We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, the customer service is fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponent Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponent Mar
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
usk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, the customer service is fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived with our two children at around midnight. The staff were helpful, our room was very clean and we were really happy. We went straight to bed. Not long after this we were woken by the noises coming from the air conditioning. We turned it off, but the noise continued. The walls were vibrating and it rumbled on and off and by 4 am, I went to reception to inform them that we wouldn't sleep due to the noise.
The night receptionist, Sheriff, was so helpful. He came to the room, heard the noise and apologised that he couldn't do anything until the morning. He was so nice, we knew if he could do something there and then he would have. We managed another hours sleep around 5.
Before breakfast we went to reception, they apologised, offered us a new room after breakfast and were so helpful. We had breakfast and returned to reception, where another apology and upgrade was waiting for us. They had already found the problem, a broken air conditioning unit on the roof I think, but we could still move rooms.
The superior room is lovely, the standard room was great too though. The pool is brilliant, a bit cold but then i tend to find they usually are this time of year. Clean, with plenty of beds, but not quite as many parasols. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice, including soya milk which we thought was a nice touch. We visited the kid club which is open between 11 and 12, it has a couple of crafty things to do with your children. The girl Angie was really attentive to our daughter. Its a family hotel, but not with a kids club or loads of activities. It suits us perfectly though.
So, in my opinion, rocky start which I don't believe was their fault, they couldn't do enough to resolve it and went above and beyond. Clean, well kept hotel. Deserves its 4 star status. We booked direct and received a complimentary bottle of wine, free WiFi in the room and free pool towels. They have also offered us extended check out on our final day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    168
    50
    20
    4
See reviews for
192
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Myself and my partner (60/65 yrs) have just returned from a 10 night stay. We booked a superior seafront room and wow the views were breathtaking. Lovely modern apartment with a huge terrace overlooking the sea. There was everything you needed and it was spotless. Very high standard of cleanliness not only in the rooms but throughout the whole hotel.
Breakfast was exceptional. The choice is amazing and the fresh pancakes with fruit dipped in chocloate from the fountain were to die for. Lovely pastries and breads as well as cereals, full english and good selection of cold meats, pates and fruits (all fresh).
Nightlife was low key which didnt matter as we were happy to sit and enjoy the views from our terrace or a 5min walk down a slight incline brought you into the 'posh end' of Palma Nova where there were many bars/eateries to enjoy.
The poolside bar was lovely and the staff always attentive and friendly.
A taxi cost 35 euros from the airport taking about 20 mins.
If your wanting a peaceful break, good food, and superb views you will not be disappointed.
A small supermarket on the 3rd floor caters for basic essentials and a nice touch in the bathroom were the complimentary toiletries. Wi fi free in the lobby and pool towels can be hired for the day from reception.
I highly recommend this hotel staying in a superior seaffront apartment (even the tv had bbc1 and itv channels).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

4 star rating!? I don't get it. I woke up in the morning with impressions on my sides from the springs coming through the mattress. Very disappointed overall with accommodations and I wasn't that impressed with Stephen Roche cycling tours. I wouldn't recommend and I wont return. If fact, I'll stick with Gran Canaria. I was that disappointed by the whole experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the ponent mar for 10 days and rode with the stephen Roche cycling camp. The hotel was great. We had a beautiful ocean view. The cycling camp was very well organized. There was two guides per group and a support van that took care of food and water. The guides were very good and the bike mechanics were great. There were 4 levels of riding so you could pick your pain each day. The roads were incredible. The cars seemed very patient. The weather was great. The only negative was the buffet that got a little boring after a few days.

We will return for several weeks next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked a different hotel but put here short notice.Well i must say what a lovely place we stayed in a superior studio.The rooms are spotless plenty of room we loved it.The pool area is stunning with stunning views around the bay.You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Its in a quiet area of palma nova but a nice place to base your stay.We will be going back

Room Tip: See view room great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in April and booked a deluxe sea view apartment. It was lovely but there were a few little things that were annoying. There was wi-fi in public areas but had to pay for it for the rooms - Really!!!!! This is one of our pet hates in the 21st Century!! The views were amazing but the furniture was probably a little dated. We did enjoy our stay but try and have a room on the top floor as the noise from people above us what the most annoying thing all week.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must! Try to get a room on the 4th floor so you don't have people above you scrap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights from 14th April. In general found these to be good apartments.

Rooms - We started in room 413, which is right next to reception and has a balcony looking out at the car park entrance. This room was very noisy at night, both from reception and from the entertainment and also from noisy guest coming and going at the front. After 2 nights, we asked to move.

The reception staff were very helpful, didn't make a fuss or try to get us to stay in our room and we were moved to room 509, which we found to be much quieter than the previous room.

The 2 rooms we had during our stay were both very clean and I couldn't fault them.

Food - Only had breakfast on our last day, so can't really comment on food. The breakfast was hot, good options and food generally what I would expected to find, nothing exceptional, but it was fine. We did eat at the pool bar a couple of times and the food there was very good.

Pool Area - Pool area has recently been renovated, with lovely decking newly put down. The views from the pool area are fantastic.

Location - The apartments are a short walk, although up a slight hill, from the beach and the shops and restaurants. I would say it was ideally located for everything the resort has to offer.

Entertainment - During our stay there were not many young kids and so my 5 year old was a little lost. She wanted to go to miniclub so we let her and even though she was the only one there, she seemed to enjoy it. This was because of Angela, the entertainment rep. She was very good with our daughter. There was not many kids there atall, certainly none that were the same age as our daughter and there was therefore no minidisco at night, which was a big disappointment for our little one.

The shows at night were ok, nothing special but nothing that I would criticise greatly either.

All in all I would go back and stay here, however it would need to be at a time when there were more kids from the UK for our daughter to interact with and so there would be a minidisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hendy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Property: Ponent Mar
Address: Calle Marques de La Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing