We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place for quiet Palma Nova vacation”
Review of Ponent Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponent Mar
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ideal place for quiet Palma Nova vacation”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from 10 night stay at this aparthotel, super views over Palma Nova & San Caliu beaches.Staryed in superior studio apartment,very clean & all staff helpful.Pool area becoming conjested as Hotel became more occouppied in June,suspect the spare sun lounges will mae their way down to the grass gardens as peak season approaches.Whilst we were a couple ideal for familes also.

Good spread of nationals .Brits,Germans ,Scandananvians,Spanish & Russians giving a good mix.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the upgrade,we bought supplies for breakfast from the nearby supermarkets in Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlynnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    178
    51
    21
    5
See reviews for
197
141
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

very good clean and friendly apartment hotel
everything you need, large spacious modern apartment, we had the sea view superior 1 bed apartment and it was fantastic, great views, massive double balcony from lounge and bedroom
very high standard of furnishings and fittings and beautiful modern decor, lovely high spec bathroom, recently refurbed i think
5 mins walk from palma nova bay, lovely beach and great bars nearby and only ten mins form the very glam marina which is worth a visit
all in all i would visit again and stay there.
taxi 30-40 euro each way (a little expensive)
would suit all types of holiday maker, but would be a little sedate for the young crowds

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for superior sea view only down side is they dont serve breakfast in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just back from a 6 night stay at Ponent Mar apartments. View was out of this world, ground floor sea view room, so peaceful. However we had a problem with ants/fleas in the bedroom. I say flees as the cleaner said they were fleas. When I moved the beds out from the wall, a little army of them ran everywhere. I did complain to reception and was told the room would be cleaned in the morning which it was however the ants/fleas were still there. I asked for ant spray the night I found them so ended up spraying it in the bedroom and it solved the problem, however had to keep spraying it every two days to keep them at bay. Room was cool and did not need air conditioning as the apartment only got the sun early morning.

Apart from the insect problem, to which I did not complain again about. The pool was lovely, lovely restaurants near by, beach/marina a five min walk away. This hotel is in the quieter end of Palma Nova and would best suit couples and families. Good supermarket on the grounds. It is a good thirty min walk up to Son Matias beach if this is the area you prefer.

As stated in other reviews apartments do not have a microwave, kettle or toaster. They are well equiped otherwise with utensils, fridge and 2 ring hob. Beds comfortable. Very quiet hotel at night if you looking for a peaceful sleep, no street noise from young groups etc.

Would I return here, maybe but was really put off by the insects. This may be due to ground floor apartment but have not had this problem in other destinations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0mers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

What wonderful surprise to discover this hidden gem after decades of visiting the island. Early in May we wanted to hedge our bets with pool and beach if the sun shone and close to the city if it didn't.

The sun did shine and we had 2 fantastic days in and around the large clean but chilly pool. The hotel grounds are large with impeccable gardens with the best rooms ( i think they are the refurbished ones)having fantastic sea views. We had a wonderful terrace where we had breakfast overlooking the sea

the room was large with a bed room and separate kitchen lounge area with proper sofa beds. Cleaning was excellent, the bathroom modern and the shower powerful.

Our 7 year old was swiftly recruited by the entertainer who together with the only other child in the hotel put on games, face painting and 2 mini discos. The first one went on so long, we gave up on eating out and dined in the hotel buffet and for hotel food it was very good. even better in the summer when it looks like they have tabels outside

We ate out at a an excellent Spanish restaurant, an oasis in a sea of dreadful Palma Nova restaurants. Meson something opposite Mercadona

Very highly recommended . Will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xxxyxxyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A group of 9 of us stayed here for my Hen Do - we wanted a nice hotel away from Magaluf but close enough if we wanted to go for a while - this hotel is a great place to go for families or couples or a group who want a nice place to stay!!!
Breakfast is fantastic in this hotel, I did not eat at the evening meal but the Stags who went the week after did and said it was fantastic and well worth the 15 Euros.
Staff are great, drinks are huge (spirits are at least a triple) rooms are well kept very clean and beds are comfy - the view from roon 213 is also a treat!!!!
15 Mins from the airport in a cab and 36 Euros
Beaches are also great you can take a nice walk along the beach and come across some nice bars and restaurants.
Def recommend this hotel and I am booking to go back with soon to be husband for a break after the wedding.

Room Tip: 213 has got a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerød
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Palmanova is just 10 minutes from Palma and 15 minutes from the airport, in the quiet end of the Magalluf area. Make sure you get a room facing the sea - also the rooms on the back side can see the sea from the balcony, but have noise from air cons and garbage trucks.
Excellent for cycling holidays with www.stephenroche.com resident, organising guided trips every day. The mountain road starts just 1 km from the hotel, leading into the Sierra de Tramuntana area with beautiful scenery and plenty of challenges for all rider levels.
Great bar sandwiches and milk shakes, good room service tortillas, as well as football and free wifi in the lobby lounge.
Great pool area with table tennis and billiards, but the water was too cold during Easter. The nearby beach was great and the water superb. Great on-beach bar with splendid tapas and free wifi - but other than that the beach is lined with filthy British pubs...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfalund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just back today from a short 4 day break to Palma nova would highly recommend travelled with my partner and three daughters. Lovely location hotel very good not too noisy and great rooms very clean would recommend highly. Don't know where people get this is like Blackpool nothing like it great beaches and views were fab def *****

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jomccran29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Palmanova
Zafiro Palmanova
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Property: Ponent Mar
Address: Calle Marques de La Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing