We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Just got back from a nine day stay here and overall it was a good trip. The pool area is fantastic and the kids pool is like a mini waterpark which our children loved. There were no major problems getting sunbeds around the pool either and for safety there was always a lifeguard on duty. We stayed half board and on the whole found the food adequate, one or two nights great, one or two nights very average and although the restaraunt was the loudest I've ever known the waiters were prompt and polite. We had a room with a separate bedroom for myself and my wife, our kids slept on the sofas which converted into beds. Although spacious with a big plasma tv and even a kitchen area the room in my opinion was a little tired looking, but not dirty. Worthy of note was the excellent animacion team, they were brilliant with our two young ones and made a big fuss over them. Entertainment is in house and although they tried hard I've seen loads better in the big Tenerife hotels. The location is ok, not far from the beach but it's downhill via 70 (I counted) steps which on a hot day coming back up is hard work! The other guests were mainly european and we were amongst the very few english guests but i have no problem with that at all. I have to be honest and say that if your not bringing young children I would probably go elsewhere, if your viditing with the family its and ideal hotel. This place really grew on me and I would certainly visit this or other Viva hotels again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanMag35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Enjoyed another stay in a Viva hotel. We stayed from 23-31st August and had a great time.

Great pools and plenty of poolside seating.

Very close to the beach either via the steps (70 to beach) or a 5 min walk downhill to beach.

We went half board this time after staying in the Viva hotel in Alcudia, however the food in general was not as nice as it was last year in Alcudia and the nearby restaurants were nicer (we had lunch and dinner out a few times) breakfast was great though.

Only gripe is the prices for drinks, 4€ for a local beer where most other places are offering bottled beer for 2€ and some were offering local beer for 0.5€.

Good thing however is if you are all inclusive they do offer a great choice of drinks included in your AI package including cocktails.

Rooms are the usual package holiday type and not better or worse than anywhere else.

You'll enjoy staying here if you have kids between 3-8 as they are made to feel very welcome by the kids club staff.

Room Tip: We stated in 3010 which was a privilage garden room. We never used the garden once. However the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sherrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

fabalous hotel/apartments. all inclusive great value, and favourite part is the adults only pool and the comfy beds for sunbathing. this hotel is in quiet location but yet around the corner from palma nova and magaluff

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lisa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Visited for 10 days on the 22/8/11 and found the hotel to be excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was varied and provided a good choice daily. The rooms were good, spacious and cleaned to a good standard. A good selection of pools for all with the bonus of an adult only pool if you feel the need to escape from your kids! There were always plenty of sunbeds available even though it was peak season and we watched amused as the sun bed police removed towels that people had put out early. Didn't use the Kids club as my kids were 9 and 11, but watched the entertainers do a good job keeping the kids entertained and the adutls with pool games. Evening shows were okay, some better than others but I have seen alot worse. The beach is about a 10min walk down steps to Son Matius beach which was very good for children. Palma Nova was okay full of usual tourist shops selling beach stuff, key rings etc but not much else but visit the House of Kathmandu which you can see from your balcony if you have a pool view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brambles404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our first (hopefully of many) visits to this hotel with our 1 & 7 yr old children. After reading other reviews on here about noise I did email a few weeks before to request a quiet room and dont know if it was because of doing this but we got one! A lovely pool view and we never heard any noise at night time ever. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the charge of 4 euros a night for a cot. We were not informed of this beforehand and if I had known I could have brought a travel cot for free. I just thought it was very unreasonable and expensive and when questioning was made to feel it was our choice whether to use it or not when it wasnt a luxury but a necessity. I wasnt going to let my 20mth old sleep on a bed!
Everything else though was superb. We chose this place for the children's facilties and they were much better than expected. The kids pool is fabulous and there is no need to go to a water park, you have a free one to use everyday! We did go self catering so cant comment on the food but had 1 meal and it was fine. The drinks were expensive on a night though and we only had one while watching part of the mini disco for this reason.
We have family in the area and would definitely stop here again and recommend to others. Oh and the adult only area was ace, shame I didnt have more time to spend in there.

Room Tip: request a room that doesnt face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigwig58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel and area were really good. I went in August with my 19 year old son and 12 year old daughter for a week. We arrived late at night and they had laid on a meal for us in our room. The restaurants were spotless and the menus were excellent. We went all inclusive and it was money well spent. Not a huge hotel so never felt that it was over busy in the restaurants at all. There was only mild hogging of the sun beds and we went down to the pool at around 11am each day and never had a problem getting three sunbeds. Aerobics at 3pm each day in the pool, mini golf and lots of other activities. The evening entertainment was a little cheesy but very enjoyable with a wide variety of shows.The air conditioning was excellent. The staff were extremely professional, yet friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There are 70 steps to the beach, but these are not too steep. Plenty of shops along the prom for shopping. Definitely recommend and will go again.

Room Tip: Make sure room and balcony door are firmly shut otherwise air conditioning doesn't come on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Viva Palmanova on a room only basis for 14 nights in August 2011.

Let me correct that. We stayed for 13 nights as on arrival at the hotel (early in the morning on check in day) we were informed that they did not have a room available for the first night of our stay. As you can imagine this came as a quite a shock, especially as we had booked and paid for the room 8 months previously!

We were then told that they had booked us into the hotel next door for the night. I explained that we had booked our room over 8 months ago and today was a special occasion as it was our first wedding anniversary. My wife was extremely upset about this, and they then offered us a voucher for the restaurant and said there was no chance of us having a room today. We were then taken around to the hotel next door the standard of the hotel was poor with lots of groups of young people. The room was in poor condition and not very clean and my wife sat there crying and not wanting to stay. We had very little sleep that night due to the noise and rowdiness from the other guests. This hotel was very much geared towards the young Magaluf party crowd, a far cry from the 4* family hotel that we should have been staying in. One of the reviews for this hotel is titled "Bugs, Drugs and Thugs", which says it all.

We finally received our room key for the Viva at 2.30pm the following day, which we were assured would be one of the best pool view rooms. Sadly this was not the case. The room was at the far end of the hotel overlooking the bar/ amusement area with a wonderful view of a large tree directly outside our balcony. The room itself was ok but not to 4* standard – the furniture was scratched or chipped and lounge area seating was insufficient with only one sofa (for 3-4 people). The choice of TV channels was poor with BBC World news being the only available English language channel.

The only positive aspects of the room were that storage was good and the cleaning staff did an excellent job (although as we were at the end of a corridor this was not until late afternoon on most days).

At night noise levels were bad with teenagers shouting and screaming around the pool until well after midnight on many days. Other reviewers on tripadvisor have suggested requesting a pool view room as outside facing rooms at this hotel are very noisy. Sadly, we can confirm that a pool facing room is no guarantee of a good nights sleep. Many of the pool view rooms directly overlook the entertainment stage and bar areas which are open until midnight but with noise until much later.

The entertainment staff seemed to do a good job of keeping younger children amused with different activities throughout the day (though see later for night time problems). The pool area itself is good with plenty of beds and umbrellas. The kid’s pool was excellent with lots of slides and other water features.

The night time entertainment was at best average, but many nights were quite poor. This was not helped by some members of the entertainment staff encouraging kids to constantly run around screaming in front of the stage. This was disrespectful to the act trying to perform and distracting for the audience trying to enjoy the show.

We tried the hotel restaurant and buffet a couple of times the food was ok but nothing special – not as good as other hotels of a similar standard that we have stayed in. It was okay for a couple of nights but we were thankful that we stayed on a room only basis so could eat out at local restaurants. Drink prices were very high – 4 euros for a soft drink.

Some of the staff at the hotel were good, including the drinks waiters and some of the reception and entertainment staff.

Overall this hotel was a huge disappointment. Even without the double booking fiasco we would have graded the hotel as average. It was okay but very overpriced, not 4 star standard, and did not live up to our expectations. However, even the good points are irrelevant when the hotel refuses to honour bookings despite having reserved and paid for a room 8 months in advance. Hotel management have since been very unhelpful in refusing to even refund the amount we had already paid them for the nights booking that they did not honour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyPotter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moises_Barbero, Hotel Manager at Zafiro Palmanova, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

First of all we want to say thank you for taking your time in writing your review about your stay it is very important for us to improve our service level. answering your review:
Due to a technical problem in one of our rooms we were one room short on the day of your arrival.
We had no other options than to find you an alternative hotel for the first night of your stay.

Since there are no hotels in the area of the same level as Viva Palmanova, we thought it would be best to find you a room in the hotel next door, so you could still use all the facilities of the hotel you booked and only had to use the other hotel for one night to sleep. Finding you a hotel of the same standard would have involved moving you to another area, losing more of your valuable holiday time.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the room that you were offered when you came back, but of course we would have been happy to have changed you to another room, more of your likings, if you would have informed us.
We even called to your room to know if everything was on your satisfaction on which you answered that everything was fine.
As you might understand the rooms on the “outside” of the hotel are more quiet, since the pool area and the entertainment is all taking place on the poolside.
Most people prefer the rooms overlooking the pool because they like the views better and they can enjoy the entertainment from their balconies.

Keeping in mind that we are a family orientated hotel we always start our evening entertainment early, in order to finish the main show around 10 pm. After that we only play some quiet music until 11pm, then we turn of the music completely. Of course sometimes people decide to stay at the terrace a bit longer, but if our guests complain about other guests being too noisy we kindly ask them to keep it down a bit in respect for the people who want to sleep.

On the other hand our prices for soft drinks are 2,00€, and a large beer cost 3,70€. you can check it in our web.

Again, please accept our apologies for the issues you found during your holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova by Melia - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £48 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing