but after 6pm a more common sense approach should prevail. If you buy a drink outside the all inclusive range they will serve in a glass – A preferable option for some.

The dining experience is a no-frills affair, from the dour surroundings to the cutlery, paper napkins, grubby tablecloths and plastic cups . However, this is the one area of the hotel where the staff are very pleasant and the food is actually ok most of the time. Its closer to transport cafe than the Ritz, so if you’r looking for ambiance include a little extra in your spending budget for a couple of nights eating out.

There is evening entertainment a few days a week,but nothing of any real note for me. What I would call background music. However, there are a few nice bars in the quieter area towards the small harbour advertising singers and the stadium showbar across the road is a very good family venue, with tribute acts every evening.

I can only assume that this hotel is having to cut its costs and as a result, there are areas of maintenance that are neglected. Staff morale seems to be very low. We had a good holiday & got what we paid for. We were not slaves to the all-inclusive package,but still feel we got just about value for money with the view, location ,daytime food & soft drinks. Whilst i am not sure that “all inclusive” suits this particular hotel for a variety of reasons, it can be a good holiday if you use the hotel as a base and utilise the few good attributes it has.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    193
    90
    51
    32
See reviews for
80
295
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Me and my friends turned up to the hotel and had paid for a 4 room unfortunately one of the girls was not able to come the receptionist seemed fine with checking us in and when asking us where the 4th party member was (and realising we were with an independent online travel company and didn't have a rep there) changed his mind, and told us we couldn't stay in the hotel for 2 days at least as he had overbooked the rooms and would have to stay at a hotel 100meters down the road which was actually much further. We were devastated as we were students and had in total paid over a thousand pounds for our room. To take the mick even more when our other 8 friends turned up after us who had a rep there he checked them in with their rooms with no problem at all, this made us furious. He told us we could have compensation by a bottle of vodka but as it was an all inclusive hotel this was not acceptable so we refused his offer. When we got to the replacement hotel our room was filthy, there was hair in the Bath, fag burns in the sofa bed and only room to sleep 2. It was of a much poorer quality than our friends rooms in the original hotel. The next day asking another male receptionist about the situation we saw other people being turned down and some being allowed in. the second receptionist claimed we hadn't even paid for our rooms and the female rep. said it was because a water pipe had broke which was a lie as the first receptionist told us it was due to overbooking. we felt we were treat hurendoesly and they felt it was ok because we were young girls. we didn't feel safe away from our friends. when we eventually got back in our original hotel the staff were very rude the food was awful and the. barmaid was the rudest most unfriendly nasty woman but only to other women. overall we spent almost three days in the hole that was the replacement hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19hollya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, we were given directions to our room; Past the pool, up the lift and turn left.
Bear in mind we had been travelling since 3pm, and by now it was past 1 the next morning. We went past the pool, up the smallest and slowest excuse of a lift ive ever been in, in my life, to the first floor where we turned left and were lead to nowhere, when we had eventually dragged the rest of our luggage up the stairs we turned left again through a garden where we were lead to a terrace, there was a small set of doors across the terrace which I on my own had to go and look down since we didn't fancy dragging the bags back and forth, 2 flights of stairs and a few corridors later I eventually found the room. Which was then impossible to open!
Thankfully the room was okay and we didn’t have much to complain about, until the we found out the air conditioning, tv, back door and one of the beds were broken. We complained twice about the tv, the first time a man walked in looked at it and walked out, the second time he came in and took it out, without it being replaced for the rest of the holiday.
For the size of the hotel there was a serious lack of staff, and they were mainly very rude with us, especially the maids who not once cleaned the room, left clean linen or clean towels in the week we were there. Though they were still happy to walk right in despite us leaving signs on the door on numerous days saying do not disturb. When we asked for clean towels we were given stained brown ones (yuck).
The food was very cheap and basic, and if you don't like liver hake or cod you're eating lettuce. The themed night which we had on the last night however was a great improvement
to the food which we had experienced the entire week. Other guests who were staying in the hotel told us a number of times that they had found bugs and once a maggot in their food.
I don’t think I’ve ever heard a more depressing playlist, than the one which was played each night in the eating areas.
The pool was cleaned once in the week we were there, meaning the majority of it was taken over by dead flies, rubbish, leaves and food. There is no bar near the pool and if you wish to collect a drink you must dry off and collect them one by one due to the one drink per head rule. The same goes for the toilets.
We paid for all inclusive though there were a few minor things such as ice cream which we only allowed to be for children, obviously because adults don't eat ice cream right?! Bit unsure why children were in the hotel when the brochure we were provided with stated an adults only hotel. There were no cocktails on the all inclusive menu, which is rare as there are usually a few and the snacks are very limited and of very poor quality.
There was no entertainment, other than an old man singing and bingo, which didn’t run on Friday or Saturday nights for some bizarre reason.
We don’t usually feel the need to comment on small issues however due to the attitude of the staff on many occasion and the fact we were told this was almost a 4 star hotel I think someone has to tell it straight. The location and surrounding areas to the hotel were amazing, but I think some serious ideas need booking up in order to get the hotel back in line.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summer_Wins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

my husband and i have just returned from the agua beach hotel and we absolutely loved it.the food was good the atmosphere was good andwe could not fault the staff in the dining room especially anna and angela who were so welcoming and friendly.at certain times we felt sorry for them as their workload was far too heavy for the volume of people in the restaurant but they kept smiling .we did not use the pool as there were gangs of young men around it and it felt intimidating as they were drunk most of the time however this is not the fault of the hotel but the guests themselves.i have to say that we are well travelled and would rate the experience of this hotel as very good, the only complaint we had was we left our room at 12 oclock in the afternoon but we were not getting picked up for the airport until 1 05am we did ask if we could pay and keep our room for longer but understanderbly the hotel was fully booked .we were assured that we could use the shower room and kept going to reception to be told it was already being used by other guests and to try again later.when we went back later we were told the shower room was closed because it had just been cleaned i offered to clean the room when we used it but no reply.the person we had been dealing with earlier on reception was apologetic and friendly but unfortunately this second person was rude and didnt even look up from his desk to speak to us. we were told we should never have been told we could use the shower room and he was not responsiblr for other peoples errors. its such a pity our lovely holiday was spoilt at the last minute by this avoidable incident.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

When we arrived in the early hours we has queuing in reception Atleast an hour before getting to our room. When we got to our room it is very basic and we had an awful view. Hardly got any sleep at this hotel as we had a landing full of groups of teenagers partying all night until around 7am then they'd sleep all day and start again. I found that there was limited food choice which the chefs seem to love rustling up hake and sole and some of the meats looked disgusting! I struggled finding something what I liked each day but always found a bit of something. I also noticed that around the desserts table when you'd pick a dessert they'd be flies around them so that puts you off your meal! Not many places at all to sunbathe so I had to pay 13 euros a day to go on the beach which is awful, the hotel should have more sunbeds! The solarium has an ant infestation so if there's room up there you'd have to move anyway. Had to carry my personal belongings with me at all time as the safe in our room was broken which is very risky. The hotel doesn't seem to have much going on in the day entertainment wise and the nighttime entertainment isnt that good. I found that the cleaners just walked in without knocking, and not once changed the bedding all week as they did clean the rooms everyday. The one drink policy is ridiculous and ice cream shouldn't only be for children, it's all inclusive everything should be available! On leaving the hotel our coach was late by an hour and half, we had no travel rep or anyone keeping us updated as to what was going on at all! I personally wanted to leave on the first day of being there, I spoke to others there who also felt the same! Wouldn't ever go again, really just a waste of money! Put a complaint in about the noise, nothing got done about it so it seems once they have your money, there not too bothered! Don't waste your time and money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmineck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have just returned from holiday with my family at the Agua Beach Hotel in Palma Nova, Mallorca and felt strongly that I should write a review and share our experience
.
When arriving at the hotel on Sunday 22nd July (11.30pm) we were told that the Hotel didn’t have a room for us and we would have to stay at an alternative hotel for the night. I explained that our booking was for the 22nd until the 29th and showed them the booking/accommodation voucher but they said we could not stay at that hotel until the following day. There had arranged for us to stay at the Tropico Beach and organised a taxi for us.

As we had been traveling most of the day and was with my 12 yr old son we accepted this but I strongly voiced that I was not happy about the arrangement. We were told that we could have breakfast at the alternative hotel and then return for our room. The following day we returned after breakfast to be told that the room would not be ready until after noon.

As you can imagine being moved to an alternative hotel and then having no room until noon the following day was not the most restful start to our holiday.

After talking to some of the other holidaymakers there we discovered that this happens very often and to at least five other groups we spoke to whilst there.

The Hotel itself is in quite a shabby state and the sheets were marked and in need of replacement. The sun loungers were in short supply and the majority were broken. The pool area was quite dirty and infested with ants.

The all-inclusive selection was quite limited, at the bar you could only get two drinks at a time and at one visit the barman said I would have to get my husband and son out of the pool to come and get their own!!!. The majority of staff were helpful but one or two quite rude and inattentive. At one visit to the snack bar at 5.45pm, this was advertised at open from 10.00am till 6pm, we were not acknowledged for 5mins and then told they had already cleaned up so were shut.

The entertainment was pretty much non-existent, over the week we only had two nights and one night bingo. There was no daytime entertainment at all.

We have visited Mallorca five times and the last three being all inclusive so have had experience of the services available, it obviously differs from hotel to hotel but we feel on this occasion the whole thing was very poor.
.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else. You have to pay an additional £60 for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Where do I start!
We checked in and were given very poor directions and got lost. We were put in the new part of the hotel that was miles away from the pool, bar and restaurant. The room was OK but we had sand on the floor that was never Hoovered or swept up all week plus the cleaner just walks in. The pool was very small and you have to dry off just to go toilet or get drinks. The oldest bar man is very rude. The younger bar men are nice. The snack bar food is disgusting the burgers are pre cooked and left in a bowl all day and chips are also left out. The hygiene is also terrible in the snack bar. The drinks are in.plastic cups for residents but glasses for people that pay. The Pepsi is watered down. The one drink rule is plain rediculous. Swimming pool is dirty and found a kfc bag floating in it and hot dogs next to it that obviously someone ordered but chose to not eat. The restaurant staff were very nice but food was disgusting worse food yiukl ever eat. Same thing everyday. You better like hake and sole as the chefs like cooking it everyday. Breakfast is not worth getting up for. The table cloths are rotten. I wanted to go home after ibe day. It was just a horrible hotel.ocation is great but that's it. Do not stay here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestCorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Style Palmanova
FERGUS Style Palmanova
#14 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#13 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#23 of 39 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agua Beach

Property: Hotel Agua Beach
Address: Paseo Mar 24, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agua Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently reformed to a 4 star official rating this Front-line Hotel offers unrivaled views over the soft, golden sandy Palma Nova beach, and impecable service that will make you feel right at home. All areas and rooms of the Hotel have been refitted during the 2014 Winter to create an open, light and Mediterranean atmosphere that also incorporates twenty first century technology, such as Free high speed internet access for all guests. New Queen size beds and luxurious sheets insure a sound and comfortable sleep at night, whilst for those looking for entertainment our cocktail bar offers live music at night and a varied drinks list. Other features include private parking, teak laid swimming pool with sun-beds, solarium, safe and fridge in rooms, high powered showers or bathtubs, two wonderful suites for honeymooners or guests looking for that little extra.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Agua Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Beach Hotel
Agua Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Agua Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing