We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Holiday!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Palmanova & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our 2nd All Inclusive visit to Viva Palmanova and we loved it just as much as the first time....

There were 8 of us in our party - 2 families with kids ranging from ages 12 to 4.
Because our family had been before we had a welcome fruit platter and bottle of wine on our room which I thought was a nice touch!

The facilities outside have had a bit of a makeover in the 2 years since we last went, they've added a big pirate ship pool and put a play area in the grounds of the kids club. Our kids had a fab time in the different pools and playground, and after lunch the entertainment staff put on Disney films in the lounge so they could stay out of the sun for an hour or so.

The food was still really good quality and there was always lots of choice for us all, same with the drinks - we loved the cocktail menu (all branded alcohol!!) and the Ice-Cream Sundae's for the kids were fab. The waiters are very attentive on an evening and we were rarely without a drink on a night! All the staff work long hours and so hard, but they're always chatty and very friendly.

If there was one small complaint, because it's so hot the bouncy castle/trampoline etc in the playground get really hot so the kids really can't use them in the daytime, we thought the hotel should put some kind over cover over to shade it all. (Our kids went to play there after dinner, before the entertainment started on an evening so they still got to use it all).

The night time entertainment was sometimes good, sometimes just OK... Viva have a team of singers/dancers that we think travel round the hotel chain and they perform the evening shows - we watched Elvis (bit rubbish), Abba (good), Motown (good), Rock all Ages (OK), but they also have kids disco before the show, and get adults on the stage after the show has finished (our husbands got on stage 4 times!!!).

We also made sure we went in the adults only part for some time in the jacuzzi's!

It is expensive to go all inclusive at this hotel (especially in August) but we think its worth it and will be going back!! x

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JLnSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    193
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
411
97
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ribe, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We was staying at this hotel in mai 2011. Nice roms, good food, and the entertaiment was great.
Lovely peoble in the reception. The service on this hotel you will not find so good as here. We was making a lot of fun vith the vaiters, and we always get a smile from them. We will come here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kmo635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Third visit to a Viva Hotel, good entertainment for kids, beach down 76 Steps to sea front or a further walk around the side road. Kitchen standard for Spain - 2 elec rings and 2 saucepans, 1 frying pan and plates and utensils. Microwave, fridge, kettle and juicer. Hairdryer in bathroom, and pool towels available at reception for a deposit of 10 euros each, also Safe in room. Only issue we had was the sleeping arrangement, me and my husband had the main bedroom and our 2 children had the lounge/kitchen area. In the previous Viva hotel we could make up the 2 beds from the sofas and leave them up and still have plenty of room, but here there was only one sofa to sleep and a pull out bed underneath so we had to get the kids up early to push the pullout bed back to be able to walk about - I thought lounge area was very small but this may have been because we booked a privilidge apartment which had a garden area. Maybe other standard rooms had two sofas? Apartment from this maid service good - didnt eat at the hotel so cant comment there - also manys Germans...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The swimming pool and activity areas are "best in class". The children loved theese facilities.
The water save shower delivered just drops of water. The room was slightly worn. Another room we wisited had a strong bad smell.
The room we got was facing a hotel of nightsinging young Britts. This hotel is situated close to Magaluf...
The front desk service was both good and average depended on the people on duty. The people at the restaurant should attend to a smiling/service course.
We did not try the SPA, but it looks appealing.

There are some good restaurants in the area, but most of the places are based on low budget youths. Walking time to Palma Nova mainstreet is about 20 minutes. Magaluf 5 minutes. There is a small quiet street yust below the hotel with some pubs, restaurants and souvenir shops. Some of the restaurants as the Cineese are good. Some are not.. Cafee and drinks at the "banana" place daytime is recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the first floor facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frode I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Well unfortunately for my family our holiday didn't get off to the best of starts as our plane from Birmingham had an emergency landing in France at about 9:30 am! None of us knew what time we would eventually get to Palma so as I had the Viva Palmanova's telephone number on my mobile my wife gave them a ring to tell them that we'd be quite a bit later than scheduled checking in and that we didn't actually know an exact time but to make sure they kept our room for us for when we got there (we had booked it way in advance after all)
Eventually we turn up at the hotel at about 7:30pm to be told that the good news was we were being given 7 complimentary breakfasts each but the bad news was we would have to spend our first night in the Ca's Saboners hotel next door (which we know from research it's got a lot of Magalluf party people in it) After the day we'd just had and the fact that we'd rang the hotel this just pushed my wife over the edge! How could they even do this to us? Was it because we were last ones to check in that day? They had obviously overbooked otherwise our room should still be waiting for us!!!
Now we had already lost virtually a whole day (not the hotels fault) and we wanted to get into our room, unpack and just have a relaxing evening. But we were now expected to go to a different hotel, not unpack, then not be able to go out in the morning anywhere as we had to check out of the other hotel at 12. So that was another morning wasted and what made it worse is the fact none of us had any sleep as people were coming and going all hours of the night banging and shouting in the Party hotel next door!
The hotel staff was really apologetic and gave us a free drink each and also a free safe for two weeks and I did generally feel they felt very sorry for us but I'm not sure they realised how giving away our room affected us. It seemed to take a good 3 or 4 days for us to get into any sort of sleep pattern having gone from getting up at 2 am Tuesday morning and not sleeping until Wednesday night (apart from the odd nap until we were woken up by lads shouting)
The fact is that this should NEVER have happened, even if we hadn't rang the hotel we should still have had a room waiting for us when we got there but the fact that we rang at lunchtime to tell them we would definitely get there and they STILL gave away our room was very bad service! Please don't do this to people, it's so unfair!
Right, on with the rest of the review. This is obviously a very high standard hotel and does a very good job looking after its guests. We were self-catering but the 4 breakfasts we had there were all very nice and there was always food being brought out even at two minutes to ten when the breakfast was supposed to stop at ten! The room we were given was very nice on the top floor overlooking the pool! The beds were ok, a bit hard for my daughters liking, me and my wife had the sofa bed (or dragged in a mattress from the bedroom as we get up fairly early and didn't want to disturb our daughter! The only problem with sleeping in the main part of the room is that if anyone on your floor gets up early it's very noisy as the doors beep if they are open so quite often we'd be woken at 6:30 or 7am when the room opposite our door would open. It's like an alarm clock going off! I'm sure this could be rectified as to not beep!
The entertainment team seemed to do a great job and I participated in a few games of football, mainly with some Dutch lads who were a good laugh! Although they do seem to like playing football in just a pair of speedos :)
The swimming pools were great, especially the adult pool. My only gripe would be that there’s not really a teen pool where teenagers can swim and touch the bottom of the pool. There is a kids pool, a pool about 2 feet deep and then a pool over 6 foot deep all the way round so not many can touch the floor in it!
One thing, when we did finally get into our room there was a tray of fruit and some Cava which was a very nice touch and also an apology note from the manager.
I would honestly have given this hotel more ratings if we hadn't had our initial problems but because of what happened and the fact that it shouldn't have happened then we would probably not stay here again or even in another Viva hotel if they have a policy that allows overbooking rooms and expecting people to stay somewhere else of a way lower class!
Shame really as it's a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chivas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have enjoyed numerous family holidays over the years and this is without doubt the best family holiday hotel we have stayed in. From the warm reception through to the final farewell everything was just as you would wish it to be. Our kids, aged 8 and 6 cried when it was time to come home as they wanted to stay (tempting!)
We stayed all inclusive and were impressed by the quality and choice of food available. Great range of drinks, including cocktails, kids cocktails and ice creams etc available all day from 1030 to midnight.
The hotel does it's part by providing everything you need for a successful holiday, but above all it the staff who make it. The entertainment team are superb, the waiting and bar staff fabulous, reception staff very friendly etc etc etc etc. Can't fault them.
This is definitely an international hotel, with all of Europe represented in terms of guests and unfortunately some stereotypical examples of arrogance and rudeness, but that is the not hotel's fault. It is like trying to pick your relatives, you have just got to get on with the hand you were dealt.
I particularly liked the fact that the hotel manager was confident enough in what he provided that he could circulate amongst the guests throughout the whole day.
Although the boisterous and brash Magalluf is directly on your doorstep, there is no spill over into the hotel.
As a family holiday I can definitely recommend it to anyone.
One slight niggle though that should be addressed by the hotel group though. Ditch the payment for hotel safes. It is decades out of date. Hotels have a duty of care to guests and part of that duty of care is security for guests and their belongings. At over 2 euros a day to hire a safe key, that is an unacceptable extra. Give it some thought please.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

just back from a 10 night stay at this hotel, i think this is our 5th year we always stay in the privelage apartments with pool view which is excellent. Every member of staff in this hotel are excellent and very helpful especially Martin at the reception. The entertainment team is also great with the kids which means you can relax because you no they are in safe hands. I would really recommend this hotel to families with children. The only thing i would say is that the hotel really needs to put more English channels on the TV especially news channels, they did have extra news channels 2 years ago and now they have only 1 and WIFI in the rooms. And i would recommend the Spa.

Room Tip: privelage room with poolview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Palmanova & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Palmanova & Spa

Property: Viva Palmanova & Spa
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Palmanova & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 kilometres from Palma lies the magnificent tourist resort of Palmanova. And in its centre, just 200 metres from its magnificent beaches, Viva Palmanova Aparthotel can be found. Recently renovated, this establishment is the best choice for families and couples seeking maximum comfort, a full range of amenities and great entertainment for all. Viva Palmanova has three different swimming pools: a general pool with a large sun terrace, a children’s pool with water games and a Pirate Boat, and an exclusive chill-out pool with Balinese sunbeds. Also the Viva Palmanova boasts a complete range of sports and leisure facilities: sports ground, gym, indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, children’s playground, and recreational games, while an abundant and varied cuisine can be enjoyed in any of its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Viva Palmanova & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Viva Palmanova & Spa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing