We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great refuge for the children’s families”
Review of Zafiro Palmanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zafiro Palmanova
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We arrived two adults and our two kids on a Friday start June, and were well received at the hotel.
We had booked a room with bedroom and living room/kitchen, and the room (1203) was just fine. It is located in the east wing facing the pool area and a balcony facing west. The kitchenette offered the basic cutlery, a pan, two pots a fridge, a water cocker, a toaster, a coffee machine and a microwave oven. Just fine for any small meal.

Initially the TV only had a few channels, but we found out we could access other sat channels. Having two rooms was great for when putting the kids to sleep, and we could sit in the balcony no matter what the weather was like as there was a roof on it.
We did however miss having internet in the room. This would have made it near perfect for the price. Free Wi-Fi is available in the reception area, and it works ok, but it would have been nice to be have the newt in the room.

The pool area has 5 pools. One very small one for the toddlers. One twitch is about 30 cm deep with slides and a big ship. Great for the kids to play in. One pool is about 80 cm deep and perfect for the larger children who may not be good enough swimmers for deep pools. One pool which is 185 deep. Finally one pool which is only for adults in a closed area.
The pool area was a great place and it had everything we needed. The area was cleaned every morning and we also noticed they checked the quality of the water several times during the week.
There were plenty of sunbeds to go round and there was also a lifeguard on duty in the 80 cm pool.

We had only selected breakfast at the hotel, but after having eaten in Palma Nova, we considered going for the all-inclusive. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel one evening and the buffet was just fine and better than what we found in most places in Palma Nova, which in many cases was huge disappointment. We did find one decent restaurant called Maritimo. It is located just 5 mins walk from the hotel in the first floor overlooking the bay. The food here was definitely worth going for even though it was a little more expensive than at the hotel restaurant.

Maggaluff is in my opinion a dump. We knew that we could run into a few bars but when going for a walk there with the kids, we didn't expect ending up in a bar/disco city infested with tourists, who in most cases were drunk, loud and who ruined the place. Now we have seen where this particular bread spends its holiday, and we will make sure to stay clear of this area going forward. So if you want to avoid these characters, stay on Palma Nova side (going north when on the beach).

If you decide not to rent a car, the bus 105 stops just below the stairs going to the beach, and goes directly to Palma city center in 20-30 minutes.

The hotel has entertainment every night, first for the kids with Bufo the hotels mascot, and then for the larger kids... The late show was usually some copy act of some sort. The act stops at 22:30 and you will be able to hear this from all apartments facing the pool area.

Anyway – apart from no WI-FI and Maggaluff and Palma Nova not being the nicest areas on the island, we all loved the hotel, and the kids thrived in the pool area. If we were to return we would definitely need a car all days to get out of the area when not enjoying the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have just got back from a 10day holiday at Viva Palma Nova and loved every minute. The service and food was excellent and the facilities were 1st class. The drinks were all top brands and the evening entertainment was very suited to our 4 and 6 year old girls. The kids club was very good with lots of different activities every day and I felt comfortable leaving them to enjoy the fun as it was very safe and secure. We had a priviledge pool view room 4009 which was very comfortable and had an amazing view of the pool and was close to the kids club, play park and pirate ship splash pool. I really can't fault this hotel in any way and my only saddness is that my husband lost his wedding ring in the room somewhere so if your lucky enough to be staying in that room keep a look out for us :-) looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CherriBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This holiday was my kids first holiday abroad. They were aged 4 and 8 at the time. My daughter turned 5 the day after we arrived. The transfer times were around 25mins which was good n we checked in the hotel with out a problem and the staff were very friendly. We entered our room n it was very clean and suited for what we needed. There wasnt many hangers in the waldrobes and we were stuck for bowls but this didnt change my views in any way as we managed fine. They are clean rooms and we had cleaners come in a few times that week.
My kids loved the splash pool. The water was still quite cool as we went in May but that didnt stop my kids from enjoying it. They have a kids club where they do different things each day, my son wasnt to keen at first as he was shy but he joined in mid week with the football and loved it. They have a mini park with a bouncy castle and a little trampoline which again my kids enjoyed and an outside pool table which me n my son had a few games on. We didnt get use of the in door pool till our last day but it was clean n was fairly quiet. They have 5 pools in total n wasnt a problem getting sun loungers. The night time entertainment was good for all ages too. The Viva song sticks in your head after hearing it a few times but its not a bad thing :) The staff were very good and friendly when serving you, we were self cater so didnt eat there we ate out but was told it was nice.
I cant fault this hotel and would highly recommend it and i am looking at returning again in september if i can. If not i will certainly go back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

This was our first holiday abroad with two children (age 5 and 3) so naturally I wanted everything to be good.

Transfer times from the airport just 25mins which is great after a fight with children.

The pools were amazing with areas for all ages including a splash bucket mountain and pirate ship slides where my children would play all day as it was only waist deep to my 3 year old. Lifeguards were around all day too.

The over 18 pool section was luxurious with Bali beds and jacuzzis etc

The main pool areas were huge with space for everyone and games like volleyball and exercise.

Located near the main beach and next to magaluf and palama nova there was enough to do. Food wise we regretted not going all inclusive as the food at this place was amazing with chefs on hand to cook anything you want, however u want.

The kids loved the entertainment which gave subspace to enjoy our break too.

The hotel service was excellent, our air con in the room packed up once and it was fixed within the hour with a follow up call to check all was ok.

This hotel was quiet despite every room being booked out, our room though overlooked the hotel next door and their entrainment was a bit annoying but it went off at 11.30pm.

We will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned after 9 days here, and got to say the best holiday ever! We went all inclusive, the food was lovely with a great range of choice, the drinks were all named brands ( not local stuff) which was nice. The staff are all hard working and friendly, they cannot do enough for you. My 9 year old son joined in the kids clud and loved it, the entertainment team are brilliant and really make it special for the kids. The rooms are nice and clean and well spacious, they are cleaned every day, except weds & sundays. You have no problems getting a sunbed, there are plenty to go round. The pools are lovely, if you get chance to go into the over 18's pool, take advantage of it, its heaven! I would definately return to this hotel, its brilliant.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room, pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is the best apartments I have ever stayed in, from the reception to the rooms, to the poolside, they are all immaculately clean. There are five pools, the relaxing adults pool great for couples and the three children's pools, one with slides in and the other a small shallow pool covered with a canopy ideal with toddlers. There was no shortage of sun beds by the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although we were self catering we did eat at the poolside bar a few lunchtimes and they food was tasty and fairly priced. The drinks were also fairly priced. There was entertainment on everyday for the kids. The apartments were clean and nicely furnished with plenty of space for a family of four. Close to the beach and easy walk of about 5 mins to the shops, bars and restaurants. Would certainly go back and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this complex to friends and family.

Room Tip: You can ask for a pool view at a cost which would be nice. But we had a view over the outside of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel was very clean and all the staff worked so hard. The room was ok but could of done with some tlc and touching up but again cleaned well. The food was just good with great service, i really can not praise it as provided nothing more than a decent meals. What the hotel need to realise is that when booking a number 1 hotel not everyone wants children to eat chips for the whole of the holiday. A top hotel could offer a later meal for people wanting to stay late at the beach or explore the area during the day The area is so beautiful with this hotel placed to avoid the Blackpool in the sun reputation of Palma nova. We did get to take full advantage of the hotel when our sons attended the kids club. I am usually not so happy at letting them out of sight but they was so good with them and they had such a good time.
On a plus side we did enjoy good quality drinks in with the package. The evening entertainment was ok when the group shows came in, but yet again they had the most fantastic artists with some of the best singers i have seen in a long while at any hotels but they had been given cheesy out of date things to perform with the exception of a fantastic young male trio.
I can not say i did not enjoy my stay because i did, but think this was more down to the staff and the area not the hotels idea of what i wanted from a rather expensive week. It is a good family hotel but when you pay top money you do expect a bit more than just good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whittyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
Zafiro Palace Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Palmanova

Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Palmanova & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: £51 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Palmanova hotel is close to a white sandy beach. Apart from the outstanding sport facilities, this exclusive 4-star hotel features excellent services and activities for both adult and children. The delicious gastronomy makes this resort the ideal accommodation for the most demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Zafiro Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Zafiro Palmanova Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing